We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle of Comfort Country House restaurant

Castle of Comfort Country House restaurant
Ranked #15 of 115 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $78 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small Country House restaurant serving locally sourced home-prepared Dinners from 7.00pm (last orders 8.30) from Monday thru until Saturdays. Reservations only please.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Beautiful surroundings and food was tasty and cooked exactly to our individual likes. The pancakes were light and the contrast of sweet toffee sauce and the slight sharpness of the apple made it a perfect sweet. It was lovely to finish off the meal with a coffee and a chat in the lounge in comfy chairs finished off a wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We called into Castle of Comfort on impulse on our way to Minehead for a cream tea.
We received a very friendly greeting by one of the owners & shown into the comfy lounge where she explained the selection of cakes that were on offer as an alternative to the cream tea
A choice of teas were available & the homemade scones came with 3 different types of homemade jam
The tea was very nicely served in a relaxed & comfortably environment
The toilet facilities were immaculate
We were so impressed we asked to see the dinner menu for a future visit
We were told that they have a lovely garden where people can enjoy afternoon tea
We will definitely return & would highly recommend the Castle of Comfort for friendliness, cleanliness & a very enjoyable afternoon tea

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia1CheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was a spontaneous stop on looking for a quiet cream tea.

The tea, scones, clotted cream and selection of three jams were very enjoyable.

The place is going through the final stages of a refurbishment ready for the coming season. Despite this the atmosphere was quiet and dignified. The restaurant looked very pleasant and will be tried on another occasion as the menu looked enticing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Appleman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well cooked and presented meal. Restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. A nice place to spend an evening with friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good local produce.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I like the local lamb. A good wine list. A good choice of bottled lagers. Good staff.

Candles on the table would be nice.

No dislikes!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle of Comfort Country House restaurant also viewed

Bridgwater, Somerset
 
Spaxton, Bridgwater
 

Been to Castle of Comfort Country House restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing