We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming a local favourite”
Review of Dinnington Docks

Dinnington Docks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A rare unspoilt Public House of great character, serving great Cask Marque approved Ales, Ciders and Wines, with a great menu of classics as well as a great selection of starters and mains, all produced in-house from seasonal and local sourced ingredients and produce. Large garden, with ample seating and large carpark. The Dinnington Docks is the Dinnington tradition.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve visited a few times now and have thoroughly enjoyed the steak sandwich, made with slices of medium rare rump steak, lovely onion jam and mustard mayo, all in a ciabatta sandwich. Highly recommended. There’s a good selection of beers and ciders too.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank nmason8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at Dinnington Docks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us always appreciated and so glad you like the rare rump, always a favourite of mine... with a pint of corse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for dinner on recommendation of our Airbnb host. Warm welcome in a buzzing atmosphere (Weds eve). Charming staff, V dog friendly. Imaginative food which was delicious and good range of well kept real ales. A*

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NickC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at Dinnington Docks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Nick... nice review and particularly please the team was charming, our 1st A* too... thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a cottage down the lane and this pub was fantastic the food was great and in the week we stayed Charlotte was great we visited several times and always felt welcome your food is amazing and thank you Charlotte and all staff if we are back in the area will definitely come back thank you for adding to our fantastic holiday x

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CDm5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at Dinnington Docks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you... Charlotte was very chuffed you mentioned her, she is a star. So glad you had a good holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cycled here from Ilminster. Lovely little pub with great traditional pub food! Good size beer garden too. Staff were great.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank prousie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at Dinnington Docks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review... Michelle and I used to ride our bikes from Ilminster to the Docks - some 20+ years later I was lucky enough to become the Landlord - maybe there’ s a trend emerging!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had not booked and dropped by on spec. We were made most welcome by the friendly staff, and ordered roast beef with trimmings. There were 5 different types of vegetables plus properly cooked roast potatoes and an outsize Yorkshire pudding. The gravy was plentiful and very tasty. The 2 slices of toast beef were cooked to
Perfection. I don’t think I have ever enjoyed a pub-bought Sunday lunch as mush as this. The pub’s owner/ head chef is a rather scary-looking bloke with tattoos on his neck and face and limbs. If he is indeed the chef then his cooking is certainly much better than his body art.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lovebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at Dinnington Docks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you liked your Sunday roast… Kirsty our chef takes great pride in delivering great pub food, supported by her hard working team – one of which is a lovely gentle chap, with a few tattoos and piercings! Hope to see you again and thank you – we very much appreciate the effort taken to review us – Matthew & Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinnington Docks also viewed

 
Hinton St George, Somerset
 
Ilminster, Somerset
 

Been to Dinnington Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing