We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very scary, lumpy beds, didn't use the facilities, dreadful!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavell House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 8 Clevedon B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very scary, lumpy beds, didn't use the facilities, dreadful!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked a room over 2 months ago as we were attending my brothers wedding. A month before we were due to stay I received a phone call to ask where we were, they had us booked in on the wrong date, not only did I find it strange that they had the dates wrong but the call was made at midnight!!
On arrival the place looked very grim from the outside, my parents dropped us off and moved onto their hotel, an elderly woman opened the door and allowed us in after eyeing us up & down, it was very unnerving.
When we checked in there was some confusion about which room they wanted us to stay in, it appeared that the room we were meant to have had been given to other guests.
At first the room appeared to be ok, however we soon discovered that it was rather shabby and in need of an update, The towels were almost threadbare.
When we returned from our wedding party we discovered that someone had been into the room and placed an electric fan in the shower cubical (very strange!!) I'm not sure why it was still on.
We didn't sleep very well due to the lumpy bed and the pillows were awful. We really couldn't wait to get out of there and left to go for breakfast at one of the local cafe's.
I would not recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavell-House, Guest Relations Manager at Cavell House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
firstly thank you for your review, as we appreciate feedback whether negative or positive,

We apologise for any late phone calls, although we don't stay up later than 10.30 unless a Visitor has let us know, he or she will be late.

The rooms are comfortable and clean with fresh towels and a strict policy on beds and their quality, when booking a room out we only service the room in the morning and never enter in any other period, giving our Visitors there privacy.

If there was a fan in the shower room, we apologise, as this is not the guest house policy and is a very strange occurrence.

Again we thank you for your review

Kindest regards


David Hamnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
11
17
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Appears to be run (using the term loosely) by a mother, father and son, a rather unfriendly and slightly unnerving welcome awaited us at the lovely Cavell house from the elderly female owner who eyed us with suspicion before allowing us to enter after we informed her we had a booking. We were booked in and relieved of our money (£98 for 2 nights) by the son (very strange) who then showed us to our room. At first glance it seemed fine although very tired, we dropped our bags and headed back out, on leaving the room we discovered that the latch keep was only just attached to the jamb, not ideal. We met with friends to help them set up for their wedding reception the following day at the castle and returned back around 11pm, we headed to our room where we hoped to get a good nights sleep, alas this was not to be, in the room (we had booked a double en-suite) was a double bed, a single bunk bed and a standard single bed, being a couple we planned to sleep in the double, but soon discovered that it was extremely lumpy and we were unable to sleep, after a fitful few hours we'd had enough and moved into the single beds. where we managed to snatch a few hours, awaking in the early morning tired and stiff I rang around to find alternative accomodation, we then went downstairs and advised them (not wanting to hurt their feelings) that we wouldn't require the room for the second night as we would be staying with friends that night, the son it seems had overslept and the elderly mother hollered for him to come down and see to us, stating to me "you'll just have to wait, won't you". he arrived, hair in all directions and advised that this was a difficult situation as they now didn't have a replacement booking for the room that night, but said he would give us a partial refund of £25 which we agreed was fine, he went off to get the money, but when he returned he said that having spoken to 'George' (who apparently used to run the B&B), he had decided that actually we could only have the refund if we returned the next day and the room had been let. I said we had already agreed and pointed out that what 'George' said was irrelevant as he had not been party to the original agreement, reluctantly he issued the refund muttering that next time he would make the right decision before flipping into a cheery "have a lovely time at the wedding tonight" without a hint of sarcasm. It was a very strange place run by very strange people and it's not even cheap so I am afraid that it has no redeeming features although we didn't find the room to be terribly dirty like some of the reviews say. I would strongly recommend that you don't stay here!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a decent nights sleep in Clevedon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birchie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavell-House, Manager at Cavell House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We apologise for your unsatisfied stay, our weekends are continually in demand and booking in advance reduces our ability to hire rooms out when people leave at short notice,  please accept our apologies for any confusion in your refund, I'd like to say that we are continually upgrading beds, de-core and facilities and hope you will be pleased with the results if you ever visit again, we appreciate your comments and are always thankful for your thoughts.

regards

David Hamnett

Cavell House
1 Elton Road
Clevedon
North Somerset
BS21 7RA
01275 874477
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clevedon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
Taggart House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Walton-in-Gordano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavell House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavell House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Cavell House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 1 Elton Road, Clevedon BS21 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clevedon
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cavell House Bed And Breakfast Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing