We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle of Comfort Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Comfort Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Castle of Comfort for 2 nights, 5 star is an under estimate, Double room was large and contained all the items associated with a 5 star Hotel.
Food was exceptional and our host couldn't do enough for us.from the time we arrived to the time we left. A well stocked bar ( the local cider is brilliant ) we cannot recommend this hotel enough and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is close to the A39 all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricard056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
100
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

First impressions count and we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and made to feel as though we were visiting old friends in their home, rather than arriving at a hotel. Our room didn't disappoint - a lovely garden view, spotlessly clean, a great bathroom (and well lit - well done!), a comfy bed and sherry thrown in. We chose to eat in the hotel (the only alternatives being a drive away) and were quickly salivating at what looked a superb menu. Unfortunately the food, whilst ok, didn't live up to our expectations - the veg was just that: veg - plain carrots, plain beans ....no seasonings, no knob of butter. The fish again whilst very pleasant could have benefited from something to zuzz it up a little ....a crispy skin, a grind of salt or pepper even. ,,,the scallop starter too was a little bland. There was nothing obviously wrong, but got the feeling that there was nothing fabulously special. Breakfast however was a much better affair, with gorgeous bacon, and a super fresh fruit salad amongst the offerings to set us on our way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Castle of Comfort for a wedding up the road. From the time we arrived we felt at home. The gardens are lovely and rooms are wonderful and it is run by Carol and her team brilliantly.
Nothing is to much trouble.
All the food we ate there was some of the best I have had, including the cream tea and the breakfast.
I would re-visit if I was in the area again, do stay here you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took notice of the multitude of positive reviews and certainly were not disappointed. This Country House is superb. Warmest of welcomes in a most beautiful setting.

First morning, in their grounds, we came face to face with a full grown deer. Magic moment.

Our room was comfy, spotlessly clean and well appointed.

We had dinner and it was excellent and very reasonable.

I cannot over emphasise the welcome and the friendly and helpful team here.

Anyone considering a stay look no further, you will not be disappointed. Its 5*+ and that's an understatement.

We will be staying here again and next time be taking our grown family as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are travelling along the A39 near Nether Stowey, you may well see The Castle of Comfort - if you do, take a tip, Stop and check out the great restaurant and extremely comfortable accomodation.If you only have time for a cream tea - it is well worth the visit.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome, and from that moment onwards, we felt that everything was being done to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Really friendly staff, great food in the restaurant comfortable lounge and spacious, well equipped bedrooms, including such touches as a decanter of sherry - most welcoming after a day of walking over the Quantock Hills- situated close by.
Thanks especially to Carol for making our time at the Castle of Comfort so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here over night on Rose's Birthday and it was wonderfull. The room we stayed in was a four poster the bed was so comfortable and the room clean and inviting as was the bathroom with thick white dressing gowns.Carol and her staff looked afer us in the dinning room and the food was great. Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order porridge to die for and the full english first class.
This is a wonderfull hotel and well worth a visit, well done Carol Nigel and staff.

Room Tip: They are all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Returning from our trip to Cornwall, we decided to pull off the M5 at Bridgewater to look for an overnight stay before continuing on to Manchester. A quick look on tripadvisor and this hotel jumped out at us. We 'phoned to check availibility and spoke to Carol who confirmed a vacancy and gave directions to the door. As soon as we arrived, she was at the door to welcome us and help with our luggage. She showed us to room 7 and we were amazed at its size, its decor, and the fantastic bathroom. We have never seen rooms so well equipped for guests. A decanter of sherry, peanuts, biscuits, sweets, a large variety of teas and coffees, shoe shine set, bath robes (and bath sheets instead of those pretend, small, bath towels), radio/alarm, large flat screen TV (with sub title facility for people like me who don't like turning the volume up too loud so as not to disturb fellow guests), tea pot, cafetiere, I could go on! Dinner & service was great, orders being taken in the lounge/bar well equipped with high quality games and puzzles to while away wet afternoons, and the cooking was of a high quality. Breakfast was the same, cooked to order. The staff were warm and friendly and very informative about places around.We could have stayed on for another few days, such was our enjoyment, but sadly this was the last night of our holiday so reluctantly we had to leave. Well done Carol, Nigel and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the gardens are probably quieter than on the front which faces the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodington
14.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Comfort Country House

Property: Castle of Comfort Country House
Address: Dodington TA5 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Dodington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dodington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Comfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castle of Comfort Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing