We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey food but .....”

Tarr Farm Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Dulverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bucks
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovey food but .....”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely meal at this restaurant, we would recommend the sharing platter of bread, it was delicious. The service was good, the atmosphere pleasant and it was very busy, so would suggest that you book a table. Everything was fine until we received our bill, we had ordered a glass of house red wine and was offered two alternatives, we chose the merlot, it was nice but have had better, we were charged an astronomical £9.00 for one glass. We eat out frequently and have never paid this much for a 'house' wine. Make sure you check the price before purchasing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quality worth a detour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location and ambiance, lots of nice touches and decor without being all gastro pub.

Well kept local ales.

Great garden with views of and background babbling of the Barle.

Set in the heart of God's own country, this is a really great pub.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be michelin starr”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Absolutely amazing. There is plenty to chose from. Presentation is excellent and the food you could not fault. They catered for my wedding and it was faultless. Better than what a 5* restaurant could have produced in my opinion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank celeste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never go here”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited this at Easter on my friend's birthday for lunch. We had to wait ages to get a drink let alone book a meal.When the starters eventually appeared my friend's moules were lukewarm- cold.We eventually sent them back , but they were not very hot on return.possibly reheated,poor for a rosette restaurant.The main course was fish but it was swimming in pesto oil .We tried to order sweets but had to wait ages and when it came it was thrown down on the table.We had to get emergency doctor in middle of night as she had gastroenteritis ,probably due to the mussels.
Hotel guests had to share room and kept going in and out past our table so not very private or warm!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cream teas”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely cream tea here with family after a walk down to the Tarr Steps. The scones were massive. We sat in the tree tops area and initially we thought the little finches were sweet jumping onto the bench sharing the crumbs from our scones and then realised there was a tree full of them above and got more than just sugar in my latte and a little present on my sisters hair. But the service and cream teas were superb but maybe next time we wont sit in the tree tops area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrugerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarr Farm Restaurant also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Bampton, Devon
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tarr Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing