We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful food”
Review of La Bisalta

La Bisalta
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1993, the Italian restaurant, La Bisalta, named after the mountain range that dwarfs the hometown of the owner and chef Luigi Violino, is situated in the heart of Frome. Surrounded by mature trees, the setting of La Bisalta feels almost rural. Easily identifiable by its covered canvas entrance and ivy clad upper storey, this genuine Italian restaurant offers a wide range of classic dishes. All dishes are cooked to order with fresh local ingredients by chef Luigi, who together with his wife Susan, has justifiably earned a far reaching reputation for excellent food and friendly service.
Frome
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

family run restaurant, almost like being in their lounge, but the food was lovely. pricey but worth it. really tentative staff.

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    20
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Yes, 'La Bisalta' is, with out doubt, our favorite and the best restaurant for miles.

We love the comfortable relaxed atmosphere and the consistent quality which is unique to this family run Restaurant.

Diners are made most welcome and the whole experience is one of unhurried excellence.

With the very best freshly prepared Italian food and an impressive selection of top quality Italian wines, 'La Bisalta' is the place to go for that special occasion.

We have enjoyed visiting 'La Bisalta' on occasion, for many years now and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noiseytappet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious charming restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited here for the first time on Saturday night even though we are local! We booked the table for 8pm, didn't get to it until 9.30. We didn't mind this at all, we were in the bar enjoying a drink pre dinner.
We both had starter from the special board, both delicious, then we had meat dishes. The service is perfect, and although it is an unusual setting in a house, it's charming. I had a bottle of Prosecco and my boyfriend obviously had Peronni! It was good value and definitely worth the prices charged.
We will definitely retun and would recommend if you're not in a rush!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmynAdamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A small restaurant in a converted house run by an Italian family. Magnificent food with a warm welcome even late on a Monday evening with excellent service. ★★★★★

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went for my second visit last night with my brother and partner.

My brother was visting and wanted to take us somewhere special for dinner and I knew this place to be special.

Its not cheap but its excellent quality fine dining so to my mind its good value. Average price £15 - £20 for a main course plus veg.

Welcoming service, relaxed atmosphere, its all about the food!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjoylife_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bisalta also viewed

Frome, Somerset
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to La Bisalta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing