We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Tongdam Thai

Tongdam Thai
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tongdam Thai
Ranked #12 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Had lunch here over new year. All the food was fantastic and service good. Reccomended, and will return when next in dulverton.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

I recently visited Dulverton, staying at the Tongdam and I also had both my lunch there and evening meal. The food was wonderful, with a good, reasonably priced lunch menu with a mix of asian and western foods if desired. The evening meal I had was a Thai red curry which was delicious. I was invited to view the kitchen and see the food being efficiently and freshly prepared. The hosts, Robert and Tino are so friendly and nice the whole experience was a joy.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is lovely with a separate sitting room and ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coralhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Food is ok but no where near the quality the prices suggest. The "Special" (Rendang beef) wasn't. The "homemade" desserts stretched the meaning of the word. The mix platter starter did not look like it had been lovingly prepared on the premises. In fact it looked identical to dozens of other Thai restaurant mixed platters.
Staff were poorly trained. No drinks offered on arrival. Way too much of a rush. We had to send 3 different waitrons away when considering the dessert. We had about 30 seconds between each one. Restaurant is very cramped.
So if you are in Dulverton, and want Thai this is the place to go if you are not fussy about the cost. 2 people, mixed starter, 2 mains, rice, noodles, 2 desserts and coffee, 3 beers and a coke. > £80!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Platinum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONGDAM, Owner at Tongdam Thai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Dear Platinum99, We at Tongdam take very seriously all and any comments made about our restaurant. We therefore read with grave concern, your comments relating to a recent visit to our restaurant and would respond as follows :- In your eyes, your visit was obviously not an enjoyable experience for either you or your partner and we of course regret this. What a shame you did not bring your grievancies to our attention at the time and we might have been able to reassure you there and then regarding some of the points you later detailed in your Tripadvisor review. Our Rendang Beef may not have been to your liking, however it has proved exceedingly popular and has remained as a "Special" now for many weeks. It has even received a very definite thumbs up from a Malaysian customer, who ordered a stack of them to take home to his freezer ! This dish is considered an authentic Malaysian / Thai recipe and yours is the first adverse comment ever received. Our mixed platter consists of some of the most popular Thai Starters produced and of course it is very likely therefore, that you will have experienced these recipes at many other Thai restaurants. However, let me assure you that all our Starters are handmade on our premises and we would be happy in inviting you back to the Restaurant to observe them being produced. As for your comment regarding our Desserts, in that you highlight the word "homemade", we would very much like to know what your specific complaint was ? As with our Starters, all our Desserts are carefully reproduced to our exacting recipes and they are all produced by our Chefs, on the premises. The only Dessert not produced by us is the Helsett Farm Ice Cream, which is clearly stated as being supplied and details information relating to this fact in our Menu.
As for your remaining comments concerning our Team, the service and the seating in the Restaurant, we take your words on board. You may have received service from one or two of our most recently employed Team and without knowing which evening you came to the Restaurant, I am unable to make an accurate comment on this area of complaint and also our seating arrangements on that particular night. On the majority of evenings, we feel that the space allocated for each and every table, is acceptable to the vast majority of our customers.

Regarding the cost of your meal, I am not sure what kind of restaurant you tend to frequent, because for the quantity of dishes and drinks ordered, I feel that the amount charged was pretty much standard for our grade of restaurant and we pride ourselves on the generous portions served.

In conclusion we hope we have covered the points raised, clearly and to the letter and would once again welcome the opportunity in taking you into our kitchens, to meet the Chefs and see them at work. Regards, Robert Cave / Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

A great place to stay and to eat. We were recommended Tongdam by a friend and decided to stay there while visiting Exmoor. The food was terrific, the service was friendly and the room was great. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, and we learned a bit about Thailand too. I would thoroughly recommend Tongdam for a meal or a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86unn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Cannot enthuse enough about this little gem. Freindly, attentive service, fab food and very authentic. Lovely ambience especially the vine covered courtyard on a summers evening.
PS. best coffee in dulverton too

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puckeredup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were staying elsewhere in Dulverton, and tried out Tongdam on the basis of reviews and recommendations from others. It was our first experience with a Thai restaurant.

The personal service and concern to find us what was right for a first visit was quite outstanding. The food itself was delightful and just what we we told it would be. The whole experience was so good that we booked again for another evening when we felt more adventurous. Here again we received the kind of service and attention that only occurs very rarely, and the meal, though totally different in character, was just as good.

All in all, a wonderful experience. We will certainly recommend it to everyone we know.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sclasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The place itself is lovely and the owner charming. The problems started with the food. None of the food appeared to be fresh cooked although this was not surprising given the size of the menu. It was not of very high quality and lacked either taste or style. We live in Britain and therefore have low expectations and this could have been forgiven if the size of the bill matched what we received. It didn't. In fact it was so expensive that I couldn't even bring myself to leave a tip for the staff. I feel bad about that - however it's one thing to be ripped off, it's altogether another thing to endorse it

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONGDAM, Owner at Tongdam Thai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Dear Moonraker,
We read your words with concern and I confess some irritation ! What a shame you did not see fit to raise issue with us when you were at Tongdam, instead preferring to complain through this media. All the meals supplied, with the exception of the Helsett Farm Ice Cream, are I can assure you produced on site by our Team of Chefs, with each Main Course produced to our customer's individual requirements . If you had raised this point with us at the time of your visit, we would have been happy to allay your concerns by inviting you into our kitchen to see our Chefs at work and then you would have observed first hand the many individual containers, stacked with freshly prepared ingredients. It is sad that you hold such poor expectations for British restaurants. We believe in supplying a standard that has been consistent through our near 7 years in Dulverton and our regular customer base and generous praise throughout shows that we must be doing something right ! We are saddened that you believed yourself to have been "ripped off" as we strongly believe that we give value for money at Tongdam.
We also consider your ratings for Service and Cleanliness to be inaccurate. We are proud to point out that we have been awarded the highest rating for cleanliness by West Somerset Environmental Health.
If you would like to contact us directly, we would be more than willing to discuss all your points with you on site and invite you to watch a meal of your choice, from our Menu, being produced by our highly skilled Chefs.
Yours sincerely, Robert Cave / Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
0.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
190 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#7 of 17 in Dulverton
175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamcombe Farm
Streamcombe Farm
#5 of 17 in Dulverton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#2 of 5 in Dulverton
12 reviews
3.2 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#10 of 17 in Dulverton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongdam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongdam Thai

Address: 26 High Street, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range: $78 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing