We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Lullington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lullington House
Ranked #9 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We came to Lullington House for two reasons, to look at surrounding properties and to celebrate my birthday. What a perfect place. Sooo quiet, beautiful location, helpful host, and wonderful room and ensuite. Four poster bed so comfortable and a bathroom with everything you could possibly want. Particularly liked the offer of a tea on arrival and sherry in a decanter left in room.
If I had to think of something negative, I can only think of a very picky detail such as having milk in a flask put in our room late in the day - but this is such a minute and personal detail it certainly would not effect my return to this most wonderful place.
Thankyou Lullington for making it a perfect, amazing couple of days - we highly recommend you and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Walgrove suite. Excellent room, comfortable bed, quiet, superb views and wonderful ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bournemouthfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Lullington House as a base to meet up with family who were staying nearby. The house is a little hard to find, but is truly beautiful. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and breakfast was first class. The rooms (we stayed in the Marshall Room) are just wonderful - beautiful furniture and paintings and a decanter of sherry which was a real surprise. Would definitely recommend this delightful place and would stay here again if visiting this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Initial reception was slow as our host was gardening and missed our arrival but welcome was warm and friendly. This traditional English House is beatifully maintained and it is like stepping back in time. Stayed in the Duckworth Suite - beautifully decorated with 4 poster bed. Fresh milk for our tea in a chilled flask - lovely touch. En suite was generous size with bath and separate shower. Small and very basic tv given size of room. Local area is quiet but gardens are lovely with a pretty pond area. Breakfast was also very good. Excellent food available at local pubs.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a fantastic 1 nights stay at this excellent B&B
(its more than a B&B)
Our hosts were very accommodating, we had a wedding close by, so we asked if we could drop our bags off and get changed. This was NOT an issue at all.
lovely location, great house, brill breakfast, all in all top marks, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just go if you don't you will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Myself and my 7 year old daughter stayed at Lullington House for 4 nights in order to explore the local area. The main purpose was to go to Longleat which is about 20 mins easy drive from the B&B. Although initially tricky to find (in the dark) once we got our bearings it was very easy to get to. We shared a twin room, which was very comfortable with a good range of hot drinks and complimentary sherry in the room. Fresh milk is supplied daily, non of the UHT packets and the welcome was warm and friendly without being overpowering, we were tired after a long journey. The twin room (Marshall) doesn't have a bath which was a slight downside but everything in the room was very good. The breakfast is varied and very fresh, good range of cereals and fruit on offer as well as hot breakfast options and great coffee. The dining room is faithful to the Victorian vicarage origins of the house, guests sit round 1 table and it was a lovely opportunity to get to know the other guests, my daughter very much enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders outside and meeting the dogs and chickens in the gardens.
The family who own Lullington House make you feel at home whilst giving you as much space and privacy as you want.
Bath is only half an hour away, Bristol an hour. In the other direction are Stonehenge, Salisbury, Cheddar and Longleat. It's remarkably convenient for a B&B that seems to be in the middle of nowhere. Frome is a few minutes away with major supermarkets and petrol stations etc.
We really enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave, we would definitely stay again and wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Marshall room is the twin and has no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faerieoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a gorgeous, stunning place. The room I stayed in was beautiful, with a spacious bathroom, four poster bed, lovely rural views and beautiful period features. Breakfast was really nice too. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it's an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaktraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Me and my fiance were looking for somewhere to stay near longleat safari park and came across lullington house. What a fab place to stay! As soon as we arrived we were stunned, the house is located amongst country side and is so beautiful. The gardens are so peaceful and the house is grand. We had a lovely welcome and were very pleased to be recomended a place to have dinner. The mill at rode sevres wonderful food, the best steak me and my fiance have ever had! We stayed for two nights and didnt want to leave, the lovely warm rooms with flasks of fresh milk each evening, the choice and tasty breakfast, the gourgous views from the window of our room (marshal room). We had such a good experience, defenitly recomend to anyone planning on staying in the area. Close to Frome, Longleat, Bath, many places.
We will most definitly visit again if we plan to stay in the area, we had an amazing weekend!
This bed and breakfast is very much worth the price!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_Anna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.4 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
5.1 mi away
Stay at Penny's Mill
Stay at Penny's Mill
#1 of 2 in Nunney
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
371 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchardleigh House
Orchardleigh House
#3 of 32 in Frome
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lullington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lullington House

Address: Lullington, Frome BA11 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: $118 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lullington House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Victorian rectory set in rural quintessentially English village. The house stands in ten acres of paddocks, woodland and well maintained mature garden, enjoying both privacy and seclusion, and is home to an abundance of birds and wildlife. Our spacious bedrooms are elegantly furnished, and graced with four-poster beds, all complemented with sumptuous soft furnishings and large en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lullington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lullington House Frome, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing