We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful peaceful getaway”

Review of Red Tiles

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
somersetj...
Wedmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful peaceful getaway”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A lovely gem of a cottage, this converted barn is exactly as described. The countryside around is great for walking. There’s a village pub in easy walking distance. The barn itself is clean and warm. It felt like a home from home immediately. There’s everything you would need, even a small dishwasher. Richard and Lisa certainly know how to make feel feel at home. There’s so much to do locally, we were spoilt for choice. We eventually ; went for a circular walk, went for a mooch around Bruton and ended our weekend with a Sunday lunch at the Bell in Evercreech . If you decide to do go to The Bell for Sunday lunch it’s probably best to book.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you Jane for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Red Tiles. Sorry you couldn't get in for Sunday lunch at The Bell but good to here that they are popular there also. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blondie_l...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage and Location”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage was lovely!
I was a little worried as there isn’t many reviews and the booking was made direct with the owner.
I shouldn’t of worried at all, we pulled up to be greeted with Alpacas in the field next to the garden (our 2.5yr old LOVED them!) and a beautiful little cottage with shortbread biscuits and cups of tea!

The cottage was clean and perfectly suited to children with games, puzzles and toys, also bed guard, stair gate and children’s design on the bedding.

We stayed for 2 nights and visited Longleat safari which is half hour drive away, we also had a dinner in a local pub in Evercreech, food was lovely and the staff were welcoming.

The only negative we could find was the road the runs along side was occasionally noisy, it’s a country lane but seems reasonably busy, but that isn’t the fault of the cottage or owners!

Otherwise everything was lovely and we were very happy with our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you so much for your review. We are just glad that you enjoyed your stay at Red Tiles and love it when people have a good time there. It is unfortunate about the road but hopefully outside of commuting hours and especially at night it wasn't too bad. The alpacas are still there and still very inquisitive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a peaceful getaway.”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A lovely restored barn in the peace and quiet countryside. An excellent welcome of tea, mince pies and homemade brandy butter. Clean, well equipped and cosy barn with great views and peace surrounding you.
Walks on your doorstep. Easy to reach attractions nearby.
We enjoyed good family fun with board games, family dvds, walks and a trip to a local pub.
Will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2018
Thank you Lisa. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Red Tiles and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctsg0503
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Break”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful cottage, in what seemed a remote location but only a short walk from the local village. The cleanliness was second to none and like other comments the biscuits were very welcome. The only negative (if you could call it that) was the shower. It worked ok but was a bit lacking in power. I would happily recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Red Tiles. We would love to fit a more powerful shower but it isn't possible at the moment. Hopefully it didn't detract from your stay at Red Tiles and we look forward to welcoming you there again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natasha W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just stunning :) ”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights beginning of April '17 and our family loved all our time there.
Arrived to a tin of shortbread and the tea tray ready with milk in the fridge, perfect after travelling aswell as heating on in the twin room to take chill off. So much thought for guests, everything you could think of from toys, books and dvds to shower gel, cleaning products and a bed guard for little ones.
So peaceful with beautiful scenery all around, in the info pack we followed the walk around the barn and enjoyed the views from across the farms.
The children enjoyed swing ball and bowls in the garden although would of been easier if grass had been cut as kept losing the ball!
Very handy having all child accessories such as stair gate and highchair. Also a real luxury of a dishwasher!
Only suggestion is perhaps some darker curtains in twin room or black out blind as it gets very light quite early.
Hope to have a return visit in the future
:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Natasha. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Red Tiles and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will certainly look into putting a black out blind in the twin room. We have pegged up blankets in there for our children in the past.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JandenBoe...
Dinteloord, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect and very complete house”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This nice house is for sure a perfect place to stay with 4 persons when you like to be in the country. It has all you need inside,royal complete kitchen/livingroom, bathroom and two nice big sleepingrooms.Towels and cleaningstuff is also there. Enough place to put things. There are books and dvd and also toys for kids. Parking grasfield are behind the gate, so safe. Nearby in the village are pubs,baker and a small but complete Coop-supermarket. When you arive you find warm welcome,flowers,also teabags,milk and sugar. Go there and find out!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Jan. We are so glad that you found your stay at Red Tiles to be such a good experience.
Thank you for mentioning also the shops and pubs in Evercreech village nearby. When we have the opportunity for an occasional stay ourselves I always enjoy walking across the fields in the morning to the bakery for some fresh bread and pastries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for the review. We're glad that you enjoyed your break at Red Tiles and hope the budgie was ok. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you both back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing