We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The day the bikers rolled in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Ranked #6 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The day the bikers rolled in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stopped here for Sunday lunch, unfortunately they couldn't fit us in till 2.00 and when we arrived we under stood why as we coincided with the lunch time stop for the Mid Devon British Motorcycling Club on their Tarka trail tour. With 60 or so motorcycles you might have expect the place to be noisy but it was surprisingly peaceful and what a lovely crowd they were. The food was good both from the carvery and the menu, the staff were excellent and this pub/hotel has a delightful setting tucked down by the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_wiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for weekend in July. A superb tranquil setting, enhanced by a well run establishment. The food was of a high standard coupled with a very friendly management and staff.We would not hesitate judged on our recent experience to recommend this Inn.Selwyn Jones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pretty site beside a river near lovely Dulverton. Shame that it isn't kept clean, maintained etc. Windows hadnt been shut for months as the locks were all off. Breakfast was dismal, being asked"what you want?" as there were no menus, there was also no cereal or toast. It was full greasy English or else. Highly recommend not to stay here as it was also the most expensive of our UKs hotels at over £90. Everywhere else we stayed for 1 month was at least cleaner and cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDTTKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Chris and I were so lucky to find this pub for lunch. We were on our way to Doone Valley, and we are glad we decided to stop here. It has a lovely garden set next to the river, with plenty of space in a tranquil location. The menu is excellent, with plenty of vegetarian options for me, which is always a bonus. I had the cheese salad platter, which arrived with two wedges of really tasty bread, and Chris had Cumberland sausage from the specials menu. All of the food appears to be locally sourced, and the presentation is fantastic, with very generous portions. Yes, it is up there price wise, but very well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in May 2014 with our dog. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the dog was welcome throughout the pub. Excellent food that was very reasonably priced, we enjoyed it so much we didn't eat anywhere else! Breakfast was lovely and the homemade marmalade is the best I've ever had. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank motherbear0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently and were so pleased with the friendliness of the staff behind the bar also with Anne and John the proprietors, who made the stay so pleasant,with their friendly but not intrusive presence.
Our room was immaculate with lovely views over the river and with an excellent supply of refreshments on offer. Sitting outside in the evening next to the river, with the chickens walking around was so relaxing.
My husband had a steak at dinner and declared it one of the best "blue" steaks he has ever been served. Well done chef!!!!! Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. You must try Anne's home made marmalade, delicious!
Thank you one and all for a great weekend.
We will be back!
Mags and Jack.( Cardiff)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Nearly drove past this pub and so glad we didn't. Staff very obliging. We didn't have a reservation but they accommodated us. Food was good and the place was very clean. Would definitely stop there again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
12.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
4.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.4 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn, Exebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn, Exebridge

Property: The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Address: Exebridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Inn, Exebridge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a traditional pub, restaurant and b&b with six en-suite letting bedrooms. Overlooking beautiful rural surroundings shaped by the river Exe, it is situated on the southern tip of Exmoor near the village of Dulverton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anchor Inn, Exebridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing