We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious, efficient and friendly - and good food!”

Green Olive Meze Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 118 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Green Olive Meze Restaurant offers you the freshest food in town! Authentic Turkish and Greek food, friendly service and great atmosphere...
Dartmoor
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, efficient and friendly – and good food!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After a dire experience in a Little Chef on our journey up, on the way back we were determined to do better, so consulted the TripAdvisor App for somewhere close to the M5 and ended up here.

The Green Olive was welcoming from the moment we walked in and our waitress was pleasant and interested and happy to give advice on what to eat. As first-time visitors, we opted for two plates of meze to sample a range of things - one meat one veggie - and very good they were too. Excellent value and the service was fast.

On paying, the owner started chatting to us and offered a complimentary apple liqueur. Charming man with interesting (and very fair) view on other hotels and restaurants in the area and places he, and we, had visited.

All in all it was a very pleasant meal and a great example of how to do things well in an unpretentious, efficient and friendly way. And the whole things only cost only £1 more than the dreaded Little Chef . We will definitely visit again, with more time on our hands and explore the menu further... Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DartmoorDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    106
    25
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. A good ambiance in the restaurant The Turkish food was good and very well presented. Good to have some extras like olives and bread.
We all enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thatmanandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly and great service”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely mezze and great kebabs for main. Accommodated our 8 month old easily and with happiness - really enjoyable experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJG190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lacked atmosphere”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here on valentines night and have to say that there was no atmosphere at all. Everyone was near enough sat in silence and it felt very odd.

The food was good but I'm not sure if I'd ever go here for a special occasion again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Confirmation of our 1st opinion”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Service was excellent. Food was far exceeding expectations (again). This time we went with a larger party and each tried various dishes without a single complaint. Normally for differing tastes and nationalities this shows........not here. Well Done, from entering to leaving we were very very contented. I have now eaten here with a 4 year old up to a 83 year old and they never complained about the food or atmosphere etc. Tip; take a few toys for both age ranges as they all love it. The rest just savour the food (deserts are predictable but then they are just a finisher)
I can only think that that those who give a more 'downward view' expect a 5* capital city venue in a semi rural location and price range.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank world_is_your_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Olive Meze Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Green Olive Meze Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing