We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed two nights while attending a nearby wedding.

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous.

The room (410) was very big and had a beautiful sea view. It was very clean.

Only slight downside was that there was a strong smell of cooking oil in the room. Perhaps it was above the kitchens or near an extractor fan. As we were not in the room the majority of the time, it really didn't matter.

We would definitely go back to the Walton Park if the chance arose.

Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Sarah and John Dempsey.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Walton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the Walton Park Hotel for the Easter weekend. I had been looking for somewhere affordable but not bargain basement where we could have a long weekend away with our two dogs, and our friends came along with their two dogs too! Hotels that allow you to take your dog are fairly few and far between and there are often restrictions of only one dog (so how do you choose which to leave at home to starve?!!).

I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised that our room wasn't at all sub-standard as we had dogs with us - indeed the room looked recently decorated. The reception staff and those we came across in the restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel phoned me a few days before our arrival to enquire whether we would require evening meals in their restaurant while we were there as they had other functions on some of the days and wanted to ensure we would be catered for too. The buffet breakfasts were very extensive and excellent quality, as was the evening meal we had there on Easter Sunday. We all loved the Edwardian decor and fell of the place too - even the old lift with the concertina door! We half expected Agatha Christie to step out at any time! The views across the water to Wales from the hotel and gardens were magnificent.

We all felt very much that the staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. When I asked for a fan for our room, it was no trouble and was delivered there very promptly.

We would be more than happy to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and accomodating, our room for 2 nights was large with a great view from the very large window, bathroom was clean but a little tired. Hotel had wifi which was a bonus. We had 2 meals in the bar and were disappointed that the fish dish was only a piece of fish with lemon wedge, no other food on plate, chips or salad were at extra cost, we found this quite strange! Great walks from the hotel along a path following the coast.
Rosanna and Peter
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This hotel is just so welcoming really fantastic staff beautiful surrondings with food out of this world .WE have visited several times and aready have booked for New Year 2012 . Please book you will never regret it you will soon want to return Paradise on earth

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We planned a 60th wedding anniversary party for my parents in December 2010 which was snowed off at the last minute. The hotel was so kind and understanding and allowed us to reschedule for April at no extra cost. We had a great lunch for 50 people (including wheelchair users, boisterous children and toddlers!) and the service, throughout our stay, was outstanding. I could not recommend the Walton Park Hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witheridge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband and I fell in love with this hotel last year whilst looking for a wedding venue. We instantly felt comfortable and the staff were so professional and friendly. They went above and beyond to ensure we had the wedding of our dreams. The hotel was clean and the food very delicious. Our family and friends were impressed with our choice.
We have recommended this hotel to so many people and have returned for our anniversary. Once again we have recieved a fantastic break. We plan to bring the whole family for New year's eve. This hotel has something special that others in the area cannot match and that is genuine warmth and hospitality.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room for an extra special stay.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymariefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights and must have been given the smallest room which was up in the attic! with the only window an opening Velux in the roof. It was a very hot and airless room and to make matters worse there were two weddings being held during our stay which meant that as we needed to have the window open we heard every single noise until about 3am. The restuarant was full on our first night so we opted to have a bar snack, which was a big mistake- over priced & over cooked food!! but on the plus side the breakfast was very good. I agree with other reviewers that it needed some updating but our room was clean and tidy although the bed was a quite hard.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clevedon
1.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
208 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
632 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
24.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
Best Western Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing