We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very convenient”
other travelers have booked this property
From sitting area looking up to mezzanine bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From sitting area looking up to mezzanine bedroom
Sitting room from kitchen area, sofabed on the left Cottage front door leading from patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
From sitting area looking up to mezzanine bedroom
Sitting room from kitchen area, sofabed on the left
Cottage front door leading from patio area
Table and chairs outside Cottage front door - perfect for relaxing!
Table and chairs outside Cottage front door (on right of photograph.Green doors not used)
Up outside steps, Cottage windows on the right seating area to the right at top of photo
Looking up Catherine Hill from Frome town centre towards Catherine Hill Cottage top left of photo
Looking down Catherine Hill from bottom of Cottage steps
Inside front door, bathroom on the left with kitchen in front and left, sitting room to the right
Kitchen complete with dishwasher, gas hob, electric fan oven and washer/drier
Double bed under the beams
Bathroom/shower room
Shower with rainwater shower head and hand held shower head
Sitting room from mezzanine bedroom stairs
Gorgeous little Paccamora cafe almost opposite the cottage, corner of Catherine Hill/Whittox Lane
Unique and wonderful Deadly is the Female shop opposite cottage steps. Retail therapy?!
The Valentine Lamp in Catherine Street, cottage windows in background.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_rosemary...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very convenient”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We enjoyed our stay, a good base for exploring Frome and the surrounding area. We appreciated the extra touches that are not usually available in holiday lets. We would certainly consider a return visit.

Thank you Helen for your thoughtfullness.

Rosemary and Roy

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretifi...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a long awaited reunion; all we could ask for but didn't need to.”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location; central but hidden away in an intriguing ginnel. Well kitted out and nothing to complain about. Helen could not have been more helpful; she met us with the key and advised us about parking.

We'll be back! Thank you so much Helen!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
Thank you so much Robin, it was a real pleasure to meet you and I do hope you find time to come back one day. Kind regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idmarina
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A traveller's dream!”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I had a wonderful two weeks stay, and the cottage was everything that I imagined, and more. Lovely area as well, with great walking trails close by, interesting places to visit...The owner, Helen, was ready to help out with my needs, if required! Wonderful!
I will miss the place, what more can one say?
So one more time; Thanks, Helen!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you Marina, it was a real pleasure to meet you and I hope our paths may cross again one day! Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnandAd...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Frome :)”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just love this cottage (please see our previous review). A baby later and we still manage to stay there. Fantastic location, amazing ambiance and such a lovely lady to greet us on arrival...fire burning, essentials in the kitchen (and bathroom!)...what more can you ask! 5 stars...highly recommend!! Thanks Helen! Xxx

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Thank you for such a great review Lynn! If I could review my guests you would have 5 stars too, plus an extra for the baby! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Little Cutie”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed 2 nights in early June, and it was such a fun little place. Everything is provided for your stay. It is well maintained, comfortably furnished, with TV, free wifi, and lots of books to read. The double bed is up on the mezzanine floor, with fairy lights along the wooden balustrade and down the bannisters. Head room up there is limited, so beware 6 footers! But you can turn the bed round if you want to. The bathroom is spotless, as is the kitchen and the oven is efficient and easy to use. The information file is informative and we put in a brochure of a National House property we found interesting. Frome is a lovely little town and near to Bath and many other places of interest. Helen was there to meet us and showed us how things worked. Nothing was too much trouble. We loved the cottage.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnandAd...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem!”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you are a looking for a quiet, relaxing break in Frome then look no further! Catherine Hill Cottage is an exceptionally welcoming, quirky and cosy little cottage nestled at the top of a beautiful cobbled street full of amazing little vintage inspired shops. Helen and Tabitha have thought of everything with their personal touches (including breakfast treats and more); this place really is home from home and with everything you need pretty much on your doorstep!

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to say lovely things about the cottage Lynn and Adrian! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and I hope you will return soon - extra bed needed :-) Helen and Tabitha x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor a
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed 3nights in between Christmas and New Year.What a lovely lovely cottage,so well equipped with quality fittings and furnishings. Helen's extra touches made it feel so extra special the little Xmas tree and fairy lights were greatly appreciated and as for all the lovely goodies well all I can say is a great big thank you.We like to get out and about and went to Longleat for the Festival of lights which was fantastic but I would have been just as happy to have stayed in the comfort of this warm and cosy cottage relaxing after a busy Christmas.It was good to know we could contact Helen if we needed anything and her responses to our e-mails were prompt and reassuring.So all in all a 5 star stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing and having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2016
Hi Gaynor, thank you so much for such a glowing review! It's always heart-warming to know someone has enjoyed their stay. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and my thanks to you for being such delightful guests. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing