We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better local”

The Crown Inn at Catcott
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A traditional family run welcoming freehold country inn, over 400 years old and still retaining much of the charm and features of a typical old british pub, locally sourced homecooked menu, specials board, local fully matured steaks and grills and a very popular Sunday lunchtime and evening carvery and new midweek Wednesday Evening Carvery Families are welcome with junior menu options, highchairs available upon request, well behaved dogs welcome (fireside tables only) Great selection of cask ales, lagers and ciders, cosy open log fire for the winter months and large beer garden for the summer. New Wagon Wheel restaurant and function room (refurbished October 16) ideal for larger groups and private parties, buffets, weddings catered for.
1 review
“Couldn't ask for a better local”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We moved to the area about a year back and were so pleased to discover we had a gem of a pub as a local. Excellent food, genuinely friendly family running things, unpretentious attitude and a solid range of well kept beers. Sunday carvery has my inlaws insisting we go every time they visit. The quality of the meat (and parsnips!) always gets a mention. This is how pubs are meant to be!

Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
thanks Nick, always good to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    68
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday carvery”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate at The Crown on sunday the food was good and plenty of it but it was barely warm. The desserts were ok but again were Not hot it was quite dissapointing because after the reviews in tripadvisor we thought it would of been better. Not a disaster but Not brilliant, wouldnt rush to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevew497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our carvery as much as we would like and we take all critisim very seriously, again we had a very busy week this week and I checked with a number of our regular diners as to whether their carvery was hot and up to the usual standard the previous week, and everyone said it was piping hot with hot plates and as good as usual, I personally had a dinner at the end and mine was very hot, however mistakes can happen and I am sorry that it wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been, I wish you had spoken about this to me at the time so I could have been aware of any problem and therefore able to recitify it asap,

I sincerely hope that you will come back and see us again, and if there is a problem with your carvery then let me know straight away and you certainly won't be charged for it

hope to see you soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming pub”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

went to the crown for a sunday carvery excellent selection and massive yorkshires.good atmosphere and friendly pub staff all very helpful we went with two young children and the staff help them with their carvery meal will go again daz and caz nathan and justin

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daz40_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
see you again soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“friendly staff, food ok”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the area Friday evening, not knowing much about where to eat, the area seems very limited, we used trip advisor to do a local search and this pub was top of the list. The staff were very friendly, as helpful as they could be. The food was 1fine, , came out in reasonable time, it was hot but nothing special, more pub grub rather than country pub food

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1899Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments, most people love our menu, I'm sorry that you found it a little limited, I feel we have a good range of country fayre, offering fish, game and local produce, glad you liked the atmosphere and service and what you ordered, if you choose to visit again perhaps you could let me know what you would like and we will do our best to offer somthing you would really like
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
“Great food - never a bad meal!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been to the Crown about 4 or 5 times now both for their Sunday carvery and also from their main menu and I could never fault the food or service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thanks for your review, always good to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn at Catcott also viewed

Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to The Crown Inn at Catcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing