We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food in Town”
Review of Junior Poon

Junior Poon
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Clevedon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: Chinese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are a privately owned restaurant operating since 1992. Junior Poon never been about stars, glitz or gimmicks. It's about the simple old fashion traditional qualities that really matters most to their guests - serving well cooked exquisite classic food with care and attention. It is a venue for people who appreciate fine food, good old fashion friendly service in a stylish yet informal and comfortable elegant surrounding at an affordable price.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Town”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We are regular visitors to Junior Poon. The restaurant offers superb quality food with an excellent varied menu to suit all tastes, including English dishes on request. The wine bar is a fantastic place to just pop in and have a drink, along with the complementary nuts & olives :-), in a lovely cellar type environment. If you are feeling a bit more peckish, they also offer a lovely snack menu selection. Ideal for a mid week snack with friends, or a Friday night wind down for the weekend. A must place to visit in Clevedon for excellent food and service. Well done Junior and your staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your 5-Star review. As a regular, you would appreciate how hard we all in Junior Poon work towards giving our best our customers deserve. We all also appreciate the compliments and appreciation we receive in return from customers like yourself motivating us to work harder to provide more than our customers expect. Thank you again and we look forward to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    77
    46
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese food ever”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were visiting friends so decided to try this Chinese , we have both eaten hear about 7 years ago, so on entering it was very busy for a Thursday night so we thought this was a good sign, until we entered the bar area downstairs for a drink due to being too early ? (10 mins ) it needs a major refurb and nuts and olives left on the bar is not a good sign.
Well the service was very poor we waited about 20 mins for a menu, 30 mins for a drink and when the food did arrive it smelt very nice , but unfortunately it didn't taste that good ( I think a lot of it was microwaved) the only positive thing I can say about Junior Poon is that it was a very cheap meal, but you only get what you pay for in life

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
It's very disheartening to receive a negative review from our customer when we have worked very hard to provide the best all our customers deserve. After reading your review, I had a meeting with all my staff who were on duty that evening; none of us recall any 'unhappy' customer on that evening. My staff are all trained to report back to myself or the duty head waiter if they detect any concern with any of our customers. We always check with all our customers in the middle of their meal to make sure everything is okay. My advice is, do not put up with a bad meal or bad service (if that was the case); always bring it to the manager/proprietor's attention straight away. Any good operator will see to it straight away and can be easily rectified there and then.

I am pleased that you found the aroma of our food pleasant but I am puzzled why you thought that our food might have been 'microwaved'? We certainly do not and our food is always freshly prepared and cook per order. Perhaps you are used to food that are heavily seasoned with msg (mono-sodium glutamate) . Our chefs aim to bring out the true fresh flavour of all the dishes they create and never rely on artificial flavouring.

Service is paramount to us in Junior Poon. Half an hour wait for a drink is unacceptable in any restaurant. We have five service staff that evening looking after 12 tables. Perhaps it was a 10 minutes delay due to the rush seems longer which I can only now apologise.

As you have arrived earlier, it was only a courtesy to offer you the choice to go down to our wine bar as most of our customers chose to come earlier to have a pre-dinner drink in our wine bar first before proceeding to their table. In our wine bar, we offer complimentary peanuts and olives to our customers when drinks are ordered. We are probably the only bar in the country that offer complimentary peanuts & olives to our customers except in some hotels where you are 'paying' it through the cost of the drinks. Usually the customers take the peanuts and olives with them to their table. But on this occasion, the customers have just left them behind as you were arriving at the bar.

I am pleased you have found us affordable but definitely not 'cheap' as you were implying. We believe in offering choice to all our customers; they can spend as little or as much as they would like. Our Lunch Special Offer Menu starts from £5.95, and our House Set Menu ranges from £18 to £28.00 per person. We have a wide selection of wine on our list ranges from £14.90 to £430 per bottle. We believe in offering quality and more importantly choices to all our customers.

We have been serving Clevedon and the surrounding areas for nearly 22 years and my staff and I are passionate in what we do. I still go in everyday apart from the odd days when I am away with my family. We are proud to have customers travelling from all over to dine with us and we still work very hard every single day to better and to maintain the level of the service we provide. Having acquired lots of 5 Stars reviews it is evident how hard we work towards achieving excellence in providing care and attention to our customers. Having said that, we will not take it for granted and be complacent in our service. Everyday is a new day for us.

Lastly, my humble advice is, if things are not acceptable to you, always let the manager/proprietor know of your dissatisfaction straight away and it can always be rectified easily. After all, you are there for a good time; why spoil it by walking away unhappy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. The staff are welcoming and friendly, cannot fault the food :) will be back again for sure :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments! Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your evening with us. We always try harder to do better and we enjoy what we do which do makes it a lot easier. Appreciation from people like your good self is one of the key motivator that keeps us improving ourselves for our customers. Thank you again and look forward to your next visit. We always try harder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Julie & Mike”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been going to Junior Poon for a number of years using the restaurant, wine bar and take-a-way. We have always been made to feel so welcome by the staff and junior and have always had an excellent meal. As we have been so pleased with the food and service we have introduced our children and grandchildren and they now enjoy the experience, even the children that live away are happy when we treat them to Juniors, wishing they had something that may even slightly touch the food but they are not so fortunate to have this. We hope to carry on having the restaurant for many years to come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliehandy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us with a 5-Star commendation. It was always a pleasure to serve you both and your family. We always take great pride in giving more than our customers expect. I take this opportunity to thank you for your loyal support throughout all these years. I promised, health permits, I will carry on serving Clevedon for many many more years to come till I qualify as 'Senior Poon' coming in with a Zimmer frame if needs be! Thank you again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Night”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Visited Junior Poons restaurant with 3 business associates from China.
The staff at the restaurant made every one feel welcome and the owner Mr Poon helped make the night extra special.
Great food and wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janetI186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your 5-Star review. We are pleased to hear that you all had enjoyed the evening. It was our pleasure to ensure your Chinese business associates from China were made to feel welcome. We hope your meeting was successful and fruitful. Thank you again. Hope to see you soon in our restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junior Poon also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Junior Poon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing