We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real retreat”
Review of Moorleaze Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorleaze Farm
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real retreat”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

As a group of sleep deprived Mums we were looking for peace and quiet and somewhere to really relax. This is exactly what we achieved by staying at Moorleaze. The accomodation was spacious, modern, clean and really comfortable. We loved the communal space which meant whoever was cooking was still able to be sociable.
The heated pool was gorgeous and looking around it looks like a perfect place to return with the children. Frome, which was only 6 miles away provided lots of lovely little indepent shpos to explore and cosy tearooms to have a piece of cake and a cuppa.
Our only comments would be that the local pub was not within walking distance as we believed it was. The cottages are really out in the sticks, surrounded by beautiful countryside but the roads are little and narrow and hard to navigate in the dark. We felt a much larger sign at the essential junction and at the farm itself would have taken away the only stressful bit of the weekend which was finding the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed in "Wookey" a 2 bedroomed holiday cottage, several times over the last few years. The cottage is always spotlessly clean and cosily warm with everything on hand that you could possibly need, including board games and a DVD player. The owners are so friendly and the pool is wonderful.....always warm with clean, changing facilities and showers. The games room is great too. The last time we visited, we went for a long weekend and didn't leave the cottage complex at all as it was so lovely just to relax and use the pool. It was such a treat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolocomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was my first time here although my Fiance and his parents have been here a fair few times.

We arrived earlier than 3pm with no problems of checking in. The owners come round and welcome you which is a nice touch. They were very friendly and helpful. Replaced our DVD player right away as it was faulty. No big deal but great that they had a spare.

The place is set back from the main roads so you don't get any noise, peaceful. The cottages (we stayed in Cheddar) are very clean, cosy and well presented. Equipped with everything you'd need. The swimming pool was amazing, was very quite so we had it to ourselves pretty much all the time. Lovely and warm too. They have sun loungers in there as well as a sauna but I don't think that was working I am unsure. Changing rooms are clean and spacious. The games room was good too, pool, table football, table tennis, dvds and books to borrow. They have a tennis court too.

Lots of cute wildlife to be seen, great views too.

I will return! Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLAN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We previously visited 2 years ago, and it is still just as good. We had a 3 bed cottage (Glastonbury), as we did previously. The bedrooms are all very good, lovely cotton sheets, immaculately clean etc. But what we really love is the HUGE downstairs room, with kitchen and lounge all in one. Room for 2 x 3 seat sofas, coffee tables, and massive oak 10 seat table and chairs. It means the cooks are still with the rest of the family, and there is plenty of room for board games (yes, it rained!) to be played while dinner prep is going on. There is a table to eat outside if the weather is good, and a bbq available too. The kitchen is fully equipped, down to a cafetiere and a garlic crusher, we found everything we needed. The games room has something for all ages, the tennis courts are good, as is the outdoor play area. The jewel in the crown is the pool. Lockers, large changing rooms, sauna, everything is there. The pool itself is large enough for several families at a time, and was lovely and warm.
The owners are on site, and very helpful too. They are to be commended on the facilities and atmosphere at Moorleaze.
The location is good too, no traffic noises at all, just owls and cows!
It does take a little while to get back onto the main road (especially if you have out sat-nav) but it is worth it for the peace and experience of being in 'proper' countryside. I live in a small village, one road, between two fields, but near a dual carriageway which we can hear, but Moorleaze is truly away from it all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveitaly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Moorleaze Farm is excellent. Good location, nice area, very nice views, fantastic accommodation. Nice pool and nice grounds.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyjane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and I have just spent a wet week in Somerset staying in two of the Moorleaze Farm cottages. The accommodation was clean and fairly comfortable. My son and his family arrived a day before us and were welcomed by the owners, but I didn't get to meet them. The farm is reached via narrow country lanes and we had some difficulty finding our way. It is a long way from shops and it was nice to find welcome tea bags and milk so we could have a cup of tea as soon as we arrived! There is a good Sainsbury's on the road to Frome.
The swimming pool was a great asset and well used by some members of the family. Also, the games room was very nice with table tennis, pool, table football, sofas, plus books and dvd's to borrow. All in all I would say that it was a nice quiet place to spend a holiday with plenty of interesting places to visit fairly nearby. The highlight for us was a day at the Fleet Air Arm Museum - with two teenage grandsons in tow! We enjoyed a meal at The White Hart on our last evening, good food, pleasant staff, great beer (says my husband!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have just returned from a half term break at Moorleaze Farm and had a wonderful stay. The kids swam everyday, tried out their new tennis racquets on the hard court (with varying success) and used the games room. When not on site, we visited Bath, Bristol (highly recommend the SS Great Britain) and the Tank Museum at Bovington, which is about an hour and a half's drive away. The cottage (for 6 people) was warm, well-equipped, the beds really comfortable and we had everything we needed for a great stay. There is also a sauna which I didn't try out but I know some other guests did and they seemed to enjoy it. The country lanes through Trudoxhill to Witham Friary can be fun when you meet a tractor but you soon get used to it. There's a large Sainsburys on the outskirts of Frome which we used but some other guests got a delivery organised from Tesco which might be a good idea particularly if you're only staying for a long-weekend. I've called my review "addicted" ....this visit was our 9th - having first come in 2006 for a family triple birthday weekend! My 6 and 7 year olds are already begging to come back next year.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummyofaandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
9.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
854 reviews
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
575 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
464 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
258 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorleaze Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorleaze Farm

Property: Moorleaze Farm
Address: Witham Friary, Frome BA11 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Frome
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Moorleaze Farm Frome, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing