We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, dog friendly retreat. We will be back!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
charliebe...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, dog friendly retreat. We will be back!”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have reached the age of 50+ and never been camping and never wanted to but I saw Widget's and decided that glamping was something I must try. The main attraction was the focus and welcome for dogs. I have recently adopted a rescue dog who hadn't been off the lead as his recall is questionable and the lure of a secure 7 acre field on site which he could use was too much for me to refuse. So I booked for myself, Partner and Benji (the black lab) to go for 4 nights.

It rained every day and being on a farm and in the middle of a field you need your wellies! We were soaked, muddy and cold (outside, not in the pod which was very cosy) but loved every minute! Anna, the owner, was very welcoming and showed us the small but perfectly formed pod on arrival. It has everything you need and is in its own secure/enclosed area where you can safely let your dog off the lead. Everything has been thought of. There is no TV or wifi but there is a DVD player with a small selection of DVD's. Phone signal was good. It was nice to get away from the TV and emails etc and just enjoy the peace and quiet and each others company.

As part of the package you can have the 7 acre field for 50 minutes each morning and you can also book extra time slots at a very reasonable price. It was wonderful to watch Benji just run and run in a safe environment and to take back one very tired and muddy dog.

There is a pub within walking distance, The Bell, although we drove as there is no footpath in parts alongside a busy road. The food is great, good portions and good selection. The staff are very friendly and allow dogs in the bar area where Benji was welcomed with a bowl of water. White Row Farm, about a mile away, is also worth a visit.

Overall I would highly recommend Widget's and we will be returning hopefully in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oli2008
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Pod”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My first experience of Glamping!!
We stayed at the pod last weekend. It was perfect. Everything has been thought of, you think you need something & there it is. This is as close to camping as I would get & cannot wait for the husband to out his leave so I can book again. Anna was great from the initial inquiry of booking right to the end.
The pod is within its own small secure garden. That then sits in I think about 5 acres of (unsecured) field. I say it's not secure yet if you have a good dog it is pretty secure & we didn't see one person the whole time we were there in the field. Also the garden around the pod is fence with wire fencing so you don't feel enclosed or shut off. The next field over is huge & we were given access to it at 8am for our dog to go free. It was amazing to see our dog off the lead & roaming free, we don't get to do let him do this very often as nervous & over protective dog owners, this field couldn't be more secure, perfect.
The pod was spotlessly clean, shower was great & bed comfy, all the cooking utensils, combi-oven, kettle, radio, Tv/DVD player literally everything you need.
We visited The Bell Pub just a short walk away & they are very welcoming of humans & dogs (You do have a short walk along a busy road so you may need to consider that). We also went to White Row Farm Shop, amazing fish & chips & such a nice set up with a restaurant, farm shop etc, again very welcoming of the dog. But be aware the chip shop is closed on a Sunday evening, we were very disappointed we didn't manage to squeeze in a fish&chips before we left.
My recommendation would be to take dvds, we stayed at the end of March and though we were blessed with amazing sunshine the evenings were still chilly so from 9.30pm we went inside & there is no Tv signal so dvds will be needed. Also if you plan on staying put (we did in the day as it's so peaceful & calming) you may want to take the disposable bbqs, we bought some off Anna but there's a fire pit the fit in perfectly, and means you can pop some burgers on for lunch & not worry about messing the lovely kitchen area.

I am happy to answer any questions.

We will be back asap.
Thanks Anna

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review and we're glad you got a chance to truly relax. We're also always adding to the DVD library in the pod so you'll find new films if you come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly dog friendly in a lovely setting”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (The girlfriend, Moose the Doberman and Myself) stayed for 6 nights, we have family in the area and this provided a perfect base.

The pod itself has its own small fenced garden so was perfect for just letting Moose run free, but we also (through prior arrangement with Anna, the owner) had use, for an hour a day, of the secure 7 acre field on site, which was great as Moose rarely gets the chance to be off lead when at home.

The pod is completely self contained, with a small kitchenette and a wet room with toilet and shower. Cooking is somewhat restrictive, there is a combi microwave, which has a grill and oven capability as well as microwave option, we used it a couple of times, took about 20 mins to make toast! A toaster would be handy. There is a TV but no aerial connected (selection of DVDs in the pod), I took a radio which was good, just to break the silence! Connectivity wise, considering it feels like you are in the middle of no where, we had good phone signal.

The view from the pod is lovely, including being able to see the Westbury white horse (you can't see the pod from it though, I tried!). There is a railway line a couple of fields away, close enough to hear it, but its not intrusive, even spotted a steam train once.

Overall we had a brilliant week and we will definitely be booking in again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Hi Matthew, thanks for the lovely review and we're glad you had a nice time. I think a radio would be a great idea and we'll get something sorted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatR2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little pod”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely setting and fab, cosy little pod - very private and perfect for a few days away with our dogs

Value Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkFinnU...
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Cosy”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Myself , My Wife and our dog booked into the pod for four nights for Easter
The accommodation is on the small side but offers everything that you need , it is a massive step up from camping (which I refuse to do)
The pod is modern and Very warm, the kitchenette is adequate for breakfast and we did manage to cook pie n veg with the combi oven one night
The bell at Standerwick is a 5 minute stroll away and very friendly and reasonably priced
We also used the White Row Farm fish n chip shop (a 2 minute drive away) Very nice but be warned it closes around 830
We experienced Storm Jane on our last night , but we were toasty and safe inside the pod !
Our dog loved having acres of "his own" field
Anna the owner was very friendly,was on hand in the main house should we need anything but left us to our own devices which we prefer
We will almost certainly be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Base with an amazing view”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Widget's Farm provided the ideal base for us to get out into the local countryside and experience the brilliant cafes and restaurants of Frome and the surrounding area.

The pod is aligned east to west so you get glorious views out the front towards the Westbury white horse and you can admire the sunsets behind in the evening. Lovely and peaceful for the most part but you do very some noise from military aircraft flying over and there's a hum from the A46 but it's not intrusive and the birdsong had a good go at drowning it out anyway!

The pod has heating on a thermostat, an electric shower so there's always hot water and the kitchenette was totally sufficient for our needs.

Anna was a lovely and friendly hostess who let us get on with our stay but made sure we knew she was there if we did need anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Thanks so much for your review and we're glad you had a lovely stay. The busy military aircraft were a surprise and we believe there was a training exercise nearby - it isn't the norm and we hope it didn't disturb you too much. We hope you visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing