We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still worth a visit”
Review of The Mill at Rode

The Mill at Rode
Ranked #30 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Barbecue, Contemporary, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Mill at Rode is a quintessential English inn, set on a stunning riverside site, surrounded by beautiful gardens and with a fabulous deck area overlooking the water. This former woollen mill is one of the few surviving that once put Rode on the map as a key trading centre and market town on the Somerset and Wiltshire border. The Mill was part of a consortium that won a competition to make a dress for Queen Charlotte, wife of King George III, and invented a dye colour Royal Blue.. The Mill is now part of the Butcombe Brewery group of pubs and through sensitive restoration still connects with its industrial past, including the historic waterwheel. The pub has recently undergone a big refurbishment and the result is a carefully crafted modern, contemporary environment that is ideal for meeting friends, enjoying family time, or celebrating major events, with private dining facilities for up to 60 guests. Renowned for its great fresh locally sourced food and convivial atmosphere, the Mill at Rode is a perfect location for all occasions. There is plenty of parking and outside the chance to try your hand at some typical English pub games such as Giant Jenga and croquet so it is ideal for enjoying the lovely natural setting on the River Frome. Close to Bath, the Mill is a mecca for locals and visitors alike who are looking for a relaxing time. The Mill chefs pride themselves on using only the best ingredients, with as many as possible being supplied locally. On the menu are some classic British dishes such as sausage and mash with onion gravy to hearty international favourites such as dry rubbed pork ribs. And of course there is a fantastic selection of ales from Butcombe Brewery and a wide range of wines to suit all tastes and palates.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Still worth a visit”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

For several years, we've had an annual lunch with friends at the Mill. It has changed hands within the last year, so our fingers were crossed. We were disappointed that they no longer offered a good-value fixed price menu, but the prices were not excessive and the food was tasty. Best of all, the staff didn't attempt to rush our meal, and allowed us to sit at the table and visit with our friends for several hours. We'll go back next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crimewriterkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah L, Manager at The Mill at Rode, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your annual trip to The Mill.

We made a decision to remove the fixed priced menu, with only two choices for starter and main course we decided this was a very limited option. We decided to go through the menu and change the overall cost of the majority of dishes, therefore giving much better value for money and a much more varied choice. I'm glad you found the menu to be of good value, this is what we aim for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Mill next year

Kindest Regards
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    154
    104
    84
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food welcomed on a rainy evening”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The food was great, service was quick.. we were looked after well! The price of the food was nearer the top end of our budget but worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pop_M_Bmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah L, Manager at The Mill at Rode, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to The Mill.

We believe we serve good quality food at a affordable and reasonable price. All food is cooked to order by our trained chefs, and using good quality, local produce. With this is mind, it is impossible to compete with the larger chains serving perhaps a different standard or quality of food for a lower price.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Mill in due course

Many Thanks
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food ok, bad service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was really excited to go here as I had heard been recommended a couple of times. Thoroughly let down unfortunately by the service. I went on a very quiet Monday evening, the place was dead part from one other table. The young tall lad could hardly be bothered to grunt and had an attitude problem, especially when i asked where the drinks i had ordered a good 20 minutes before were.the girl, who I can only imagine was new as it took her 10 minutes to find out what the soup of the day was tried her best but our empty glasses and conjealed ketchup pots wern't cleared once. Food was ok but really put off by staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah L, Manager at The Mill at Rode, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I have addressed the issues you have highlighted with the members of staff working on this particular shift.

I can offer no explanation for poor service, but can assure this level of service is not usual not expected.

Please accept my humble apologies.

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“evening drink”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I visited the mill at rode a week or so ago on a Thursday evening with my husband and 2 small children. As we had the children with us we chose to sit outside. My husband came back with some drinks but the beer was warm. We then waited for the 2 portions of chips that he had ordered. when they arrived we were given no cutlery or sauces or napkins. The waitress (blonde in her twenties) was not very friendly and we had to ask her to get up some mayonnaise. We had to wait so long for the mayonnaise that my husband had to go back in to the pub to go and look for the waitress to ask where it was. She was just sitting at the bar and when questioned about it said that she was waiting for it to be cold!!! by this time our chips were cold and not very appetizing. Not a great experience overall so a potentially lovely pub just bad service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Friend's Treat”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A wonderful meal in a lovely location not quite warm enough to sit outside by the river but it's just as nice inside.
Service was excellent. Would highly recommend this for a superb lunchtime treat we chose from the daily specials board average price around £10 or a little more but well worth the money we also indulged in a desert both of which were gorgeous.
will definitely be going for another visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill at Rode also viewed

 

Been to The Mill at Rode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing