We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious Sunday”

The Crown Inn at Catcott
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A traditional family run welcoming freehold country inn, over 400 years old and still retaining much of the charm and features of a typical old british pub, locally sourced homecooked menu, specials board, local fully matured steaks and grills and a very popular Sunday lunchtime and evening carvery and new midweek Wednesday Evening Carvery Families are welcome with junior menu options, highchairs available upon request, well behaved dogs welcome (fireside tables only) Great selection of cask ales, lagers and ciders, cosy open log fire for the winter months and large beer garden for the summer. New Wagon Wheel restaurant and function room (refurbished October 16) ideal for larger groups and private parties, buffets, weddings catered for.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scrumptious Sunday”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A warm welcome was ours in this homely English pub. Log fire burning, quick service and food that tasted just as good as home fayre. Local meats of turkey, beef and pork were generously served hot, succulent and very tasty, accompanied by a hearty choice of veg including one of our favourite dauphinois potatoes.
We will be coming back for more from this freindly, family run establishment.
Don't forget to try the 'Pheasant Plucker' Somerset cider, be careful how you get your tongue around that one!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank enid f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
yes the pheasant plucker is very good !!! see you again soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    63
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Street, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The quintessential English pub”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I doubt that many pubs can truly state that they are for local drinkers and fine diners alike, but here The Crown Inn at Catcott excels at catering for both categerories. Out of personal interest I did a review of other folk eating at the pub tonight, most of whom I knew casually and asked honestly how their meals were. Not one bad word was spoken, simply admiration for the delicious food on their plates, we ourselves had devoured a pile of scrumptious spare ribs and a fish dish. Both were hugely generous and sublimely tasty; the log fire was so welcoming as were the greetings from all the staff, waitresses, landlord and landlady.....plus from their son Mike who now presides over the kitchen as a chef to be watched in the future under his mothers tutelage. After dining we sat at the bar and chatted with other locals catching up with important village chit chat! So, what more can one ask from a relaxing evening at a local pub? nothing more I suspect so I know where we will continue visiting for our weekly treat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Cathy
Glad you had a good evening, see you soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely - log fire, warm welcome, good beer, tasty food - who could ask for more?!
We will definitely be back for another visit very soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lush food in homely surroundings”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have eaten here on many occasions and have never been disappointed. There are always some interesting specials as well as a wide menu of traditional favourites served by a friendly staff in comfortable surroundings. The roaring log fire is a welcome sight on chilly days and the Sunday carvery is especially good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
thank you - see you soon

Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Couldn't ask for a better local”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We moved to the area about a year back and were so pleased to discover we had a gem of a pub as a local. Excellent food, genuinely friendly family running things, unpretentious attitude and a solid range of well kept beers. Sunday carvery has my inlaws insisting we go every time they visit. The quality of the meat (and parsnips!) always gets a mention. This is how pubs are meant to be!

Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
thanks Nick, always good to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn at Catcott also viewed

Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to The Crown Inn at Catcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing