We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Wedding”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend for a wedding. The view from the room over the sea was lovely despite it being the brown Bristol Channel.
The room was clean, neat and a very good size. The beds were comfortable and the staff seemed very helpful.

The furniture in the hallway outside the Bridal room was a bit offputting so the photos of her leaving the room were taken further along the corridor.

We had a meal in the bar and it was a good price and tasted lovely. The chips were the highlight amongst our group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the opportunity to dine in our lounge bar and enjoyed the superb views out over the estuary from both your guest room and the public areas.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    424
    224
    79
    38
See reviews for
200
527
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you want a contemporary Hotel then this is not for you. However if you are after a Victorian Hotel which is clean full of character and in a great location this is a must. The bathroom was well decorated and spotlessly clean the sheets on the bed were crisp and the bedroom furniture although a little battered suited the Victorian Hotel. Did not try the curtains as the view was too good to shut out. The WiFi is also free.

We had a great breakfast and all the staff were very pleasant and without hesitation would recommend and would stay again.

Thank you to Tripadvisor and their reviews which made us go there first.

Room Tip: Room 206 with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were all delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Many guests comment on the stunning views that can be had from our guest rooms and public areas and we feel this only adds to the hotels grandeur and traditional elegance.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel for your recent stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week of peace and quiet, and found it. The hotel is in a lovely spot about 10 minutes walk from the pier, be aware the walk back to the hotel is quite steep. The room was on the lower ground floor, it was lovely with a fantastic view over the Bristol Channel and spectacular sunsets. The bathrooms facilities were lovely, the bed huge and comfortable. The staff were most helpful and courteous. The breakfast was lovely, hot and plentiful with a good choice, bar food was very good, the bar could do with an update as it is quite dated. The floor boards and stairs squeak, but if I was 150 years old I'd squeak. All in all had a great stay and are planning to return, would love the same room again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witzend48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were all delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your week long stay with us and found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our staff pride themselves on their customer service and it is always good to read when this has helped make our guests stay even more enjoyable.

It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us for breakfast and also from our popular bar menu and enjoyed your experience. Many guests comment on the magnificent views out across the estuary that can be seen from the hotels public rooms, guest rooms and grounds.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Why not visit our website and sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates, offers and information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

While visiting family in the local area my partner and I stayed here overnight in mid May. After an initial mix-up with rooms at reception (we had requested a twin room and were given a double), the situation was quickly resolved. In fact the twin room was more spacious than the double. We were a little disappointed not to have one of the rooms overlooking the estuary but we were told that the hotel was full due to a wedding. The room itself was clean and tidy with good storage. The beds were firm but comfortable. The only issue was with the temperature in the room. It was a warm day and the heating was on. It was too hot for us but we were unable to adjust the temperature of the radiator. We spoke to reception about it and they told us the temperature was fixed and they would have to ask an engineer to adjust it while we were out. This wasn't a problem for us as we would be out for the rest of the day and in the meantime we left the window open. However, when we got back around 10.30pm it hadn't been turned down and in fact felt even hotter than before. As we'd had a long day and just wanted to have a quick bite to eat and rest we didn't take the issue up with them again and instead chose to leave the window open all night. This wasn't ideal as our room overlooked the main road and it was a bit noisy. I would also agree with some of the other comments about the floorboards creaking and the shower not being overly powerful but you do have to take into account that this is a very old building with a lot of character and charm. On the plus side the breakfast the following morning was well-cooked and tasty and the bar staff very kindly made us sandwiches after 10pm. If we could have resolved the issue with the heating we wouldn't have had cause to complain. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet021065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel full of character and charm. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us for breakfast and found this well cooked and tasty.

Thank you for bringing the room temperature control to our attention, following your comments to the hotel the issue has now been investigated and rectified, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding nearby. We were given a huge twin room overlooking the sea which was lovely. The double rooms were extremely small in comparison. The hotel staff were all English and very friendly and accommodating. The shower was pathetic - just a trickle of water, and the hairdryer was also useless, so pack your own ladies!

The hotel itself is very dated, but for a cheap night away in a peaceful and picturesque location this is perfect. We had a lovely stay, I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and if you don't mind not sharing a bed, ask for a twin room as they are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemimapuddleduck612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were glad to read that you found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a period property with many traditional and original features and rooms and we offer constant attention and refurbishment to all areas, to remain in keeping with the grandeur and history of the building.

I have passed on your comments to all that helped make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The reception staff went to the Basil Fawlty School of Hospitality! It was so bad, it was funny! Our room was in the basement - next to the stores/services room! The room itself was clean and of a decent size - the shower was pathetic! We had to run round to get wet! Our friends were in a room which had THE mist revolting smell exuding from it! This was reported to the reception staff but not taken seriously. Furniture was stacked up on the landing outside the room - huge risk ( occupational health and safety issue)! Our breakfast was average - my kippers were clearly from the freezer, microwaved and very dry.
On the up side - there were 15 of us for dinner. We were offered a private room with our own staff and bar. It worked really well for our situation and we were grateful for the arrangement.
I'd certainly avoid staying there again.
Pets are allowed and it was a bit disconcerting to find two dogs fighting in the foyer on my arrival!

Room Tip: Avoid the basement. We asked for sea-views, but the view was occluded by shrubs and trees! Ask for 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that the private dining room and dedicated staff were both well received by your party.

I was however very surprised to read that you found the customer service offered by the reception staff fell short of your expectations. As you can read from the many previous reviews the reception team is highly regarded as one of the hotels positive assets, they pride themselves on the level of customer service they provide it is a very rare occasion when we receive anything but positive and thankful comments regarding our team, I can only apologise if this was not the case during your visit.

I would just like to take this opportunity to point out that the hotel does not offer any rooms ‘in the basement’. The hotel boasts a split-level design with the main entrance being situated on the first floor, with easy access from our main car park and the floor below is actually the ground floor. The ground floor rooms offer the same magnificent views as all other sea view rooms and on a clear sunny day the views are stunning.

I would like to assure you that your comments regarding the shower, any distracting odour and the stacked furniture have all been investigated and rectified as a matter of urgency. I would also like to take this opportunity to say that the hotel is pet friendly and on this occasion it was very unfortunate that you experienced the two dogs in question, we ask all pet owners to ensure their pets are kept under control and on a leash at all times whilst inside the hotel and around the grounds. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences encountered during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At any Latona Leisure Group hotel we endeavor to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to operations@latonaleisuregroup.com and we will follow this up with the Hotel Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Walton Park for two nights 18/19 May 2013 on DBB basis--stayed in 504 sea view room-very nice ,large and all conveniences very satisfactory.Excellent dining room -try and get a sea view table- staff very pleasant and obliging. Food quality good- maybe puddings could be a bit tastier.In total a very enjoyable tsay and we will be back again in 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Many guests agree that the views from the hotel are stunning, especially on a clear day.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
614 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
651 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walton Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
Best Western Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing