We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Relaxing', 'chilled out', 'perfection', we smiled from beginning to end!!!”
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I bought this KGB deal last year for a two day break and we only booked it two weeks, when I rang I was told very apologetically that they only had a twin bedded room left but we accepted it as our voucher was running out! We turned up on a Saturday afternoon and received a lovely warm welcome from Catherine, Gareth and the team. We had room 16 with very low ceiling so my 6'6" husband had great fun trying to limbo around but this was a beautiful old house and everything we expected and more.

We took along our retired Guide Dog 'Jangle' as I had inquired earlier if she would be welcome. Jangle had a fantastic time starting with a beautiful walk up the valley that was full of snowdrops and wonderful new smells and sticks! The staff loved her and she even got to meet the resident cat called Milo, but only briefly as Milo was not to keen!

After the walk we returned to a cream team and a relaxing afternoon as we watched 6 Nations Rugby in the bar area courtesy of Gareth the owner, a small group of us enjoyed watching England win with a lovely open fire in the back ground! (TV not usually there but just for special events).

We had a lovely meal in the evening and we sent our special compliments to the Chef as everything had been cooked and presented to perfection.

After diner we were asked if we would like to move to a new bedroom the next day as there would be new rooms available, we had not asked or made any comments about our previous room as we had both slept really well but we were offered Room 1 and it was lovely. On Sunday afternoon we returned to find we had been moved to a much larger room with a massive Super King size bed, absolute bliss!

We enjoyed a Lazy Sunday lunch in the evening for £20 each an excellent choice and again the food was exceptional.

Dogs can stay with owners during meals if you don't mind eating in the bar area and we were happy to do this as we knew our dog would lay under the table quietly. You can also leave them in your room but as it was her holiday as well she stayed with us and hoovered the floor. It was nice to see others guests dressing up and eating in the restaurant area but no one felt over or under-dressed.

We had to be away early on Monday morning so a swift beautifully cooked breakfast and porridge was served and away we went feeling refreshed and relaxed.

Thank you to Gareth, Catherine and all the well chosen lovely team at Combe House, compliments to you all from the 'Guide Dog Lady' (Keep my card safe in case you fancy rehoming a guide dog in the future!) Well done all and thanks from all three of us.

Dog owners: Dogs welcome at the 'Hairy Dog Pub' in Minehead as well if you are going that way for lunch!

Room Tip: Room 1 is large with a Super KS bed, overlooks the hillside behind the house but very quiet and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0gs_Dinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 704 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Firstly, thankyou to all the staff, nothing appeared too much trouble especially from Bella whom we met on our arrival, which was wonderful.
We stayed on a Woucher deal for one night (wish it had been more). This included treatments and dinner .............. The service that Lynda (therapist) provides is second to none from the spotlessly clean treatment rooms to the professionalism offered by her ..... we cannot tell you how lovely and relaxed you made us feel, so thank you so much !

The dinner was delicious and lovely to be able to dress up a bit and not be out of place (just the same for those that didn't feel like getting dressed up ), all treated to the same wonderful service (thank you Estelle) and made to feel most welcome. All this washed down with a most reasonable priced bottle of wine and time for bed ................

We don't know if we wish to share the secret of our ohhhhhhhhhhh sooooooooo comfy bed so let's just say that it was an 'upgraded room' and even though we have a super bed at home this was/is just the ticket for a superb nights sleep !

Waking early our plan was to go for a walk before breakfast but the cozy bed soon put paid to those plans and a first class lie in was the order of the day. Breakfasy was of good quality and a relaxed affair ..... nice to see some other guests in their slippers : )

We donned our boots and set off to explore the combe (or glen) after breakfast, this was a lovely experience made all the more special by the lack of other people, so rare to have this level of solitude in such a beautiful surrounding these days.

When we returned to our room, packed etc and set off downstairs to settle up, at no point did anyone 'hurry' us and we simply relaxed and happy.

Again, thank you to you all and look forward to returning to stay with you again soon. X

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked a few mths ago as a KGB deal. My husband and I had a wonderful valentines stay. Great food, lovely people. Stayed in room 10. Recommend it as a good base for walking and touring Somerset and North Devon. Dog friendly however we are pleased we left Hamish at home with our son because of the wet muddy hill side walks he would have made a very clean place very dirty, very quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights on a KGB deal and had an excellent time. We ate in the restaurant on the first night in the food was excellent, so good in fact that we ate their the second night as well! The food was a bit pricy but great quality and the service is excellent. Breakfast was also very good quality with a decent selection of cooked breakfasts on offer. Our room was very spacious and clean although it would have been good to get an extra couple of pillows and also the window was broken so we couldn't open it. Only a couple of minor gripes though in what was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larryos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early January this year, very nice very quiet hotel, good breakfast. Pub down the road came in handy for pub grub, nice staff and a dart board. Didn't eat in the hotels restaurant but the menu looked nice all in all a pleasant stay,

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked Combe House Hotel for our 10th Wedding Anniversary getaway - without our two toddlers for the first time! - so on both accounts we were hoping it would be really special. And it was! Our first indication of great sevice was when we phoned to book and were told by Gareth (owner) that though he could accomodate us, our preferred dates would put us in the hotel alongside a noisy and unromantic business do .... basically he risked us booking elsewhere rather than spoiling our special day. So we moved the dates back 24 hrs, and hey presto ..... a heavenly two night break! The building is so pretty, and the location quiet and beautiful. The hotel is warm and comfortable, stylish and light. Our room (5) was just gorgeous, with a whopping queen size bed as soft as a cloud, and a lovely bathroom, and views over the garden and stream. The staff were fabulous and nothing (iron please - extra milk - and more milk again, sorry - more tea bags - directions for a romantic winter walk - cream tea on the sofa downstairs) was too much trouble. And after planning to eat out - we ended up eating in thier lovely restaurant both nights, anniversary dinner included! (food at the Combe House is fabulous!). It was the perfect restful romantic break. We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 5!! absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We approached the the Hotel and it looked lovely. We checked the room was great. Then about 7pm a party started in a marquee in the garden: the music was loud. Our room looked on directly over to the party. So if you want a nice and peaceful romantic evening with your partner, I suggest that you call ahead to see if they are hiring that week for a party... Now the good bit: the food was nice. Would I go again? Well, let's put this way, we left at 8.30pm after booking for the night. I was told that the party only goes onto 10pm. I asked to move rooms and they said we could and later said that the problems would still be the same. I am unable to comment on sleep quality. We booked by a third party agent after reading the description of the place.

Room Tip: Room 11 not great when a party is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combehouse, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

This was a Saturday evening stay in early January, and apart from 2 guest rooms the hotel was full, our hotel restaurant was fully booked and we had a private party for 70 in our function marquee which this particular couple asked about and were told would be finished at 10pm. They booked via a third party website on a late availability deal, they made no contact with the hotel prior to booking to enquire if on a ‘Saturday Night’ the hotel was going to be busy.
They did indeed ask about switching rooms but the only rooms left were above the restaurant area in the hotel and the client said he could hear music from the party whilst sat in the dining room so similarly the rooms above would not be suitable. No other clients made negative comments in fact several remarked how nice it was to see a busy hotel in the quietest trading time of the year.
Regards the positive note about our food, we are blessed with a super kitchen team and receive many compliments, but in this instance it was surprising as they had earlier told our Front of House Manager that they would probably not be dining as “there is nothing on the menu we like”.
After dining they decided to check out and leave at 8:30pm but not before complaining about having to pay their accommodation bill, remember it was their choice to leave, regardless it was reduced for them. The party finished at 10pm, our restaurant continued to serve food until the last diners left around 11pm and a few late night drinks were consumed in the bar by contented guests. However despite our lovely staff working their socks off the old adage that ‘you cannot please all of the people all of the time’ proved itself again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
10.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Hood Arms
The Hood Arms
#1 of 2 in Kilve
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range: $115 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing