We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Special”
Review of Lullington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lullington House
Ranked #11 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family (2 adult children and grandchildren) and I had the pleasure of staying at Lullington House for two nights. Lullington is a tiny place not far from Frome but following instructions given to us beforehand it was easy to find. When we drove up the driveway we were so thrilled to think that we would be staying in such an amazing old house. The house built in 1866, the grounds and the surrounding countryside are just so beautiful. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and our beds very comfortable. The room I stayed in had a four poster bed. There were fresh flowers, a decanter of sherry and even fresh milk for our tea kept cool in a vacuum flask in our rooms. It was all so special, like having a taste of life in a time long ago. Near the house there is a little woodland walk which was so pretty filled with many different varieties of daffodils when we visited in April.

Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room where there are many interesting things to look at. There is a bird feeder outside the window and I was fascinated to watch a tiny bird having his breakfast too. We chose to have the 'full English' and it was superb. One thing that we appreciated was that we could choose when to have our breakfast and not have to wait for a set time, so that if you wanted to get an early start to fit in as much sightseeing as possible, as we did, you could have breakfast nice and early. In the evenings we were given a menu to fill out which included the time we would like to have our breakfast served. So helpful.

Our host, Richard was very welcoming and friendly and was able to help us with places to eat, things to see and how to get to the nearest Park and Ride bus stop to take us in to Bath. Parking in Bath is limited and expensive and to take the Park and Ride bus is so easy. Our stop was only a short drive from Lullington and the buses ran very frequently. Bath is such a beautiful city and we found Lullington House the perfect place to stay to visit Bath and the many other interesting places in the area.

Our time at Lullington House came to an end much too soon but we are already planning our next trip to the United Kingdom and although it will be two years away, we will be sure to include another visit to our favourite B & B, Lullington House on our itinerary.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Lullington House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fabulous hosts Richard and Nicola made us very welcome. We were offered drinks on arrival and shown to our room, The Waldgrave. It hosted a four poster bed, roll top bath and separate shower cubicle. Lullington House is situated in a sleepy village and was perfect for getting to Bath and other locations by car. Breakfast was served by Richard each morning which was delicious, you have to request the evening before if you would like hot food and what you would like. This was explained on arrival. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilli64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a quick midweek break in Bath, but rather than stay in exceptionally expensive poor value properties in Bath itself, chose Lullington House. On arrival, we were welcomed by name, and shown straight to our fabulous room, The Waldegrave. Richard explains the breakfast arrangements and offered us a pot of tea which was lovely. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room but being brought a nice pot up was a lovely touch. I haven't stay in a b&b for a while so thought it a little quirky to have to book a time slot for breakfast and decide what hot food would be required, the night before but this was definitely not enough to know any points off my rating! But just something to be aware of. Richard recommended a place for us to eat that evening. The room - simply stunning! Huge room, beautiful and most importantly incredibly comfortable, four post bed, fabulous interior design and things to look at everywhere you turn but all overtly in keeping with the period of those house (well except for the tv I guess). Bathroom was huge too and even had its own fireplace, walk in shower, roll top bath.... Only wish we had stayed more than one night! Return from our meal and a had a late night sherry tipple from the decanter in our room. Nice touch! Very good nights sleep. Breakfast - tea / coffee arrived promptly. Self service for cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit etc then Richard checks when you are ready for your hot food. I had lovely scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, he had the full English which looked great too. Check out is early, 10am but we knew this so had planned our day accordingly. Just another thing to be aware of and of course, they do only take cash but we had been told this in advance too. In summary, a lovely stay yet still close enough to explore Bath and its environs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were visiting Bath for a weekend break and wanted to stay outside of the city preferably somewhere quiet. We chose Lullington House from others' reviews and booked the Waldegrave room. This is a large room with an equally large en-suite. Lots of great period decor, nice four-poster bed, attention to detail and a very civilized decanter of sherry as well. Like stepping back in time and as close as we’re likely to come to spending a night somewhere with the atmosphere of a National Trust type property! Friendly and accommodating hosts. Breakfast served around one large table in the impressively appointed dining room. And it was quiet. Excellent value and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wend895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but it was a lovely stay, being made to feel very welcome from the moment we walked through the door. It was just the break that we needed!

Lovely place and lovely people

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my partner went for a few days break away in Bath. My partner found Lullington house online and we booked it.
We had a lovely few days, and the hotel was just brilliant. The rooms were lovely and spacious plus a huge bathroom! The house was magnificent, tranquil and set in stunning countryside. Our room had a fabulous four poster bed and a beautiful free standing bath in the bathroom.
Our hosts were a lovely family, who were approachable and helpful without being pushy or intrusive. They made us some recommendations of where to have a truly delicious evening meal and the breakfasts we had there in house, included the price were fabulous.
I will have to stop now as I am running out of adjectives (!) but would thoroughly recommend Lullington house for a short break, and if we are back in the area at any point, we would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Lullington House as we were attending a wedding nearby. The room was beautiful, the bathroom luxurious, the breakfast was cooked to perfection.
I highly recomend Lullington House.
My only disapointment was that we couldn't stay for another night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frome hotels
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#2 of 2 in Beckington
187 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
355 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#9 of 32 in Frome
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Beckington
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchardleigh House
Orchardleigh House
#3 of 32 in Frome
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lullington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lullington House

Address: Lullington, Frome BA11 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: $115 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lullington House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Victorian rectory set in rural quintessentially English village. The house stands in ten acres of paddocks, woodland and well maintained mature garden, enjoying both privacy and seclusion, and is home to an abundance of birds and wildlife. Our spacious bedrooms are elegantly furnished, and graced with four-poster beds, all complemented with sumptuous soft furnishings and large en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lullington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lullington House Frome, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing