We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Mother's Day treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Archangel

Archangel
Ranked #21 of 96 Restaurants in Frome
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Archangel is well known for its magnificent 3 storey restaurant built into an old hay barn adjacent to the main house. The ancient walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube that seats up to twelve people around a single table. Our chef always uses the best quality and locally sourced ingredients. Our seasonal menus are unpretentious and aim to serve every dining experience. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a Mother's Day treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

haven't been to the Archangel for a long long time but on Mothers Day my daughter and son in law and small children treated my husband and I to lunch, ok it was 3.30 but they have small children who defy the laws of mealtimes! lovely staff, quick service, good food, and delicious pudding! Absolutely no complaints, the Archangel pulled out all the stops on a particularly busy day and at no time did we feel neglected or rushed over our meal. coffee came when it should and it was a very relaxed late lunch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank britishtreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    107
    87
    51
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Taster menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the second time we have had the taster menu here & it is sheer enjoyment from start to finish,to many courses to go through, but very good value, & some good wines to compliment the food. We were there on a busy Saturday night (last night) & found service to be very good,with thanks to Tia for her endeavors & Chelsea & Charlie for their help.Special thanks must go to Eve & the brilliant chef Lee you did yourself proud.
I would have no hesitation in recommending you try this menu, at £65£-85 per head it well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatszone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a great starter and average main. The service really let it down though. We didn't get offered a drink after our first one. We waited about 20 mins for our pudding when there were only 2 other tables there, both of which were being fussed over!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahwu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend Mother's Day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Quite simply the best meal we've had in a long time. Great atmosphere, fast, efficient and friendly service, despite having the three course meal I didn't feel like I had overeaten. Would definitely recommend Sunday lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frome is where the heart is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over for one night, a room off the courtyard beer garden. Quiet at the moment, but I imagine could be noisy in the summer.

Main courses in the restaurant were very good. The lamb was succulent, the vegetables crisp. Presentation was a little off, served on a slate I'm sure I've seen on sale at B&Q. Service was slow but enthusiastic and redeemed by bringing desert to our room.

The room is pleasant, dark hues, bare plaster walls, complimentary soft drinks, real coffee with a French press, and a large comfortable double bed.

Overall really good.

Helpful?
Thank DominicORourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archangel also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing