We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackmore Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackmore Farm
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Recently returned to Blackmore Farm after several previous visits. I travel regularly and stay all over the country, but I can honestly say this venue is amongst the very best there is. Food, out of this world, accommodation of the highest possible standard, excellent hosts in Ann & Ian, and a beautiful area in which to stay. Blackmore Farm will truly take some beating!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoliverCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
18
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

We recently celebrated our wedding here and would thoroughly recommend it.The family were able to stay in the self catering accommodation and the B and B. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and unlike many wedding reception venues Ann and Ian ,the owners, allow you the freedom to organise the wedding and make it personal to you . The house is stunning and the views from the garden beautiful. The huge fire and candles added atmosphere and warmth on a less than summery July evening. The food is all home cooked and plentiful ,it felt more like having our wedding party in the home of friends rather than a faceless corporate image hotel. Perfect in every way and extremely good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc55Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed one night and had two rooms booked (see pictures).

The family running the B&B were very friendly and the manor house is stunning.

For a B&B the price is okay because of the scenery and Building but breakfast was only okay and the rooms a little chilly, but that's due to the age of the building.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

I stayed here with my fiance for 3 nights, hoping to get some peace and quiet and use the property as a base for exploring the area.

We arrived at 11.30pm on a Thursday and this was no bother, I called Ann and let er know and she opened the front door for us and showed us to our room. We stayed in the west bedroom, a huge first floor room with a 4 poster bed and en suite plus a high beamed ceiling. The whole room was stunning, there was a very comfy bed, a chest, wardrobe and chest of drawers. In the bedroom was a sink with good lighting - perfect for a shave or for applying make up. There were also 2 chairs and bedside tables. The bathroom had a bath with shower attatchment.

Everything was more than catered for, there was an alarm clock, heater and torch should we need them, toiletries including hand lotion, magazines about the local area, mineral water, cordial, herbal, fruit and normal tea, biscuits, bathrobes etc etc etc.

The breakfast was also excellent with a choice of full english, croissants, fresh fruit, homemade bread and jam, cereal and yoghurts. There is a farm shop on the premises so any extra food needed can be picked up here too.

Meals are not provided but a pub called the malt shovel about 500 yards down the road has an excellent menu and we made ourselves at home there each evening.

The only downsides to the property were an ill fitting door (still locked and functioned correctly though), low head height through to the bathroom and slightly awkward parking when busy. Didnt use the tv as it seemed inappropriate in such a beautiful location.

I would recommend this to anyone who wanted a quiet getaway. You are miles from the shops and out of the window are just fields and passing cows!

  • Liked — That they had thought of everything
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillyfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaffreyNH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

My husband and I along with his Mum stayed back in March 07. I am an American, she's British and my husband a bit of both. We were visiting family in Cannington and could not have stayed at a more charming and beautiful spot. Opted for breakfast one morning and were delighted by the traditional English fryup in a rennaisance hall.

We are innkeepers ourselves and were very pleased by the hospitality of our hosts, the amenities along with the comfort and size of our accomodations. I was delighted by a morning ritual exploration into the farm area to view how many calves had been born during the night. Our only disappointment was that the store was not opened yet.

If we're back in Somerset we'll definately return to Blackmore Farm.

  • Liked — architecture and surrounding beauty and the newborn cows each day
  • Disliked — cannot think of a thing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannington
1.4 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.5 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#2 of 31 in Bridgwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackmore Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackmore Farm

Property: Blackmore Farm
Address: Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2NE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackmore Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blackmore Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing