We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New energy at TheAnchor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Ranked #6 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
taunton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New energy at TheAnchor”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a couple of years of tenants who stayed only briefly, often showing little interest in the business, John and Ann have come in like a breath of fresh air. A very warm welcome, the excellent Exmoor Ale as well as Greene King and usually another guest beer. Local wines from the Tiverton wineyard are available but the highlight of The Anchor must be the food. Strong links with local producers and fish suppliers from Cornwall, along with Trevor, the new chef joining the team, have produced a truly excellent menu. Lyn and I went in last night for some beautifully cooked sea bream with fresh vegetables and potatoes. The local venison burgers are to be particularly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st marys bay, romney marsh
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a delicious meal of Trio of Sausages and Lasagne last night both excellent, Beer, Service and Log Fire all super too. We called in purely because The Bridge in Dulverton looked very busy and we hadnt considered the Anchor because being on Holiday we wanted local food & drink, rather than Greene King. How wrong we were, they had local beers as well as super food! How many others have done the same when they see the pub is Greene King! Will we be back, you bet we will

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for one night whilst down on business. We had a warm and comfortable stay at The Anchor; the welcome was warm, the food excellent and we thourghly enjoyed our room with a dual aspect river view. I was delighted to find the radiator in our room had a modern thermostat so were able to remain cosy on a chilly night.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelm504221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Anchor Inn with a group of walking friends. The Inn suited our needs perfectly. The owners and staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a good atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invictagunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

the anchor inn review 27/09/2012, very nice surroundings and what a great beer garden , very hospitable owners and they made us feel very welcome from the moment we checked in.. , the staff were very friendly ,,,,and with the rustic feeling bar to the refined dining area to the lush beds and rooms,we had a great stay and would stay again,,,,
Mr and Mr ,,, gay,,,lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying here for only two nights with 3 persons, but wished we could stay a little bit longer. We had a family room for our son and us with a very nice bathroom. Since they only have 5 bedrooms, it's very quiet, but at a beautiful day, the garden and terrace near the river is crowded with dinner guests and people who are staying just a few hours. The garden near the river can be used for fishing and a small pebble beach can be used by children playing in the water. There are several walking routes starting just opposite the beautiful building near the parking.
The staff is very helpfull and the fresh dinner was fine. Since there were not many guests, we could order whatever breakfast we wanted in the morning.
Lovely place to stay, small, quiet, but at a perfect location near Exmoor National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at Caravan Site just up the road. It's the only pub within walking distance so it has the monopoly.
Food was very nice and reasonably priced but we found the vegetables that came with the meal a bit lacking in portion size. we had to chop a floret of cauliflower in half so we could have a piece each.On the flip side there was more potatoes than we could eat.I suppose if you get a lot of Veg and Salad dodgers through your door you adjust the portion accordingly. I love real ale and they had I believe 5 quest beers on at any one time. It was a shame that the local beers were on sale at the same price as the more distant traveled ones. £3.50 a pint. I expect the prices would be more competitive if there was some competition in the local area.Girls behind the bar were really really nice and very helpful and looked very professional.Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
11.8 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
334 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#13 of 17 in Dulverton
4 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
149 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn, Exebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn, Exebridge

Property: The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Address: Exebridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Inn, Exebridge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a traditional pub, restaurant and b&b with six en-suite letting bedrooms. Overlooking beautiful rural surroundings shaped by the river Exe, it is situated on the southern tip of Exmoor near the village of Dulverton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Anchor Inn, Exebridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing