We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stags Head Farm B & B
Ranked #2 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I have to have an annual 'fix' of Exmoor, but usually stay nearer to Lynton. However, because of something I needed to do, my husband Steve and I decided we would look for somewhere closer to Dulverton. An internet search brought up Stags Head Farm. We arrived with our son at 4.30 just as dusk was setting on a wet cold day.
We were greeted by Ray who led us into a lamp lit, warm and cosy house, and introduced us to Claire, who showed us to our rooms. Wow! The Large, beautifully decorated lamp lit rooms were so inviting. The en-suites had bath and shower.
Having been offered tea, we were shown into their private lounge with roaring fire. Claire bought in home made cake and left us to unwind after a very long day, after offering to call the local pub to reserve us a table for dinner.
With over an hour to get ready my husband suggested a warm bath to revive us. The water was piping hot, the bath so comfortable to lie back and relax (and what a treat, so many places only have shower rooms) and the toiletries added a touch of luxury. There were thick towels to dry us off.
Claire had put such lovely personal touches in place. A box of tissues, cotton buds, eye makeup pads in the bathroom, and a tray in the bedroom which had tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle of water and the piece de la resistance - homemade biscuits beautifully presented in a gift bag.
After returning from our meal out we climbed into such a comfortable bed, turned out the lights, and lay listening to the silence without street lights glaring in through the window, and then slept for 10 hours!
Now, often when staying in hotels and b&bs breakfast is served between 8 and 9 but here we had until 10 am before we needed to make an appearance, so we were able to enjoy a cuppa and a biscuit in bed before getting dressed to go down for breakfast, where there was a table laid out with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts, which we enjoyed whilst waiting for our delicious and locally sourced full English.
Sadly, we had only one night here, but the friendliness and comfort means that this will become an annual pilgrimage!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Azizam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booking at the Stags Head Farm B&B was a very last minute decision as we decided to stay away on Exmoor and really treat ourselves.

To cut a long story short - On arrival, our hosts we're simply perfect. Welcoming, smiley and friendly - what more could you want? The lady recommended us to some of the local places to eat close by, AND BOOKED US A TABLE! It's the little things that really do mean the most.

The B&B was exactly to my taste, country cottage decorated lovely and the slate floors.

The room itself was also lovely and I had the bests night sleep in a long time, despite the wind, rain and thunder! (this made our stay even more cosy!)

Breakfast was a plenty and delicious! Great location.

One of the cleanest, cared for places I have ever visited. The efforts put in by the owners really shines through.

And there... That's my review :) Try it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterKelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After an eventful journey...a warm, friendly welcome-home made cake and a great cuppa-everything from the china, home made biscuits, bedding to towels....perfect. One night was however not enough so will definately be coming back very soon. Claire and Ray make you feel part of their family....so i have invited us back for Christmas!!! You will find no better B & B i'm sure. Thanks- Sharon and Jhon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staylucky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate wedding anniversary and what a find!
Hosts were really nice people and our welcome could not have been warmer. Room in attic was tastefully decorated and had a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts offered a good choice and could not be faulted.
Walk to the top of the hill and spend time on the rocking seat. Fantastic view and very relaxing.
Entertaining driving on the A369 with literally hundreds of suicidal pheasants and two close encounters of the Red Deer kind.
A most enjoyable weekend. Thank you Ray and Claire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terence047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A magnificent B&B in a lovely rural idyll in Somerset. Ray and Claire are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble as they go that extra inch to spoil their guests. The recently upgraded/refurbished rooms provide excellent standards of comfort whilst retaining many original features. Recommendations to local hostelries were spot on. The breakfast was perfect! Probably the best B&B in the country!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Claire & Ray genuinely nice people & great hosts..lovely house in a beautiful peaceful setting..lovely breakfast & home made biscuits.even saw two deer in the grounds..will definetly stay here again on our next trip to Exmoor.
(although on A396 it was still very peaceful)
Thank you Claire & Ray for a great stay.




  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveapp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a four days break walking on Exmoor, and Stags Head Farm provided most comfortable base. Conveniently located and beautifully presented with most welcoming and attentive hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and cared for. Our room was spacious and well appointed with good size bathroom. Breakfast was just perfect and wonderfully presented. The highlight of the stay for me was arriving back in the afternoon after a days walking to a fabulous aroma of home baking and being immediately offered a flask of fresh milk for our tea. Our hosts were extremely helpful, informative while anticipating every need. We have returned home completely refreshed, and will not hesitate to visit Stags Head Farm again and to recommend this superb B&B to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
9.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
2.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#4 of 17 in Dulverton
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#13 of 17 in Dulverton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Farm B & B

Property: Stags Head Farm B & B
Address: Stags Head Farm | Chilly Bridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a small, family run B&B in the heart of Exmoor National Park, Somerset. We have recently lovingly refurbished our grade II listed building to create a contemporary, yet cosy, rural retreat set in seven acres of land.All of our bedrooms are en-suite, with powerful showers and baths. All rooms have either kingsize or super-kingsize beds, fresh coffee and homemade cakes. Nearby Dulverton has many wonderful pubs, cafes and restaurants and is less than 10 minutes drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stags Head Farm B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing