We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic break away”
Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulverton
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic break away”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed at the Lion Hotel for a weekend break away with my Girlfriend. Being a vegan I was worried about what I would be able to eat in Somerset, however I was made to feel welcome, even having veggie sausages and soya milk in my cereal in the mornings.

The hotel itself was just what my girlfriend and I wanted for a break away in the country, located in a little town, with walks all around us and some fantastic little gift shops. The hotel room was nice and big, with a good size TV, with digital (although we didn't come away to watch TV) and an on suite bathroom (with a nice big bath!). The bed was very nice and we both slept well.

The staff were great, the food was good (made me a vegan meal). Ate near an open fire! Had a good laugh at the bar with the bar guy and locals. The only thing stressful about this break was the drive back into London on the M4. Highly recommend staying at this hotel, as we both had a great time.

We will be there soon again I hope, with another guest..our dog!
Thanks to the owners of the Hotel Lion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
13
47
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I chose Dulverton and the Lion Hotel for a relaxing weekend break away from the hustle and bustle of London and I was not disapointed. The hotel was very welcoming with friendly staff, good accomodation and great atmosphere. The locals were also very friendly and I enjoyed chatting with them over some fabulous local ales.
Our room was very cosy, clean and comfortable and we got a great night sleep which meant when we woke up in the morning we were ready for a long walk in the stunning scenery in Exmoor national park, which was just what we needed.
I would also like to say that we ate at the hotel both nights and the meals were excellent with great choices and all local produce.
Overall me and my partner both felt completely revitalised from our stay and thorougly enjoyed the whole experience. I would defintely recommend the Lion Hotel for a weekend break or a weeks holiday and we will defintely be heading back there very soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We were checked in for one night at reception by a rather scruffy young man in jeans and a hoodie. He also did a stint at the bar later on in the same attire.

We had a wander round the town which is looking very run down.

The Lion is an old fashioned hotel in need of much updating. The bedroom was a good size with adequate furniture. The voile curtains were grubby. The bathroom was also a good size but shabby.

The bar area has obviously had some updating, new carpets etc. We had some drinks and went to our room to watch TV and go to bed. The TV was a problem. Whatever system they use doesn't work. The screen freezes and breaks up. I asked for assistance three times and on the third occasion we were asked to leave the premises in what I can only describe as an unpleasant and threatening manner.

I am a senior citizen and have stayed in many hotels and pubs - some good some bad. I have never been treated in such a manner. I was apalled. If you are going to this area of Exmoor I recommend you avoid Dulverton and avoid The Lion Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dulverton hotels

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a short break accompanying my husband who was in the area on business. We arrived around 4.30pm and the owner greeted us and got us checked in , she even offered to carry our bags upstairs. Although parking is limited on the street outside, she gave us a permit for the car park across the road which was very useful. The room was very spacious and had a bath which was very welcome after a day out in the cold February Exmoor weather. The bed linen and towels were clean and our towels were changed the next day even though we were only staying 2 nights. Tea/coffee facilities were in the room with local teas in the selection there were plenty of soaps/shampoos in the bathroom. The room was warm and cosy with lovely period furniture. A very comfortable bed, the only gripe I had (very minor) was that there seemed to be an extractor fan running somewhere all night which you could hear in the background at night as it was so quiet though it didnt keep us awake. We ate both evenings in the hotel, the food was excellent, I can heartily recommend the fish and chips but be warned it is huge! the nicest batter I have ever tasted. My husband had steak which he said was very good. Local real ale was on hand at the bar which was a bonus for us. The breakfasts were very good, freshly cooked full english on offer as well as the usual cereals and lighter options. We asked the hotel if we could book an early breakfast on our second day and they accommodated us happily. The hotel is ideally situated right in the heart of this lovely town an I can heartily recommend a stay in this wonderful part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menscryfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

although I have travelled around the west country and Devon a lot, Dulverton, was not a place that I had visited. I stay at the the lion hotel on there 3 for two deal and was very surprised how good value it was and not only that how nice a stay I had. we ate two of the three nights at the lion's restaurant which has lovely wooden tables and had a wonderful meal. the locals in the bar area were friendly and even helped us find where we needed to go. The room we stayed in was light, airy and nice and warm (which was good as the weather was not the best). The owners were very friendly and the staff were very good and welcoming. All together an enjoyable few days away and i would recommend to any one wanting a relaxing weekend away. P.s the steak is a must, from a local farm and extremely tasty.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountryvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

i had a lovely stay at the lion earlier this month with my wife. We stay for 3 night under a offer of 3 for the price of 2, which made the stay very reasonable indeed. eat there two of the night and had first class service by the friendly staff and the food was excellent, the steak in particular. the room weas clean and warm and welcoming and the young man behind the desk even took our bags upstairs for us. our room over looked the town, which is a lovely place on the edge of Exmoor. The building is old and charming but it did look as though the room had been freshly decorated. The breakfast was very nice and a good size which help me get through the long walks on the moors!
altogether a lovely stay which will be done again and for the price it was a remarkable place. two thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Perhaps a victim of the recession this hotel appears run down, in need of a coat of paint here and there, some new carpets and a good clean! Car parking is either on street (opposite - free) or a 1 hour maximum near the shops. The hotel can supply car park permits from the nearby pay car park but didn't have any during our visit. Food is good, breakfast freshly cooked.

Room was disappointing in as much that it was never properly cleaned, a mark on a mirror was there for our entire stay, no loo rolls in room upon arrival, bed not made on one occasion. Bought a bottle of bleach to clean sink overflows and shower tiles. Boiled out kettle with white vinegar as it was caked inside.

Most of staff were amiable but never tried too hard. Reasonably priced due to 3 nights for 2 deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshirePajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
9.7 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
7.5 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
11.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
328 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: 2 Bank Square, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulverton
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing