We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality Italian cuisine”
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Clevedon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Top quality Italian cuisine”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great position on the front, this Italian definitely worth a visit. Excellent service, interesting menu (with very good fish choices) and food of very high quality, taste and presentation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuffinDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    27
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portishead
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star studded”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided not to review Il Giardino. If we did pen our thoughts about the many splendid aspects of this star studded restaurant droves of discerning diners would flock from far afield and we'd never be able to book a table. So, we're saying nothing -- just going again tomorrow.
Jonnor and Family

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonnor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I visited here last night after a recommendation by our taxi driver. We weren't sure we'd be able to get a table on a Saturday night having not booked but although it was busy we were immediately greeted by very a welcoming waiter who told us we'd be OK to dine in about 45 mins. This was no problem for us, we were shown to a table in the conservatory area and able to order drinks while we waited in comfort.

It was even less of a wait than expected before we were told our table was ready so we made our way in to the dining area and were hugely impressed by the choices on the menu and the specials.

The food was superb. Unbelievably tasty and cooked to perfection. I had the mixed seafood starter and fillets of brill for mains which I highly recommend. My friends had monkfish and halibut and were equally impressed (plus we all tried each other's so I can vouch for how good those meals were too!).

All the staff were fantastic, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A huge thanks to them and the chef for making this such a memorable evening. This meal and restaurant is going to be the standard by which we measure any future places against - they've set the bar VERY high! We will definitely be back if/when in Clevedon again in future.

Helpful?
Thank JakeCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“our fav place for eating out with family and friends”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

have been coming to il giardino for years and really love the food and ambience we are always welcomed like family and its always a great pleasure to see the owners and staff best to book in advance as always busy spec at wends a great choice of food and wines to enjoy always look forward to our visits and booked again for end nov brian and jan duggan

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Seafront restaurant for a special night out”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been aware of this restaurant for many years and have eventually managed a Friday evening visit. Surprisingly full in spite of the prices. We were greeted immediately on our arrival which was nice and we enjoyed our G & T's sitting in the conservatory, with a sea view, while we perused the menu. Very good choice of food, largely fish but with other options. When our table was ready we were invited into inner dining area. Excellent service but those prices! Perhaps justifiable for the food as I know fresh fish is expensive. But £20 or £25 for a bottle of Italian red was excessive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing