We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like something out of Agatha Christie - character hotel with slightly faded Victorian grandure and stunning views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We needed a bed for the night in the area - chose Walton Park Hotel for location and price, rather than any expectations of quality. What we found was a little gem of a character hotel, full of original features that include a vintage lift dating from the turn of the 20th Century -complete with wood panelling, brass switches, and a bench seat for the weary traveller to sit on while making the leisurely trip between floors.

Rooms are huge, beds comfortable, bathrooms modern - and the sea views are absolutely stunning. There's an overall air of slightly faded genteel grandeur - the decorations and furnishings are a bit shabby, and one gets the feeling that this would make the perfect setting for an Agatha Christie film...... If sharp and stylish modern co-ordinated decor is your thing then you'll probably hate it, but if you don't object to creaking floorboards and like your hotels to come with a bit of character and personality then, like us, you'll love it.

We had supper in the bar - my husband and our (young adult) kids had home made beefburgers in a toasted bun with hand cut chunky chips, while I had macaroni cheese with mushrooms, garlic bread, and a big bowl of salad. Then hubby and I had passion fruit creme brulee..... all very tasty. The bill for that, including four bar drinks and three coffees in the lounge afterwards, was £56. There's a more expensive restaurant on offer as well, which would have cost about £20 a head for three courses. We left too early for breakfast, so can't comment on the price/quality of that. We paid £44 for each double room, which included tea/coffee making facilities.

Would love to go back again for a long weekend to explore Clevedon, especially the Victorian pier.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Walton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

My company booked me into this hotel for a week. It probably didn't help that I had a bad week at work, but returning to a tiny attic room in this creaky old relic really didn't help.
What also didn't help was discovering my colleague had been booked into a huge room with a four poster bed and sea view... despite checking in after me, and paying the same rate. Apparently the clerk advised my colleague to not mention this upgrade to me.
The building itself is just very old fashioned and while some might enjoy the charm of it, I just found the loose floorboards in my room, the pathetic dribble of randomly freezing cold/searing hot water from the shower, and the 100 year old manual lift (with bench!) just tedious.
The breakfast was reasonable, but I didn't eat dinner at the hotel at all so I can't comment on that. The staff were friendly enough (although expect to wait a good ten minutes if you arrive back very late and have to attract the attention of the night porter to unlock the carpark and front doors).
What really topped it off for me was the maid walking into my room at 9am without knocking or shouting "room service!". While I have nothing to be ashamed of, you may want to avoid staying here if being caught naked by random strangers isn't your thing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js70062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

After visiting this Hotel 3/4 years ago, I was dissapointed to find that there had been no apparent upgrading.The outside appearance being somewhat shabby,with the paintwork peeling badly.Our room was clean and comfy,but the hallways and landings were in need of decorating and recarpeting.Breakfast on the whole was adequate,but the food served up for dinner was poor.Staff were pleasantand did agood job in the circumstances.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taddyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltonparkhotel, General Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to add your comments on the Walton Park Hotel.

We always appreciate feedback, both positive and negative to help improve standards of service and to ensure a more comfortable stay on your return.

Please be assured that all the points raised have been noted and passed to the relevant department for action where necessary.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Walton Park Hotel on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely
Patricia McCarthy
General Manager
Walton Park Hotel, Clevedon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

For half the price of sitting in a box hotel on the M4, I drove a few miles to this hotel and enjoyed spectacular views across the water.
This hotel has a long history, so don't expect it to be completely perfect, but I mainly went for the views.
With a number of tough business meetings planned, this was a haven that was only 15 minutes drive from Bristol.
Including a two course meal with wine, this was still the best value hotel to stay in and more importantly, the most relaxing.
Service was good, staff were friendly and my room was large, well equippped, comfortable and everything worked.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was the second time we had stayed here and nothing had changed. The hotel has a faded look once you leave reception and could do with a make over to bring it into the 21st Century.
We were on the second floor in a reasonable room overlooking the Bristol Channel. Had booked with dinner but this was a mistake as the food was of a really poor standard and below what we would expect for the price.
Every step up to the 2nd Floor creaked, every floorboard on the 2nd floor likewise. so people coming and going in the wee small hours sounded like a herd of elephants.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, although the coffee was appalling.
I suppose the owners know of the condition and keep the pricing reasonable but there was no excuse for the poor dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Great cooked breakfast, good selection and friendly service.
Room was huge and well worth the money (advance purchase) with sea view as requested. Alot better than some 4* hotels We have stayed in in London.
Accommodating to all requests especially when ~15 of the family members turned up unexpectedly for tea and coffee!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a bit tired looking in places, but our room had just been refurbished and was very clean and tidy, and very spacious. In fact the refurbishment must have been very recent, because if anything, there was a bit of a smell of paint. But it was a small price to pay for a lovely room. The bathroom was immaculate.
We had dinner there on the Friday night, and it was fine. The choice was a bit limited, but the quality and quantity were fine, and the staff were very friendly.
Breakfast was more than adequate. Plenty of choice and everything was hot.
As we got back to the Hotel on Saturday night, there was a disco going on, but we couldn't hear anything from our room.
Finally, the staff were very helpful with our request for a room near the lift.
All in all, we were quite happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
1.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
209 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
634 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
24.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
Best Western Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing