We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gurney Manor Mill
Nearby Hotels
Apple Tree Hotel(Keenthorne)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel(Bridgwater)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Admirals Table(Bridgwater)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Walnut Tree Hotel(North Petherton)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelocity
View Deal
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
126
13
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millspacious bathroomlovely placeposter bedlonger staytucked awayother guestsslept soundlymain buildingbreakfast was deliciouscannot speak highly enoughlovely gardena great nights sleepshort walk to the villagehome from homewarm welcomedouble room
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 141 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our visit was as a result my in-laws giving us a 'Unique Places to Stay' voucher for Christmas and of all the places listed in the right area, Gurney Mill appealed to us the most.
The garden was charming with large stream running through the garden.
Landlady was welcoming.
Room was excellent mixture of old world character and modern facilities.
We were in room next to musicians gallery over the banqueting hall (no exaggeration) used for breakfast.
Minor grumbles were: Curtains were a little too thin to sleep on a bright summer morning. You have to pick a 15 minute slot to have your cooked breakfast.
En-suite bathroom was large and well equipped.
Vegetarian sausage was available on our stay and it was the best I have tasted. Rest of breakfast was excellent too.
Reasonably convenient for steam train rides on West Somerset Railway at Bishops Lydeard (allow about 35-40 minutes.)

Would definitely book there again if in that area of the country.

Room Tip: If you get there early, you get your pick. Each room is different.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Large and well appointed room, for the price, with a spacious bathroom. Very nice and quiet location, with several pubs within walking distance. The breakfast room is stupendous !

Travel directions sent with booking are very useful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our second visit to Gurney Mill as we couldn't believe how good it was the first time. Our first visit was as a result of our daughters giving us a 'Unique Places to Stay' voucher for Christmas and of all the places listed Gurney Mill appealed to us the most. We stayed for an extra night and so enjoyed our visit that we vowed to return.
Other reports adequately describe how nice the rooms are, how helpful and friendly Pauline and Bill are, the delight in breakfasting in such grand surroundings, and just how perfect the breakfasts are.
We were due to visit my mother in Cornwall and decided to leave a day earlier just so we could stop at Gurney Mill and break our journey. On this occasion the weather was blissful and we were able to take full advantage of the lovely gardens, relaxing in the gazebo overlooking the mill-pool during the afternoon. My mother is now moving from Cornwall and so we will be having to find other reasons to visit as we surely will!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Victorian room on both occasions with a lovely four poster bed but have no reason to believe that they are all not as good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We'd selected this B&B from a number available on a voucher. It an excellent choice and we plan to return for a longer stay. We stayed in the self-catering annex, which is available as an extra bedroom when the main house is full. It was just as beautiful and full of character as the mill, and with our own private seating area surrounded by roses outside. The shower was an experience in itself - complete with a seat, various jets, coloured lighting and a radio. There are plenty of things to see and do in the surrounding area, and the Friendly Spirit is a pleasant little pub just 10 minutes walk away along a footpath through fields. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts were pleasant and attentive - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hogwart214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights last weekend. Wonderful experience, hosts were brilliant. Breakfast was served in their banqueting room, choice was good including a freshly cooked full English breakfast. We would give this a 10+ and would recommend it. Could not find fault with anything. A good base and easy to get to more well known towns etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews