We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Cottage in Holford”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Mayfield includes private parking too!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Mayfield includes private parking too!
Fully Enclosed Patio Garden , with seating for 6 and a BBQ. Wrought Iron Garden Furniture, 2 benches, 2 chairs and a lovely large table with umbrella.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Little Mayfield includes private parking too!
Fully Enclosed Patio Garden , with seating for 6 and a BBQ.
Wrought Iron Garden Furniture, 2 benches, 2 chairs and a lovely large table with umbrella.
Large Lounge, everything you need for a comfy stay.
Large Leather Sofa
Large comfy Leather Chair.
Leaflets and Local Information to assist you in planning your stay.
Glorious real log fire, perfect for cosy nights in or to warm you upon your return from a walk.
Dogs are more than welcome and there is no charge as they are part of the family too.
King-Size Bed in the Master Bedroom, with ample storage and quality furniture.
Large TV in the Master Bedroom and Towels and Linen are provided for all guests free of charge.
Double Bedroom, with wardrobe, bedside cabinet and Towels and Linen included.
Twin Beds in the Master Bedroom an option if you prefer.
A Cream Tea or a local treat upon arrival for all our guests - even the dogs are looked after!
Fully equipped Kitchen - Fridge Freezer, Washer/Dryer, Fan Oven, Microwave and all other mod cons!
Large modern Basin in the Bathroom.
Large double shower enclosure, with Mira electric shower.
WC in fully tiled Bathroom.
View from the deer field in Holford.
Herd of wild deer that congregate every night in Holford. 5 minute walk from Little Mayfield.
Quantock wild ponies seen across the hills.
Wild Stag and Hines, taking shelter at the bottom of the hills.
Fossil hunt on Kilve Beach or just enjoy the rustic coastline - 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive.
Greatwood Forrest - Quantock Hills
BBQ and Picnic at Greatwood.
Holford and the Quantock Hills
War Memorial at the top of the Quantock Hills - 30 minute walk from Little Mayfield.
Quantock Hills
Quantock Hills, looking out to the coast.
Beautiful Walks for all abilities, details and suggestions available in Little Mayfield.
Dunster Beach, beautiful for walking, dipping your toes & BBQ's & picnics - 30 minute drive from us!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bruce P
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage in Holford”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for five nights in July. Central location at the foot of the Quantox Hills and a very short drive to the coastline at Kilve. Explored the West Somerset area with lovely views and many nearby walks.
Stopped to get in supplies in Bridgewater at Morrisons (half hour).
Little Mayfield is a former store and post office converted into a charming and cozy two bedroom cottage with a large living area (real wood burning fire!), modern kitchen and bathroom with a walk in shower. Good wi-fi included. Shared parking on site for one vehicle and a large patio area with table, chairs and umbrella (charcoal BBQ available but not used). Found to be private but easily accessed. Quiet at night. A few steps from the pub next door and a short walk up a side street to connect to local walks.
Sights in the area are highlighted by the West Somerset Railway and Dunster Castle plus walks and rambles!
Donna and Mickey left out a lovely cream tea for my arrival. Professional to deal with from start to end. Recommended without reservation. Hope to return on our next trip from Canada! Thank you for hosting me!
Bruce

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Many thanks for your detailed and very positive review Bruce. It makes us so happy when our guests get full use of the cottage and to fully explore the beautiful area close by. You certainly sampled many of the delights Somerset has to offer and it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at Little Mayfield. We hope to see you again in the future and thanks again. Donna & Mickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieS22...
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It is in a lovely location, situated right at the foothills of the Quantocks perfect for walking the dog and would be perfect for hikers and mountain bikers alike.
The property is clean spacious and welcoming and the welcome cream scones were much appreciated!
We will definitely return as didn't manage to explore all Holford has to offer as only stayed four nights.
Thank you Donna and Mickey

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Many thanks Jackie, it's so lovely to hear you all had a great time and enjoyed your break away. As discussed you would be more than welcome back anytime and we really hope to see you and the lovely Bam in the future. Many thanks again for the review. Donna and Mickey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyblad...
doncaster england
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just finishing our 2 week stay in this lovely holiday home , upon entering you walk into a pleasing well furnished living room which has a lovely leather settee t v d v d and internet connection (signal intermittent ) both bedrooms are tastefully furnished with high quality extras and same with the kitchen which is a fair size and fully equipped .
Bathroom has toilet and large shower fully tiled room .
There is parking space at front dog friendly we had two beagles and the addition of a welcoming pack on arrival even Bonio for dogs , any problems the owner lives next door and was very welcoming , pub just over road and they do all day food .
Garden is a patio area at side of building with table and chairs back is a small alleyway with bins .
This is one cottage we can highly recommend the area has lots of walking routes and mountain bike heaven as well .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Many thanks both for your lovely informative review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time spent at Little Mayfield, it was a pleasure having you and the doggies to stay. Sorry to hear about the signal being intermittent during your stay, perhaps the weather didn't help as we don't usually have a problem here. I can see it didn't ruin anything which is comforting! We do hope to see you in Somerset in the not to distant future and thank you again for both your custom and 5 Star review. Donna & Mickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papasmetz
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just retuned from a 2 night stay at "Little Mayfield" and what can I say. The cottage is spacious extemely well equipped clean and comfortable you could not want for anything more. There is a good sized TV in the lounge and bedroom and a good wi-fi signal. The property is situated in the pretty village of Holford opposite The Plough PH which is very friendly and serves good food. At the end of the road is the Holford Coombe which is just beautiful.The finishing touch on our arrival was a cream tea and a biscuit for our dog. Thank you Donna and Mickey for a lovely stay. We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Many thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure having you both to stay and not forgetting Tia of course! It's lovely to hear you got the most from your break and that you enjoy the village so much. We can't wait to welcome you back, thanks again Donna & Mickey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilf64
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Planned a trip with friends. The owner, Donna, couldn't have been more helpful and attentive when our travel plans took an unexpected turn. Thanks to Donna and look forward to our next visit. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review Sarah, only too happy to help you, it was a pleasure and I look forward to seeing you all next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We arrived at Little Mayfield in the little village of Holford after a long journey from North Wales we walked through the door to find a warm welcoming, well decorated and furnished home from home abode. In the kitchen we found a lovely welcoming note from the owners Donna & Mickey with a Somerset Cream Tea and 3 biscuits for our 3 dogs. The Bungalow had everything we needed, there is a pub (The Plough ) next door which does excelent food and welcomes everyone including dogs. Lovely walks and scenery.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend Little Mayfield to anyone wanting a quiet comfortable and relaxing holiday, we will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
Many thanks Robin and family for your amazing review, it gives us great joy to know you had a lovely comfortable stay with us. You and your family, especially the gorgeous dogs are welcome anytime. Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillB2468
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for mountain bikers”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very comfortable cottage, with my "three essentials": shower, washing machine and wi-fi connection. Also excellent value for money.

Despite being on the main road, it was very quiet and peaceful.

Holford is a perfect location for mountain bikers (as well as walkers) at the foot of Holford Combe and Hodders Combe, leading up onto the fantastic Quantocks.

Thank you, Donna - see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Over-sleeping in comfy bed
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments and excellent feedback Jill. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage and the wonderful Quantocks, you certainly made the most of your time with us. Thanks again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing