We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and good food”
Review of Lord Poulett Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lord Poulett Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our friends, who live locally, introduced us to this pub, which we really enjoyed. It was amazingly busy for a Tuesday lunchtime - it seems we should have booked. Cream of turnip soup was a hit (yes, really!) and all the dishes were good and very plentiful portions. Otter ale on draught. Perhaps the best thing of all was the service - friendly but not pushy, and efficient even though they were busy. It's a bit off the beaten track, but well worth the effort and we will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 191 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Faultlessly executed cooking presented stylishly. Local produce served on an imaginative menu. The pub is inviting and cosy. Service let it down a little. Maybe due to the food being so much more than "normal" pub food & the service being just lacking that special touch.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SarahE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

First impressions were not great ...entrance into pub from rear car park was 'tired looking' .Once inside,however, the pub was warm and cosy with friendly,welcoming staff...if you had to describe the 'feel' and decor of a traditional village pub,this would be it.My smoked trout starter was good but my husband's soup was truly delicious.For main I had the LP burger with my favourite..triple cooked chips.The burger had a really great 'beefy' taste but because it was a proper homemade one was quite dry,the chips were good.My husbands main was beautiful tender chicken breast with 'bubble and squeak' but the star of the show was the side of roasted vegetables with roasted beetroot and beetroot purée.We shared a pudding which was homemade treacle tart with clotted cream ice cream...well, that tasted as good as it sounds.Will we return? Yes I think so

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LallyJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

To be fair we stayed here a year ago and had an amazing time with outstandingly good food and a gorgeous room. This time, however I HATED it! To begin....the room was right by the entrance to the corridor so we were woken up several times in the night with people going up and down the stairs and banging the doors to the bathrooms which were opposite. We had booked for two nights food but after the first night decided to cancel the second evening as it was so poor, not a patch on last time. The breakfast was also average and took ages to appear. You are expected to make your own tea/coffee which is fair enough but you need a degree in physics to operate the coffee machine. Our bedroom had a mirror above the sink which was obviously fitted by a man as it was too high up and too far away for me to see myself in (will attach a picture!) which is a nightmare for girls trying to do makeup/put contact lenses in. Finally, when I was looking for a pen in the room I opened the bureau to find a load of washing up (not ours!) that had not been cleaned away. So very disappointed and just get the feeling its got a bit above its station as its not a patch on what it was.

Room Tip: Do NOT go for the room by the corridor entrance!! Its so noisy!!! Room at end of corridor with rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairydust222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed with my partner on Saturday night after Christmas. We had booked the room some weeks before hoping for a restful and romantic evening together. The pictures on the website looked great. We booked room 3. When we arrived we were taken to our room which was beautifully decorated but we soon discovered that our bathroom was across a corridor. This was not made clear at all when we booked the room.
In the afternoon we went into the bar to relax and have glass of wine. Whilst we were sat in the bar the staff we getting the tables ready for dinner. We noticed there were a number of larger tables of 18 , 8 and 10 so we asked that out table for two be in a quieter part of the restaurant. When we came down for dinner another couple were sat at the table we requested, they had asked to be moved as they had found the main restaurant to be very busy and loud ! We subsequently had to wait an hour until 9pm when another table became available. Whilst we were compensated with a complimentary drinks this failed to compensate for the compounding frustration experienced.
The food finally arrived. It was ok but a little over priced.
After dinner we retired to our room c11pm. Our room was above the main restaurant. It was unbelievably loud! We could hear every word spoken from the diners below. The restaurant finally emptied but the staff started moving tables and chairs around dragging them along the stone and wooden floors. We finally got to sleep at 1am after I rang the hotels main number to ask them to stop !!!
When we were shown to our room we had been told breakfast was served until 9.15am on a Sunday so we arrived for breakfast at 9am. At 9.15am the member of staff came to take our order and very rudely told us would take at least 20mins to cook.
When we checked out were we're not asked if we had enjoyed our stay only if we wanted to leave a tip !!
Overall the hotel looks lovely and is beautifully decorated it however let us down and spoilt what should have been a very special occasion.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank ME2010WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Staying in a tiny hamlet like Hinton St George one might feel close yet at an uneasy remove from the rural goings on, and uneasier still seeking them out at the local. How convenient then that Lord Poulett Arms, besides being a beautifully furnished little country hotel with a very able kitchen and charming rustic dining rooms, is also the local pub. From 6 o'clock the bar is packed with locals discussing ...well when we were there cartography.

We stayed two nights in August with our teenagers and loved it. Beautiful rooms and sumptuous baths well worth the tip-toe across the hall. The dinners were outstanding in an up-to-date country cooking kind of way (also for vegetarians). Our only beef was with the unreasonably long wait for breakfast. But in all an excellent place to stay in rural Somerset whether travelling with family, friends or, I imagine, alone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Came across The Lord Poulet by chance when looking at good pubs with rooms. Chose a Friday and Saturday for myself and my wife and we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked into the welcoming bar, full of locals, we knew we were in exactly the right place. The staff immediately made us feel welcome and quickly and efficiently showed us to our room. We had chosen room no1 with a large roll top style bath in it. We dumped our bags and went straight back to the bar with its roaring fire for pre dinner drinks.

We had pre booked both the room and our evening meal via the easy to use web site and after scanning the menu we both plumped for fish and chips. It is not an exaggeration to say that it was the finest fish and chips we had both had in a pub/hotel, the bucket of triple cooked chips pushed us both over the edge into gluttony. On the strength of that meal alone we decided to have the Sat evening meal at the pub as well, again not disappointed with the desserts divine!

Hinton st George is a lovely village and after the substantial and cooked to order breakfast we enjoyed a wander in the crisp autumn morning. My wife didn't want to leave so after check out we camped out in the bar, sinking into the big leather armchairs, soaking up the heat from the fire and enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours reading the papers. Sunday lunch topped off an outstanding weekend and we reluctantly left The Lord Poulet Arms, relaxed, full and vowing to return in the Summer so that we could enjoy a cold beer in the gardens.

For people who enjoy a 'real' country pub, used by locals, staffed by people who genuinely seem to enjoy what they do, with great food and drink. The overall cost of the weekend surprised both of us as it ended being considerably cheaper than we had assumed.

Room Tip: Go for room one, but even if you can't get en-suite it's not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doove71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Poulett Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Poulett Arms

Address: High Street, Hinton St George TA17 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hinton St George
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton St George
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Poulett Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 17th Century Inn located in a very peaceful location in one of the most beautiful villages in the West Country. Hinton St George is set in stunning rolling, typically English countryside on the borders of Somerset, Devon & Dorset. The Lord Poulett Arms has recently won numerous prestigious national awards including “Gastro Pub of the Year” from the Good Hotel Guide, & “National Dining Pub of the Year” in the Good Pub Guide & received superb reviews from every quality newspaper incl 9/10 for food & 9/10 service from The Sunday Times & “Best Sunday Lunch in the West Country” from The Observer. The Inn is furnished with taste & much of the furniture is antique. The quality of the food is the main draw to The Lord Poulett with it winning the Good Pub Guide “Somerset Dining Pub of the Year” in 2009, 2012, 2014 & 2015. The Inn has two gardens; one a French inspired knot garden with Wisteria covered pergola & Boules Piste & the other a typically English wild garden full of mistletoe covered apple tree’s, Hammocks & Love Seats & even a Five’s Wall (the forerunner to squash). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lord Poulett Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Poulett Arms Hotel Hinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing