We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #23 of 118 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,308 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had to stop locally to pick up some furniture. Had lunch here. Looks comfortingly ordinary from the outside and predictable but well kept inside. Just what the doctor ordered. Friendly, welcoming, hospitable. Average but sufficient selection of well kept ales. We'll presented and what seemed to be fresh good pub food. Pleasant garden out the back. Fair prices. Taken individually all these things would rank slightly over average scores but when they all come together and just when you need them they make for a high score. Doubt I will ever be back in this village bit if you are passing through I recommend this pub.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Proper job!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

These days pubs need to try hard to build a reputation as a restaurant as well as a traditional country pub. It's a difficult balance being an excellent local as well as a draw for visitors across and beyond the Somerset Levels. The White Hart is a gold standard achiever.

Specifically, good ales and lagers and a wide selection of spirits (with Penderyn Welsh whiskey too!).The food is good, honest, delicious and locally sourced, even down to the wild boar I suspect! The fish 'n chips deserves the accolades from other reviewers: light, crispy batter cuddling a stompingly good and thick cod loin! The Sunday lunch is worth going for too and good value I'm told by patrons. t's on my list!

The bar and restaurant are nicely separated. Both enjoy a good ambience? The staff are great. They clearly enjoy working at The White Hart, and it shows in the way they interact with one another and with local patrons and visitors from further afield. Live music is offered at weekends and there's even a pub coach trip! A warm welcome for all.

Well done all, and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2twigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper village pub :)”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have eaten here many of times beautiful food never had a problem.. Locals and staff very friendly and polite would defiantly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizzy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous all round”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have just spent a couple of weeks in Burtle, and as the two local pubs were closed, we ventured out trying to find a traditional pub with a warm friendly atmosphere and the White Hart fit the bill perfectly. We enjoyed a number of meals in the pub during our stay and have to say that Nicky did a brilliant job in the kitchen. The restaurant area was separate to the main bar which was nice. Food was plentiful and home cooked where possible. Highly recommend the Quiche and Steaks. The bonus was 'real' chips, simply delicious and a nice touch. Simon also was very welcoming and as northerners we didn't have a lot of knowledge of the area but he spent time to recommend places to visit including Taunton and Wells, both fantastic days out. All in all would definitely recommend the White Hart as a must visit to anyone staying in the area. Thanks for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnieM0use75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

first i'd like to point out that any review written by someone who is barred from this place is not to be trusted, sour grapes on their part im affraid!!! ive been going to the "hart" for many years and i must say apart from when it was a curry house which was very different, nicky and simon have got their food spot on, i've never had a bad meal and its always very generous portions. very welcoming people who are always on hand if needed for a good chat and a fantastic range barside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing