We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent AND dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent AND dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A really terrific stay. High class, bags of character and delightful staff. We paid a bit extra and got a really nice 'superior' room. We have two dogs and there was no problem at all. Clearly, the owners have spent a lot of money making a very old building into a lovely hotel. The location is amazing for walkers being at one end of a bridleway that leads on to the Quantock Hills. We ate in the their restaurant and the food was really high quality, with excellent house wine! Throrouglyl recommend this place for all sorts of people. Walkers, young couples, older couples, and those who want to bring their dogs on a short break in such beautful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    172
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
105
396
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked one night as part of Groupon deal and could've stayed for a week! Bella, who is a credit to the hotel, showed outstanding customer service and nothing was too much hassle for her. We cannot praise the hotel and its staff enough and will return for longer next time.

There is not a swimming pool anymore at the hotel, which is why we have given it a low rating

One of the best things about Coombe hotel, is you can escape from the 'rat race' - it is nestled in one of the most picturesque valleys in Somerset. Just wish we had a dog as it is such a welcoming hotel for four legged creatures and their owners!

Room Tip: Room 20 was a good size family room and the hotel were very accommodating for families with young ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel looks lovely in the photos and doesn't disappoint when you drive up to the building.
We experienced several problems I booked a spa treatment several month before staying as this was in our groupon deal but the hotel had put up the prices of the treatments in order to gain more money from you good job I had proof of our deal on my I pad. Challenged manager who made me feel small but got the spa treatment as my husband insisted. After this we were treated differently to the other guest leaving serving us to last for breakfast and dinner. The senior staff (management ) were stand off ish and we were glad to leave. Guests I feel are sometimes in the way especially if you booked this hotel through a deal.

Room Tip: View rooms first as some room very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanseanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked as a quiet weekend away from it all - we were extremely impressed with the hotel, food and service. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated - and as for the kings size bed !!! Located at the foothills of the Quantocks you are quite literately in the countryside .Nice to see that they also welcomes dogs - look out for the owners own dogs, they are the Ant and Dec of the dog world !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked via Groupon, 2 days for £139 and we are a family of 3. Under normal prices you would pay around £300 . We stayed in room 10 ,for £30 extra upgrade. Room has a bath and 2 tv's with clear free view reception ;so many channels to watch. Great staff and food is tasty. Before booking check whether the room has a bath and is big enough for your needs. The food , priced a little bit steep but well worth a try. Management could try reduce the price of meals and drinks to keep more patrons to eat in .The atmosphere is very homely and warm. As it was midweek there were no wedding receptions etc, another thing you need to inquire about to avoid complaining about the disruption and noise later. The local area has no supermarkets within 15 miles. We cant fault this hotel and everything from accommodation, staff and food was first class as far as were concerned. The surrounds are peaceful and tranquil so enjoy. WiFi is available free and mobile reception is touch and go most of the time until out of the hotel ;which is surrounded by hills which explains the drop in signal. Recommended 100% if you use the Groupon deal or full price if you can afford it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Anniverasry & birthday weekend. Special deal with DB&B + Spa x1 treatment. Superb value all round.
High standards- from warm welcome to top class meal in the super restaurant...so good we booked again for the next night. Great value with a broad menu/wine list & fantastic local ingredients used for all dining.
Service attentive and very efficient!
Breakfast was a treat with nothing too much trouble.
Bedroom was lovely with super bath!
This hotel is in a quiet setting and is a great location for a peaceful retreat!
My wife was well looked after in the Spa whilst I was entertained in the bar by Wales vs Scotland match...Cymru am byth!
Great advice from Hotel Manager about local attractions and his attention just added to a great weekend. Didn't want to leave!
We will return!!!

Room Tip: All rooms of high standard. Visitor's with dogs will also be well accomodated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband found a fabulous offer for this hotel, via groupon, as a birthday present to me. A two night break including breakfast, a three course dinner with a glass of wine and a spa treatment.
The location was stunning. Very peaceful and the sound of the stream was a perfect addition.
On arrival, greeting from the staff was warm and welcoming and the hotel was nicely decorated. We decided when we booked that we would upgrade our room and it was definitely worth the £15 per night extra. Large, comfortable bed, modern decoration and clean. Just what we wanted.
Spa treatment came next. The log cabin which contains the spa facilities is absolutely gorgeous, just what you want from a spa and the therapist, Lynda, was also lovely.
We dined at the hotel on both nights and the food was delightful. The hotel restaurant has low lighting and is cosy which is spot on for a romantic meal for two. It has pleasant background music and the tables aren't crammed in. Plenty of space.
The staff are all very polite, professional and friendly. We didn't ask for much as we were mostly out but any questions we did have were answered immediately. Nothing felt like too much trouble. Gareth, the owner, was very helpful and pleased to recommend local places to see and things to do.
My only, very slight criticism (and I'm being picky). The restaurant clearly has a talented chef, so I was a little disappointed that the menu was the same both nights we were there and the choices weren't particularly vast. If I had been a vegetarian I'd have been a bit stuck as the one option on the menu was the same both nights. The soup was also the same. We could have chosen to eat nearby and our experience was possibly because our stay wasn't long enough but would have been nice to have more choice. Nevertheless, this hotel was perfect for our little minibreak and I would recommend it to anybody wanting a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel without the expense and glamour of a 5 star hotel stamped all over it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
11.8 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Property: Combe House Hotel
Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing