We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, friendly hotel”
Review of Archangel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archangel
Ranked #9 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for our First wedding anniversary. We'd been given a voucher for 2 nights with dinner on one of them for a wedding gift. Upon arrival the staff were extremely friendly, and they'd even left an anniversary card in our room. We were supposed to be booked into the large luxury double room at the top of the hotel, but due to some flooding we had a smaller room for the first night. This was still nice, but quite noisy from the street. However, Eve, the manager of the hotel, did everything she could to make up for the room situation. The dinner we had was incredible, and we felt extremely special, which made for a beautiful weekend. The hotel itself is such an amazing combination of extremely old with modern touches, and it pulls it off perfectly. Breakfast was also delicious. I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff were all so friendly, and it made the whole stay really memorable.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the large luxury double - it is a stunning, huge room and well worth the extra pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    70
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
28
158
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed before at the Archangel and would recommend it to anyone passing through Frome. This week sadly things went wrong. Perhaps it was the first time they had lit the fire this autumn. The heavy smell of burning that had been evident in the hotel in the afternoon manifested itself in to billowing smoke by midnight when the smoke alarms went off in the entrance, the upstairs landing and in our room on Thursday October 17. We opened all of the windows but were only greeted by a "very sorry" from the young staff that were available. We have thick smoke outside are room and smoke getting in under the door - enough to set off the alarm. We were not offered any alternative accommodation and spent the night in a smoky room with the window wide open. Nothing was said of it in the morning, aside from another apology, when this was mentioned in response to the standard "did you enjoy your stay" question. We left paying the full amount. Our warning would be, if you smell smoke then leave the hotel - it is unhealthy and unsafe.

Room Tip: Room 3 attracts billowing smoke but has an excellent alarm system in place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Archangel is a lovely wee place with good design and friendly staff. The rooms are nice with fresh milk (in the fridge - like normal!) and real coffee, nice teas etc in the rooms, comfortable beds and generally very thoughtful. We were in town with a group of people for work and others were staying elsewhere - we definitely chose the right place! It was SO MUCH nicer than the other places and we loved it here. A great breakfast which was quick, really well cooked and presented and with real coffee rather than that horrid watery hotel coffee. Overall we were very very pleased with it and would definitely come back. The meeting room/private dining room upstairs is lovely. Our only gripe was the rubbish collection very early in the morning outside our windows at the back of the hotel (we were in the courtyard rooms) and then the Poundland delivery - but I doubt anyone can do much about that as we were in the middle of a town and the other hotels will have had similar noise and were not very nice. So we highly recommend this hotel if you are in Frome!

Room Tip: if you are in the courtyard go for an upstairs room as they have more light and air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Being a local, i cant comment on the hotel service but if you are coming in here for a drink, the service experienced has been very poor. I have tried this pub again on numerous occassions, but the bar service along with the expensive drinks prices always let this place down. I have left this bar on two occassions from waiting for a ridiculously long time for any service and have given the place many second chances, but sadly i wont be coming back.
With a place of this ilk, offering a first class venue and service, its so important that the staff are well informed and trained. My last drinks took 10 minutes to be served by a very inexperienced barmaid who didnt have a clue when asked aboout basic wines or spirits. In the end i opted for a gin and tonic and was served this in a Pint glass! My friends lagers were served from the end of the barrel with literally half a pint of head on them! We had to return all drinks and tell the barmaid how to pour a pint and how to make a gin and tonic and by this time others waiting for drinks had started to leave!! This is really basic stuff and i just cant believe that managers are not hiring experienced people or if not - training their staff in the basics of bar service and drinks making! This is a sure fire way to lose business and give the place a bad name! I dont want this review to be all negative but i know of so many local people that have stopped using the Angel for these reasons and the management really need to take heed of these criticisms. When i have eaten here the food has been really fantastic, but again the waiting staff didnt seem to have a clue what they were doing! It really doesnt take a lot to train staff and give them and customers a better experience and it would be a real shame if no one takes heed of this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights. It was our anniversary so we opted for the romantic package. we both agreed we could not have chosen a better place!!!!!!!!.

We stayed in room 1 on the first night which was in the main house. The room was stunning and a nice size especially the bathroom(lovely bath). as we had the R. package we had champagne on arrival in the room. Everything you need is in the room,fresh milk for tea and coffee which was a refreshing and welcome change.Also had a lovely sleep in the bed ,very comfortable.

we decided to stay at the hotel for the first night,so had drinks in the lovely courtyard and dinner in the restaurant(included in the R. package). The cocktails were great,my wife tried a few and gave great reviews her fave being the pineapple mojito.
The food in the restaurant was delicious,we had three courses and could not fault anything.
Breakfast in the morning was also great,nice surroundings to sit in and a menu full of choice.

After a day trip around Bath,we came back to the hotel and stayed in room 6 for the second night. This room was equally stunning,although smaller with the bath in the bedroom. would not advise for people who have trouble getting up stairs as the entrance has very small and tight staircase which may cause a hazard for some people. Also maybe not good for you if you like to retire early to bed as the room is opposite the bar and restaurant and could be a bit noisy if the bar was full.(We were informed that a wedding party were there that night,so this may not normally be the case) Although this did not bother myself and my wife at all.

For us the Archangel ticked all the boxes, with lovely rooms and great food. But I must add that the our stay was made so much better by all of the fantastic staff. The girls in the restaurant and breakfast were very polite and put up with my endless questions on the history of the building. And can't fault Shane the bar manager who from the moment we came through the doors made our stay exceptional, We were made to feel very welcome at the Archangel ....Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 if you are having a romantic break,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to book the naval room and the library for our wedding reception. It was a small party of 27 and the Archangel was perfect at blending formal with personal. From ensuring all the rooms for the guests were ready earlier than the normal check in, even though they had been fully booked the previous night, to having drinks and canapés ready when we got back from Stourhead gardens and kept them circling until the last guest had arrived - some half an hour to an hour later. They then allowed us to relax and chill without interruption but again made sure the dining room (naval room) was set up magnificently before we eat. The attention to detail by adding candles in jars to mirror the flowers in jars that we had ordered just illustrates how fantastic they were at making it personal to us. The food was amazing, as always, and considering the variety and the amount of food we ordered it came up and was presented with such elegance that it made us feel truly special. During our time we never felt pressured to be somewhere or do something, as a lot of a our guests were smokers the courtyard was super for allowing the conversations to move smoothly with the guests to different parts of the building without ending up on the street outside. Most of our guests stayed at the hotel and they were very pleased with the accommodation. I must point out at this time that if you are in the main building and you get one of those huge baths you must try it - they are the meaning of luxury and should be well worth at least two soaks in. The hotel provided z beds for those with children and the courtyard rooms provided showers for those who prefer this to huge baths. Breakfast was lovely. All in all the attention and care given to us as well as their easy going attitude - they took the huge wedding cake in their fridges without batting an eyelid and my request of bringing in six small trees didn't cause any problems at all - made our day so very special. Oh and on the cost side damn reasonable :)

Room Tip: Go for courtyard if you like showers or are a smoker and go inside for luxury baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I booked the Archangel for a surprise short break as part of significant birthday celebrations for my mother. 5 of us stayed midweek and had a wonderful time. The staff were really fantastic, helped to keep the whole stay a surprise and organised bubbly for uson arrival. I should point out that, having worked in the service industry, I have high expectations and my compliments are rare.

The rooms we stayed in were in the building off the courtyard and I was a little dubious that the noise from the bar might have been as issue but the walls are so thick, once you close the door you can't hear anything. The bar is only open until 11 and we didn't want to go to bed before then so it wasn't an issue at all. We really liked the rooms- plenty of space, well decorated, king size beds and lots of thoughtful little touches. A cafetiere and proper coffee as well as 'tea pig' tea bags and fresh milk in the fridge meant we could have a proper cuppa in our rooms. Top quality bed linen, fluffy towels and robes. Big power shower and nice toiletries. Even a fan had been provided in the hot weather!

The rooms on the upper level are accessed via a spiral staircase so probably wouldn't be ideal for anyone who wasn't sturdy on their feet. The only other 'constructive' comments I could give on our room is that the sink was too small and that I prefer a firmer pillow to the feather ones on the bed, but that is only my personal preference.

Staff had set aside a big table for dinner in the restaurant (rather than squeeze us onto a table for 4.) The wine selection was varied and good value, including my favourite white Rioja for £21 a bottle. We're a foody family, we eat and cook great food but this was one of the nicest meals we have eaten together for a long time. The menu is a mix of classics, like fish & chips, with more contemporary dishes and layers of flavours that sparked conversation. The choice to use local suppliers for fish, meat and cheese has paid off- all were excellent. As expected, the service was great. I would have loved to try the tasting menu but it's only available at weekends, a perfect excuse to go back!

The breakfast room, in the old part of the building, was beautifully decorated. The cooked options included veggie and kippers as well as traditional english, the perfect set-up for the day. There was simple selection of cereal and pastries to have while we waited for the breakfast to be cooked fresh. On our second morning the waitress even remembered that I like my bacon well done, what more can I ask for really?!

The table next to us was occupied by family, including a very unhappy child. They complained between themselves that the rubbish lorry had disturbed them very early that morning- hence the overtired child at their table. That isn't the hotels fault and really it's to be expected if you stay in a central location. I don't think the archangel is the right choice for a family with young children if town centre noise is going to bother you, or your children. Take them to a holiday camp and come back for a romantic stay when you will be able to appreciate all the positives the archangel has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building at the back all have power showers and are set aside from the main building wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#13 of 32 in Frome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archangel

Property: Archangel
Address: 1 King Street, Frome BA11 1BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Archangel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First recorded as an Inn in the 14th century, the Archangel has an excellent reputation for its vibrant atmosphere, warm hospitality, top quality cuisine and quirky yet first-class accommodations. The ten bedrooms are decorated in deep, rich purples and golds and include luxurious details such as sumptuous velvet curtains, zinc roll-top bathtubs and gold Florentine headboards. Facilities include flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi and Branche d'Olive toiletries. The restaurant is built into a centuries old hay barn adjacent the main house. Ancient stone walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube. The Archangel serves top quality food using the finest locally sourced ingredients and the stylish bar gives a buzzy atmosphere offering the finest local ales and original cocktails. The Archangel is located right in the centre of Frome, a historic market town with cobbled streets. Bath is only 25-minute drive from the Archangel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Archangel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archangel Hotel Frome
Archangel Frome, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing