We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Eight happy people”
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Spacious Barn kitchen with granite worktops ... and spectacular views across the wooded valley The Barn (left) and Barn Owl Cottage (right) - available as one or separately
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Spacious Barn kitchen with granite worktops ... and spectacular views across the wooded valley
The Barn (left) and Barn Owl Cottage (right) - available as one or separately
Spacious Barn sitting room with large log burner ... and free logs to keep you nice and toasty
Barn Owl Cottage sitting room
Floor Plan for The Barn and Barn Owl Cottage
The Barn - galleried hallway
The Barn - top of the stairs
Barn bedroom 3, with large en-suite with bath, walk-in shower & under-floor heating
Barn bedroom 3 en suite bathroom
Barn bedroom 1 with ziplock beds as a super kingsize or two singles
Barn bedroom 2, a pretty twin bed room
Barn bathroom. Large shower and under floor heating. For exclusive use of bedrooms 1 and 2
Barn bedroom 4, with en suite bathroom
Well-equipped Barn Owl Cottage kitchen
Barn Owl Cottage bedroom 3, a pretty double aspect twin bedroom with views over the wooded valley
Barn Owl Cottage bedroom 1, with french doors to the courtyard garden
Barn Owl Cottage bathroom for exclusive use of bedroom 1
Barn Owl Bedroom 2, a cosy single bedroom with built-in wardrobe
Gambolling Rainsbury lambs ... Exmoor really does put a spring in your step
Wimbleball high wire - a thrilling experience
Fly fishing courses ... Learn from our expert
Another eye-wateringly stunning sunset on Wimbleball Lake
Wild seclusion on our doorstep ...  the 'Upton Arm' of Wimbleball - our backyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eight happy people”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from Terry and Angela with freshly made carrot cake, local eggs and chutney on the kitchen table. The Barn is spacious (our three families fit in easily) stylish and comfortable (great beds), and very well equipped (a garlic press, a pizza cutter, dishwasher and washing machine tabs). The garden is delightful and safe for small children (2 x 2 year olds and a 5 year old).

The local area provided train rides, castles, beaches and playgrounds at varying distances. And then there is the lake, which one of us ran around and one 68 year old biked (and walked), but is better taken in smaller bites!

We loved the dark skies at night, the empty lanes, the endlessly beautiful scenery and the 25% hills (the serious cyclist). A week was not long enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thanks for such a glowing review. We try very hard to make every stay with us memorable. We are always looking to improve our offering and ask every guest for feedback and suggestions, hence the pizza cutter, garlic press, coffee machine etc. Most of all, we are delighted you had a lovely time with us at Rainsbury House and look forward to welcoming you again. We were in awe of your cycling marathons. The empty roads on Exmoor, even in the height of the summer, make this area a dream for keen cyclists.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JH1_12
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect summer break!”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having got to a certain time in life whereby I have officially joined the “grumpy old woman” brigade (I jest) and do not give 5 out of 5 marks out readily, I can categorically state Barn Owl Cottage at Rainbsury House totally blew us away and exceeded all expectations. Upton and the surrounding villages are not only very picturesque, but the scenery is stunning and totally unspoilt. I could quite get used to the simple life and having been home for 10 days I’m really missing the tranquillity and sheer beauty of the area. Terry and Angela are the most wonderful hosts; highly attentive, very sociable and nothing is too much trouble (thank you so much both of you). Our little man totally fell in love with their 3 gorgeous dogs who are incredibly well behaved and friendly. We stayed at Barn Owl Cottage the first week in August and whilst the weather was changeable it really did not impact our enjoyment in the slightest. There are lots of lovely places to visit and I personally fell in love with Dulverton (a village circa 6 miles away from the cottage). There is a gorgeous little café (The Tantivy) in the village which comes highly recommended. Whilst I was away I needed to access medical attention. I was able to access an appointment at the local Medical Centre on the same day and was in and out of said medical centre (with prescription in hand) within 10 minutes! WOW! The boys went fishing and horse riding (enjoying some well earned freedom away from the “boring girls”) and we all enjoyed a trip to Dunster Castle. Barn Owl Cottage is tastefully and beautifully decorated and very well equipped for all your family needs and I pretended I didn’t know how to use a dishwasher so the other half had to load it up (bonus -ha ha!) We had lovely neighbours in the cottage next door and just about everything was flawless. We would love to visit again and we have no hesitation in highly recommending this perfect place!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be your hosts. Our dogs are rather missing your son. They have never had so much attention. We hope to see you all again. Terry and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles N
1 review
“a beautiful house, beautiful setting and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Not much to add really: the house exceeded our hopes by a margin, lovely space thoughtfully decorated and outfitted. Terry and Angela were beyond helpful and made us feel part of the family ... and a special shout out to the dogs who brought a sense of humour and waggy tails to the party. The area is extraordinarily beautiful and tranquil, yet not far from the bright lights (pubs) in Dulverton. Thanks to both of you for your thoughtfulness - Charles

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
Thanks for your kind words. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful corner of the Exmoor National Park and we like nothing more than sharing it with our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in The Barn, which, as you found, is perfect for family groups. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future - Terry and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t021
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation, with extremely helpful and welcoming owners who made the holiday fabulous.”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Barn Owl Cottage is just lovely in all respects, immaculately decorated and renovated and spotlessly clean. The owners called the day before we arrived to let us know about a local event they thought the children would enjoy and this was just the beginning of their help throughout the week. On their recommendation we have not only enjoyed the lovely accommodation and nearby lake but many activities, walks and locally known beauty spots which we may not have found on our own and became highlights of our week here. We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishkem
Sutton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great choice for our requirements”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Barn Owl Cottage proved a very suitable choice for our brief sojourn on Exmoor at the end of June. Two of our party were taking part in the Ironman 70.3 event held on and around Wimbleball Reservoir, which meant dining in each night (most unusual for us) and keeping extraordinary hours (e.g. rising at 04.30 one morning).
The cottage was comfortable, very well-appointed and well-maintained and occupies a quiet, very rural location. It is particularly well suited for two couples or individuals sharing as the bedroom/bathroom suites are at either end of the sitting/kitchen dining space, hence affording much privacy.
The local walking was great -once round the lake is a pleasant half day's walk.
The owners, Terry & Angela were very helpful without ever being intrusive.
Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review and for making the very good point about Barn Owl Cottage being particularly suitable for 2 couples because bedrooms and their respective bathrooms are at opposite ends of the cottage for maximum privacy. We will amend our website to highlight this fact. We hope that you will come and stay with us again ... for a relaxing break this time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiF273
1 review
“A relaxing family Easter stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Barn Owl Cottage -a perfect place to unwind in a beautiful, relaxed setting with most welcoming hosts (and dogs!). Cottage has all the essentials and more. We really recommend, to all age groups, Rainsbury House if you wish to explore the Eastern region of Exmoor and it is perfect for larger groups if you book both properties. We recommend Dunster Castle, Tarr steps and the pubs at Dulverton, Thank you so much for a great stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We certainly enjoyed having you here, so too did Rafi, Millie and Kilo. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpbateman...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and helpful owners”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottages were attractively arranged, up to date and warm, fantastic welcome - flowers, lemon cake, eggs, preserves etc - friendly owners who couldn't have done more to make our stay a success.

Very convenient for Exmoor, lovely walks, steam train, National Trust properties nearby, lots of local places to eat.

We would definitely return if the opportunity arose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you for your very kind words. We really enjoyed having you here. You were all good fun. My only regret is not getting Arthur's autograph as I am sure he will be a star of stage and screen in a few years time. Hope to see you all again Terry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing