We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Called in for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon & Sixpence

Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Clevedon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Called in for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely pub, nice and friendly with nice seating area outside. Had lunch here, beef sandwich and was very nice and good value. Did not have a full meal but the food other people were eating looked great with good sized portions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spookggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    95
    59
    24
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor quality of both service and food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose to eat here as a family birthday celebration, there were five children in the party but the 18 month old was not eating. The plan was to eat and go because the children were at school the following day. Our food was ordered at 7.15p.m. At just before the few starters arrived. The main courses arrived at 8.45p.m. As notified we had expected a delay of 25 minutes not 90 minutes! The duck meal on special and the mezze were reasonable but the cauliflower cheese was nowhere near the usual standard, small bowls had been used and I am sure the sauce was a packet mix topped off with grated cheese. Upon complaint the cauliflower cheese was whisked away and quickly returned having been transferred to bigger bowls but the actual quantity and quality little changed.

This was a special family occasion ruined by poor management and staffing. It would appear from other reviews that others have said much the same. It is a pity the management have not bothered to act upon them. A bitter disappointment and a place which will not see me again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElseG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great cider, alright food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Another place with great views overlooking the sea. The service was ok if not a little "too much" but it's essentially pub grub and to be fair was quite good pub grub if not a little expensive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Livers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived about ten minutes before they stopped serving food on a Sunday evening and we had a 4 yr old with us. There was a sign saying there would be at least a 45 minute wait for food but we decided to chance it. The food arrived within 25 minutes and was well presented and well coked. It was good value for money too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view of the sunset over the pier was splendid and topped our visit off nicely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Under staffed and chaotic.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had dinner here with friends before a weekend away. They were very understaffed, several jobs being advertised on door as we entered. The service was obviously very slow, ordering took forever, the food took forever and was average at best and the poor waitress was rushed of her feet. Perhaps when they are fully staffed things may improve.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plymbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon & Sixpence also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing