We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK ..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked this hotel for a couple of friends and myself to stay one night whilst attending another event in Clevedon. Situated on the cliff edge overlooking the sea has lovely views and the garden would be pleasant in summer. The car park is to the side down a slope with quite tight spaces. The welcome is friendly and courteous, although the receptionist did stand eating chocolates with another guest without offering them around. I didn't want one but the thought would have been nice..!! The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment. The corridors smell of stale food/cooking. Cleaning is not the hotel's strongest point. A used room service tray was left on the landing for many hours. The dust levels on the fittings would create serious problems for allergy sufferers. The lift was strange with old metal doors from another age.
My room had a pleasant sea view but with windows that rattled all night with the wind howling. Why does any hotel insist on bowls of pot pouri everywhere? It is a dust collector and adds no benefit to the room. ugh.!! My bed was comfy with clean smelling sheets and loads of pillows.
The bathrooms were dated without an effective shower - mine was a clip on one from the main taps which was not ideal when you are tall and had little jet power. The tiles were grubby with splashes from the last user. The wash basin, taps and plug had grime build up around them. The toilet bowl was old and badly stained. Both bathrooms had poor ventilation and one smelt particularly unpleasant. My friend described it as a dead rat odour ...!
Evening meal was ok although we should have taken our friends advice and gone out. Wine is expensive so only had water. The dining room service was polite and friendly. Breakfast was good with a nice fresh selection of hot food, cereals, fruit, juice etc. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Walton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for the constructive comments which have all been noted and I assure you will be acted upon, we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast evening meal and the service in the Restaurant. I confirm that the gardens do look extremely pleasant in the summer, we look forward to your return when we will be delighted to offer you some chocolate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Located on Walton Cliff to north west of town. The car park was inadequate and one night I found it easier to park in Castle Road. My mother and I stayed in adjacent rooms on the top floor. My mother was using a wheelchair. It was difficult to use the lift as it only operated if someone closed the outer door. I had to go down to the basement twice to get the lift to our floor. The lift was not level with the floor and I found it difficult to lift the wheelchair into the lift. I also found it difficult to push the wheelchair through the heavily sprung fire doors. Our two end rooms were pleasant with excellent views of the Bristol Channel and Welsh Coast. There was also a view of the pier from one bathroom window. The staff delivered some sandwhiches and drinks to our room. There was a similar view from the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalWessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have spent three nights here, and yes the property is very old, and must take a lot of maintenance, but the rooms are large clean and provide all the usual requirements and more, the breakfast is excellent, and the staff are lovely and very helpful. The position of the hotel, it has some superb views, from bedrooms to lounge, dining room and bar.
Really is good value and worth a stay. as good area to visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 407 and 409, both excellent views and comfy, some squeaking of floorboards but then i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzytish013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were given a room on the top floor in the eves. The bathroom was dated, the room was clean enough but it had a window opening out with a top hinge and no lock on that my 4.5 yr old could have easily climbed out (its a sheer drop into the sea below). We asked to move rooms but were told they were full so we moved out immediately and went and stayed in a different hotel. The hotel generally is tatty, tired and in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Tired and outdated. Go careful of the top hinged fully opening windows on the top floor with young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green-Fingers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We attended a very enjoyable family wedding at the WPH for around 60 people. The staff were excellent, and the organisation well put together. However, the hotel is let down by the very tired and in parts very outdated (and in places scruffy) decor. The food while servicable, sadly in today's climate was really only satisfactory, although the service for the wedding lunch was excellent and well co-ordinated. Our room had wonderful views accross the channel and an excellent/comfortable bed. Thus, overall this is a hotel that is trying very hard to do well in a building that lets them down a bit and with a kitchen that might raise its game; that said they did a really good job organising the wedding party and I would certainly would say if you want a low-key but frendly family wedding party then this would be a good local choice.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a wedding, you will not want to be above or below the disco area as the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzzy-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stay In Best Western hotels all over the uk, however a return visit to the Walton park hotel has left me feeling this hotel is past it's best and is very very tired,the bar food was not very appetising, fish and chips was not the best I have had, will look for alternative accommodation in the future.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The annual get together of a group of ex army pals and we were not disappointed,.We were all very happy with our choice of venue. Hotel decoration is a bit tired but this is more than made up for by the welcoming and friendly attitude of the staff. The food was very good and plentiful and we found our rooms very comfortable.
.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
212 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
24.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
9.2 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
Best Western Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing