We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at his quaint old hotel passing through to Devon. A spacious room and comfortable bed with a stunning sea view . The creaking floor boards and banging radiators was a bit distracting though, as was the disco that goes on until 12.30 as the hotel caters for parties and weddings etc. (Luckily Later with Jool's Holland was on the TV so not to bothered as that goes on till late ) We had a bar meal in the evening, the steak and ale pie, which was homemade, (not a prepared frozen type you would normally get ) very good with loads of good quality steak and delicious ale gravy, a very generous portion. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Didn't do breakfast. With all it's faults it wouldn't put us off from staying again sometime in the future

Room Tip: ask for a room not above he dance floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our traditional hotel. Many guests comment on the hotel’s period features and stunning views. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and thoroughly enjoyed your meal and found our staff friendly and welcoming. The majority of our bedrooms are completely unaffected by any noise from functions or other events held at the hotel, please accept my apologies for any disturbance that may have affected your stay and I would like to assure you that this is not normally the case.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife & I took her mother to an auction locally and we just picked this hotel from the web as it looked ok, given the wheelchair access we required. Spent two days there and we loved it; sure some would say it is a bit "tired" but the staff were so friendly and helpful, the meals lovely and the facilities more than good enough. What with those matters and the stunning views over the Severn estuary from the bars/dining rooms, we had a lovely time and will return in the future. I loved the old fashioned lift.

Excellent overall.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side/ends have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel accommodating and the staff friendly and helpful. It was also good read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and enjoyed your experience and the views out over the water.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a great weekend with lovely sunshine which made the sea view from my window look brilliant. The staff were very helpful and extremely welcoming and friendly. The only down fall for me was that I found it quite hard to sleep as the floor boards in the hall way were very creaky. Luckly the weekend I went in april wasnt that busy but I can imagine it being worse during the busy times. Two weddings took places in the space of a weekend so expect to see a few wedding parties. Fortunatly, I didnt hear anything from them the whole weekend.

Overall a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Holly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in our traditional hotel with its many period features. I was also glad to read that you found our staff very friendly and welcoming and that you had the opportunity to experience our views in the sunshine.

Should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be only too pleased to organise this on your behalf.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was bit dubious when we first drove up but was pleasantly surprised. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and reasonably well decorated. The breakfast was very good and the staff were keen and attentive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel very pleasing and the staff friendly and attentive.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at The Walton Park Hotel and the event was enhanced by a fabulous wedding breakfast there.

On arrival, we were all made very welcome by the friendly, obliging staff. I was helping a lady in a wheelchair and the premises were very "user friendly" for anyone with disability.

The reception rooms were well presented and the dining room a real picture.

The food was excellent - all guests were served quickly and courteously by the waiting staff who were very attentive throughout the meal.

A truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel and wedding facilities excellent and a truly wonderful experience.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a lovely, if somewhat dated hotel, that gives it all of it's charm. Situated right on the outskirts of Clevedon over looking the sea. sea view rooms would b very nice. having used tesco vouchers we were given a tiny room on the top floor over looking the road. it was small to say the least since you pay quite a lot in voucher fees for your room. There were 2 weddings on that weekend but we were not disturbed by them at all.Breakfast was quite good all hot and refreshed regularly with freshly cooked food it had not been out for hours on end in the trays 10/10 for the hot food. only 20 odd minutes frombristol and western suparmare made it an enjoyable trip

Room Tip: ask for a sea view,, avoid the top floor facing the road, ours very small with a sloping roof that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgang_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed breakfast. I would just like to assure you that we would never allocate a room depending on the type of booking or indeed the channel through which the booking was made. All rooms are allocated depending on the capacity of the hotel at the time of booking and also we take in to consideration guests not attending a function and always allocate those guests a room which will have little or no noise disturbance, as was the case when allocating your room.

I do hope you will return and should you ever require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly prior to or following the making of a booking and we will ensure you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can either look at this hotel as dated or with old world charm - you will enjoy it more if you go with later.

We stayed overnight for family wedding and got a very good deal on line for a family room which included breakfast. The room was specious and had recently been referbished - fresh clean linen and duvets and lovely fluffy towels. It looked to be a new carpet as well.

The function room we were in was very warm but with magnificent views over the channel and a glorious sunset. Outside of a large function I imagine this to be an old fashioned lounge with the Major and MissTibbs taking aftenoon tea. The sevice was attentive and polite at the function - if the food was a little bland.

The breakfast in the morning was top rate a large selection and piping hot food - quickly replenished. The staff were ploite and attentive which made a friendly atmosphere in the morning.

We only live in Bristol so doubt we would stay here on any other occassion - but for location and VFM I would recomend this to anyone visiting Clevedon for a short break

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeniorFrankFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found our traditional hotel in keeping with its grandeur and period presentation. I was also glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast and found the staff attentive and polite.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe for a day visit and afternoon tea overlooking the estuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
24.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
7.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range: $64 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
Best Western Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing