We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Pub with Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cosy Pub with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were a party of 4 staying at the hotel at the top of the lane. Popped in for a drink and meal on our second night in Holford and received a friendly greeting from mine host & staff. We tried some of the local beer and very nice it was. We ordered 4 meals and I had a starter as well (I'm the greedy one!) and all the food was freshly cooked and very tasty indeed. Pricing was about average for traditional pub grub and the surroundings were standard country pub, cosy and inviting rather than basic & modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed in Holford for two nights and went to The Plough for food twice in that time because the food is sooo good! They serve all day as well, pretty sure it's 12pm - 9pm? You would need to check that though but it really is amazing food! We had the steak and ale pie and the cottage pie and it was probably the best we've ever tasted.
All food locally sourced too which makes it even better!
Great value for money and extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying at the hotel down the lane and enjoyed a lovely meal here on the Friday night, it was a good food , friendly staff and people, had a brilliant night , would definitely go back again, for any celiac out there, they did extremely well in discussing the options on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank herman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came here for a meal while staying at the campsite over the road. The food and service were so good we came back again the next night. Nothing was too much trouble. A lovely pint of cider is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pathwalker168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent one night in here sampling the Cider as we were staying at the hotel up the lane. A lovely pub which I think is reasonably priced at £3.10 for a pint of Cider and serving many other drinks too :)

We ate there in the evening and I can honestly say the Steak Pie was one of the best I have ever had! It was exactly as described - I.E. Full of steak! Not full of everything else but!

The chap behind the bar was a good lad and very friendly :)

Although it was quiet it was lovely to just sit back, relax and enjoy a few drinks. I would definately return to this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My partner and I came here, as we were staying at the hotel just up the lane. As soon as we walked in, we received a warm, friendly welcome from Chris, Michelle, and the gorgeous Bruno. This was a lovely friendly, country pub, with good food, a good atmosphere, and a grand fire place. Great value for money foodwise, it was pub food, but cooked well and just what we wanted. We left feeling like this place was our local, and wanted to bring Bruno the dog home with us. Its nice to see a pub dog, that doesn't beg, well, maybe for the odd fuss, which we were more than willing to give, such a well behaved and friendly dog!
If we were to return to Holford, this will be the first place we visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Popped in here for a few ciders and evening meal as we were staying in a hotel up the road. Reviews had been mixed but the pub was boasting "under new management" so we gave it a try. Very glad we did - the service was so charming (really friendly barman, waitress and chef, who all came out to chat), the food was gorgeous (I really recommend the homemade pie), and the best bit was Bruno the pub dog. He was a great, big, soppy lump and I fell a bit in love with him. Wish I lived round the corner - this would definitely be my local of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
0.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Holford TA5 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Inn is a village pub situated on the main A39 from Bridgwater, Somerset towards Minehead and at the foot of the Quantock Hills. We are ideally situated for walking on the hills, mountain biking and a short distance from the beach. We have a large carpark to the rear and beer garden to the front, we also welcome dogs into the pub. We serve excellent pub food all day at reasonable prices and provide a takeaway service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing