We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming pub”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming pub”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile


I like the fact this pub retains its pub-like nature with a warm atmosphere, locals propping up the bar, the games in the corner, bare stone walls, good beer and pies. So many pies of various tasty fillings, burgers with amazing chips and my favourite, the chilli beef sizzler (second favourite the Cajun chicken sizzler). Eat here almost weekly. Good value for money. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lee966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    42
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast and tasty pies”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I had Sunday lunch at the white hart with our daughters and my parents. The food was very tasty and helpings were generous. Puddings and coffees were nice too. Service was friendly and the pub has a great atmosphere. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Would go back. With out discussion !!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the bishopstrow hotel and it was very over priced and lacked in vegetarian options. My partner found the white hart via google and they had a great choice for vegetarians. We went on the Friday 3rd of January with a lovely atmosphere great food and wonderful service. And very good prices. I would recommend this to any person visiting the area. Am very happy we choose this pub. As the food was fantastic and a very welcoming pub. Thank you. A

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joliver27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Me, Myself and Pie”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After the appalling treatment we had received at another establishment (qv) and it being New Year’s Day, the extended family being as yet unfed we were much relieved to be welcomed at such short notice into The White Hart.
This delightful pub is warm in both meanings of the word, it is clean and the staff welcoming and friendly. The bar is well stocked with real ales and most other types of refreshments.
We were shown to a perfectly adequate table with an assurance that should we prefer it a larger table could be made available.
After a moment’s perusal of the menu, choices were made and small children accommodated with nonstandard requests!
Our food soon arrived and it was frankly outstanding, personally I had opted for the steak & kidney pie, and it was excellent, this was a proper pie too, not a bowl of soup with an extruded piece of puff pastry dumped on the top.
Those of us that still had the room and the fortitude tackled various items from the sweet menu and this also was pronounced first rate.
So thank you to the good people of The White Hart for turning what could have been a disaster of a day into a memorable and enjoyable family meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDW357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“keep coming back”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We regularly come to the Nunney/Frome area from East London and always make a point of coming here as it really is a welcome back to England moment. Great food , especially the 2 steaks for £20 on a Friday, at a reasonable price. A real friendly local pub. As far away from the soulless chain pubs as you can get.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardsonnigel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing