We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful country retreat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anstey Mills Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anstey Mills Cottages
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful country retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have just got returned from the most wonderful holiday at Anstey Mills Cottage. We stayed in the Thatched cottage which was absolutely beautiful. The location is very scenic with miles of surrounding countryside, naturally lending itself to lots of lovely walks. Plus a trip to Exmoor is a definite must!! The lounge had Sky TV, a DVD player, IPod docking station, games, books in fact everything you could possibly need should the weather be poor. The pretty village of Dulverton is close by if you wish to eat out or visit the local watering hole. However, the kitchen contained all the necessary appliances plus a handy dishwasher, a very welcome addition on a romantic week away!! I would most definitely recommend Anstey Mills Cottages to anyone seeking a quiet country retreat. Cant wait to go back myself!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris B, Owner at Anstey Mills Cottages, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Alice & Rob,
Thank you so much for your kind words and - what can I say - that's what it is all about, having happy customers! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband, myself and our dog stayed for a long weekend at the end of September and we really didn't want to come home. The cottage was so well equipped that all you really need are your clothes and personal items - everything is catered for, for good weather (lovely garden with sitting out area, not to mention the numerous walks on your doorsteps) and bad weather (books for all ages, games, DVDs.)

For us the location was perfect, about 3 miles to Dulverton, which was our area of choice (The Bridge Inn far outshone all other pubs we tried for food and friendliness and the Thai takeaway is not to be missed) However there are so many walks straight from your cottage doorstep that meant the car could have an odd day off.

We were only a couple of 2 in a large 3 bedroom property but it still felt really cosy, even without the log burner lit ! The bed was so comfy and the area so peaceful and tranquil that you cannot fail a good night's sleep.

Were there any bad points - no, none. Only we wished we stayed longer. We visit Exmoor every year with our dog and know that all our visits from now will be based at Anstey Mills Cottages.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tozergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the thatched cottage. We took our 2 dogs with us and they were made most welcome.

The thatched cottage itself is a lovely place. Very tastefully decorated and has its own secluded decking area and garden. The kitchen leads into the living area via a few steps and then there is a large staircase to the bedroom and the outside decking area. Doris has really tried hard to think if everything in this cottage and we had everything that we could need. The cream tea on arrival was lovely - thanks

In terms of location. It's in the middle of no where and the small single track roads all look the same! The village of dulverton is close by and has a few nice places to eat. The cottage is in a very secluded spot. So if you want activities on your doorstep this isn't for you. We wanted peace and a chance to escape the hustle and bustle and for that anstey is second to none! With no mobile phone signal there is no chance of being disturbed!!

A great place to go and relax and if your happy to drive, a great place to explore. We would certainly recommend it and the dogs had a great time playing with Bruce ( resident pooch- v friendly)
A really picture perfect beautiful cottage in a stunning location.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris B, Owner at Anstey Mills Cottages, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Kerry & Dave,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am sure Bruce (our kelpie) is already missing you (and the treats!). I am pleased that you had a couple of exceptionally nice days to make use of the decking, but you discovered as well some of the area. Yes a car is needed !
For those relying on the phone, we do get some signal, i.e. Vodafone & O2) outside the cottages and of cause I welcome visitors to use our home phone for important calls.
But you are so right - sometimes it is just the peace and quiet we need to switch off and have a thorough rest. I hope it will last you a little while!
Best wishes,
Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

How can anyone not enjoy a break at Anstey Mills Cottages? As soon as you arrive, Doris the owner, with a cheerful greeting and enquiry as to how the journey went, meets you. A Devon Cream Tea arrives out of nowhere and the relaxing begins in the most pleasant way possible. On entering the cottage it is immediately apparent as to how clean and well kept the accommodation is. There is every possible item to make the stay a joy. From a fully equipped kitchen, to the most amazing spa bath. All the linen that you could want is available and there are gadgets aplenty from a ceiling fan in the bedroom to Wi-Fi for those that want it. None of which intrude on the charm and original features of the cottage, such as the thatched roof and exposed beams that give it a warm familiar feeling of bygone times.

The cottage is located at the end of a small-unmade private drive that descends the Exmoor hills and makes the experience feel part of the exquisite countryside and away from the bustle of the outside world. There is a bridleway that leads away from the property so there is instant access to the surrounding country on public rights of way. Dogs are very welcome here, we took our two dogs and they had as much of a holiday as we did. Bruce, the resident dog, who shared his toys and played with our two so nicely, made them welcome. He even came on the walks with us.

It is a short drive to the local town of Dulverton for provisions and just about everything is available there. The clotted cream is wonderful. There are numerous public houses and tearooms all across the moor and a car ride or walk can always be interrupted for a good lunch. (The Sportsman at Sandyways is highly recommended, but you may need to book for an evening meal at the weekends)

On returning to Anstey Mills Cottage, there are many places to sit out in the quiet and reflect on the day or read a book, venturing back inside when the sun goes down.

This is a quiet and romantic setting for couples of any age.

A secret hideaway that is a perfect sanctuary from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We've spent a great time at the Cottage (extremely cosy!!) and we are really thankful for Doris' friendliness. In short: sorrounding is family friendly, very nice garden & veranda, cottage with all facilities one could ever need... We would come back at anytime!!
Family Schulz from Northern Germany

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernhschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our whole experience at Anstey Mills was a pleasure. The "long house" was very clean and well stocked in bathroom, kitchen, and laundry. The location is quiet, English countryside, with a remote feeling but close enough to the village of Dulverton. Our hostess, Doris, was very friendly and answered all our questions with courtesy and good advice about what was available...like the fresh eggs we purchased from a nearby farm. Our only regret was that we hadn't planned a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglophile319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay with a family! We stayed here with 4 adults and 2 kids and we all had our own beds and there were enough bathrooms/showers. The kitchen was well stocked, the entire cottage was super clean, and it was in such a great location. It was so nice to fix a meal here and eat at our leisure.

I would highly recommend staying at Anstey Mills Cottages - we definitely will if we go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCTMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
3.9 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#4 of 5 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#4 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.1 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#16 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anstey Mills Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anstey Mills Cottages

Property: Anstey Mills Cottages
Address: East Liscombe Farm | Dulverton, TA22 9RZ, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anstey Mills Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just imagine coming home after a long hike over the moors to a whirlpool bath or a roaring fire." The Devon Longhouse with adjacent barns and court yard has an air of rural France. Situated on the edge of Exmoor, 4 miles from the picturesque town of Dulverton, and within easy access to both coasts. The farmhouse is set within 190 acres of pasture land and is approached via a private single track lane allowing peace and seclusion with lovely views. This is a non-working farm and offers a safe environment for children and pets. Both cottages, featuring ancient beams and exposed stonework, have been thoughtfully converted and are very clean and well equipped. Anstey Mills Thatched Cottage (65 sqm – one galleried bedroom) is a recent addition offering a luxurious whirlpool bath and under floor heating, being detached but near the owner’s 16th century Devon Longhouse. Anstey Mills Cottage (175 sqm – 3 bedrooms), one end of the Longhouse, is a fully self-contained comfortable and spacious holiday home with king size four poster bed and wood burner. Both cottages combined can cater for parties of up to 10/11. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing