We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW - Amazing stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Little Burston

Little Burston
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Burston
Swing, trampoline and football goal to entertain the Children Swim in the heated pool at the main house from mid May to end of September
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Little Burston
Swing, trampoline and football goal to entertain the Children
Swim in the heated pool at the main house from mid May to end of September
Looking out of the french windows at the patio and your private garden
Twin bedded room
View of the garden with patio, netted trampoline, swing and football net.
Open plan dining area and kitchen.
Ensuite bathroom from twin bedded room.
French windows open onto a paved patio area with table and chairs with the garden beyond.
Open plan kitchen, sitting room & dining area. Comfy sofas, TV, DVD & Freesat box. Internet access.
Large window in master bedroom with king size bed and ensuite bathroom.
Large windows create a very light space with views across the farm and your garden.
Owner (Carol Rous) with Sirius Black at the highest point of the farm. Easy walk from the cottage.
Trout lake stocked with rainbow trout. Bring a rod if you'd like to fish.
Trout lake on the farm. There's a small rowing boat & kayak for guests. Life jackets in the cottage
Use the tennis court at the main house whenever you like.
The Woodburner makes it cozy for winter visits.
Visit in the autumn and winter. Autumn colours on Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rvjpark
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW - Amazing stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The moment we pulled up outside we knew we had chosen an amazing place to stay. The location was perfect for day trips out and the cottage perfect for wet days in! The children loved the use of the pool and trampoline. The space for the children to run around in was great and Carol and Tom were perfect hosts. We appreciated the lovely scones, jam, tea and coffee upon arrival. Would definitely recommend to anyone. The peace and quiet here was outstanding and we will definitely be back. The children were really sad to be leaving. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for being such lovely guests. We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seantaylo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Grand memories...again”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for 3 weeks a couple of years ago and wanted to return. This year 2 weeks in Little Burston. The place remains immaculate with every fixture and fitting of very high quality, immaculate and very clean.
Our 4 boys once again enjoyed the freedom of the vast private area to walk in freely, climb the hills, spot wildlife (we saw red deer, birds of prey, sheep, cows, geese etc.), kick a ball and trampoline in the garden, play with Sirius the owners black Lab and then a leisurely stroll to the private lake to catch a couple of trout and paddle around in the canoe and boat.
What could be better!
Dulverton village, a couple of miles away, has a range of shops and a Co-op for daily provisions, and we used a big Tescos at Tiverton, about 14 miles away. We like to drive to Exeter for the bigger shops, visit the cathedral and wander around. Lively University city.
Our boys also did a bit of pony trekking out onto Exmoor. Reasonably priced and a different experience for them.
There is a heap of pamphlets in the house for the various activities and places of interest in the house. Very useful.
The cream tea available on arrival is very welcome too!
Carol and Simon (owners) are always welcoming and any small issues that arise are dealt with immediately.
We hope to return again and highly recommend Little Burston. Just brilliant, especially if you have kids to keep busy. Wifi is a fallback if it's raining!
Love this place.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you Sean for this lovely review. I do hope we see you and your delightful family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellchris
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter family stay at Little Burston”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family and I (kids 10 and 8) states for 5 nights at Carol's fantastic holiday home. The location is stunning with fantastic views all around. We all loved the garden and kids made good use of the trampoline and football net aswell as the tennis courts.

We arrived early after an overnight drive from Scotland and Carol met us with home made scones and clotted cream for breakfast - a great start!

Inside the house all furnishings were of a high standard with everything you could need in the house and plenty of room for the four of us.

Location wise excellent with the nearby town of Dulverton have a couple of excellent restaurants and a local food store. We cycled regularly with most of the routes we researched with 30 min drive

Overall we had a fantastic week in Little Burston and the sunny April weather just added to our enjoyment.

We would definitely look to stay again - thanks again for your hospitality Carol!

Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m1k5adi
1 review
“More than you could ever wish for!”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Situated in a calm peaceful location, close to the Devon/Somerset border, Little Burston is a superb and highly-equipped, offering all you could desire in a holiday cottage.
Our Hosts, Carol and Simon were always on-hand and their cheery welcoming charm certainly added to the quality of our stay.

We certainly enjoyed our break at Little Burston and hope it will be the first of many.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Thank you Michael for this lovely review. It was so nice meeting you and Margaret. I hope you'll come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyH1895
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible, quiet and beauitful”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a few nights break in August 2016 and it was incredible! We arrived after driving up the private driveway by which you end up overlooking the beautiful cottage and my wife and I literally said out loud "Wow!" it was stunning. The cottage was left open for us and we began to unpack then met Carol who was very friendly and told us about all the things we could do and the closest shop. As a family we used the pool which was lovely and warm, rowed in the lake (life jackets are provided if you want them) in the rowing boat and kayak, went for some lovely walks and also visited Woolacombe beach one day which is also beautiful. On my walks I also met Carol's husband who was happy to show me the pool and where the floats etc. were for the children, the lake and other places. Both Carol and her husband made us feel comfortable using anything we wanted. I'd definitely recommend a walk up to 'Whitestone' at night to view the stars, the pool is perfect even if the weather isn't because it's heated, I taught my 3 year old son to swim with a float in this pool too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool, lake, relaxed environment
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusby2014
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Fabulous Wow”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Like the previous review on approaching the property, we immediately said 'WOW'. The outdoor space is amazing and very safe, especially for 6 year olds and above. We were greeted by Carol and Sirius (The Black Labrador) who the kids fell in love with straight away. The private garden is fantastic with your very own trampoline, football goal and swing. Also the lovely owners Carol and Simon were happy for us to explore the 100+ acres of land that the property sits on. We even had a go at fishing on the private pond, however fly fishing was even more difficult than I thought. The inside of the property was equally amazing. Very spacious and comfortable. Carol and Simon have just about thought of everything. Oh and not to forget swimming in the heated pool, which we did virtually every day, oh and then there is the tennis court. There is so much to do. We will be booking again very soon. Thanks Carol and Simon for a truly wonderful stay. I would highly recommend this gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paloma72
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

When we first approach the cottage, we went "wow!"... and the interior was just as wonderful. Both the garden and property were much bigger than expected and the location so peaceful and safe that we instantly relaxed with our small children. They especially loved the trampoline and playing football, while we relaxed on the terrace in the sun.
Carol was really welcoming and the lots of information on what to do in the area is available in the cottage.
The property was really lovely (clean, spacious, super comfortable beds) and there was everything we could wish for in the property.
We had a fabulous week with a mixture of days at the beach, children activities and visits of charming towns and villages. Dulverton itself which is only 5 minutes away is really lovely and has great pubs and restaurants. 7
We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Lovely family. So glad you had a great time. There's so much to do in the area especially if you love nature and the outdoors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing