We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a beautiful place to stay .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Ranked #6 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“what a beautiful place to stay .”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying here for only two nights with 3 persons, but wished we could stay a little bit longer. We had a family room for our son and us with a very nice bathroom. Since they only have 5 bedrooms, it's very quiet, but at a beautiful day, the garden and terrace near the river is crowded with dinner guests and people who are staying just a few hours. The garden near the river can be used for fishing and a small pebble beach can be used by children playing in the water. There are several walking routes starting just opposite the beautiful building near the parking.
The staff is very helpfull and the fresh dinner was fine. Since there were not many guests, we could order whatever breakfast we wanted in the morning.
Lovely place to stay, small, quiet, but at a perfect location near Exmoor National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
66
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saltash
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at Caravan Site just up the road. It's the only pub within walking distance so it has the monopoly.
Food was very nice and reasonably priced but we found the vegetables that came with the meal a bit lacking in portion size. we had to chop a floret of cauliflower in half so we could have a piece each.On the flip side there was more potatoes than we could eat.I suppose if you get a lot of Veg and Salad dodgers through your door you adjust the portion accordingly. I love real ale and they had I believe 5 quest beers on at any one time. It was a shame that the local beers were on sale at the same price as the more distant traveled ones. £3.50 a pint. I expect the prices would be more competitive if there was some competition in the local area.Girls behind the bar were really really nice and very helpful and looked very professional.Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pub is actually much larger than i expected, the room had two windows which overlooked the garden and river, which was perfect for being lazy the next day. The bed was good, bouncy when you sit but supportive when you lie down. The food was better than usual pub food, I decided on cod in prawn and cream sauce and my partner had the duck in cherry and brandy sauce, it was very great. I liked the surroundings, chickens at the end of the garden were nice and the breakfast was top quality. As a bonus, it wasn't too busy even though its the middle of August, which was good for me. All in all a nice place to escape to for the weekend. Oh, if you want to have a balanced view (like most trip advisor reviews seem to be) then I guess I should warn you that the food takes a while to cook, I expected this as we ordered roast duck, so for me it just made the evening last longer while I had lots of wine, but if you're in a hurry, don't leave it too late to order.

Room Tip: Room 5 has the two windows with a good view, its a smaller double room but feels like you're sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryonyCorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here on Friday after making a quick phone call at short notice, we were made to feel very welcome, the room was large, clean and comfortable. We were able to eat in the pub with the dogs under the table and enjoyed a very nice home cooked meal and bottle of wine. The pub is in a great position for exploring Exmoor or as a stop off as we did whilst travelling back up the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex639, Manager at The Anchor Inn, Exebridge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, glad that you enjoyed your time at The Anchor Inn.
Hopefully we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently stayed at The Anchor Inn on our way to Cornwall. The problem was we didn't want to leave. Next time we will make this our destination. We arrived to be shown to a light and airy room, with quality, crisp white bedding and soft luxurious towels and were able to wash away the travel dust and cares under a powerful shower with masses of unlimited hot water. The views of the river from our room were stunning, so we were quick to set out to enjoy a stoll along the river bank, returning to enjoy a real ale by the river, in the delightful garden. The food was well cooked, plentiful and with ample choice. Although work was still going on as the new owners, John and Ann, seek to enhance the place further, care was taken to ensure we were not effected. If you want to visit this lovely area, staying in a pub with a traditional atmosphere with modern convieniences and modern style pub food, then this is the place.

Room Tip: Room 5 which has two large windows overlooking the river, is light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a gem of a place, in a beautiful position with the gardens rolling down to the river Exe. Plenty of places to visit from here. Rooms are a good size and nice and clean, some with views. The food is extremely good, yummy in fact. Ann & John are very welcoming and want your stay to be enjoyable, lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We chose to stay at the Anchor Inn because of its idyllic & peaceful location and we could bring our Dog. John and Ann were very welcoming and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. As a vegetarian,it was great to have a selection of choices from the dinner menu and the portions were very generous. The breakfasts were hearty and set you up for the day. Ann's home-made 4-fruit Marmalade was to die for and it was a lovely touch that we given the rest of the jar (specially opened for our use) as a gift to devour at home :-). We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 342Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
12.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
9.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
4.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.4 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn, Exebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn, Exebridge

Property: The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
Address: Exebridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Inn, Exebridge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a traditional pub, restaurant and b&b with six en-suite letting bedrooms. Overlooking beautiful rural surroundings shaped by the river Exe, it is situated on the southern tip of Exmoor near the village of Dulverton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Anchor Inn, Exebridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing