We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is brilliant and has the very best food and rooms and staff and prices and its warm and welcoming and I will come bac”
Review of The Bower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bower Inn
Ranked #1 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place is brilliant and has the very best food and rooms and staff and prices and its warm and welcoming and I will come bac”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

just said it above but it is warm and cosy and welcoming with the most amazing old furniture in the rooms like it was designed for some rich pop star from the past. the food is incredible. the staff are lovely. it's just a real gem of a place. a find in the countryside. Well worth staying here. I can't wait to come again and I haven't even left yet.Jen.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglejenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a stunning review - thank you so much. Feed back like this makes it all worthwhile. Hope you can stay again soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    73
    11
    15
    11
See reviews for
98
141
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A good pub atmosphere ...busy , busy everyone happy and having an enjoyable time. Friendly efficient staff. A very good traditional Sunday lunch. A choice of meats cooked to perfection and plenty of vegetables.
Will be back here for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmanandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch - one of our busiest after the carnival - hope to see you again when you're in the area. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Not enough superlatives to describe the Bower Inn, my wife and I have (literally) just returned from a two night stay and have to say we cannot fault the room or the restaurant in any way. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food choice and wine choice were excellent! The waiters and waitresses were attentive and the food was served swiftly and piping hot. At breakfast we had a choice of cooked food and cereals but nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

If only the Bower Inn was more local to us we would be regulars!

Well done to all!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Wow, what a great review - thank you for taking time out to write it. Hoping to see you both again soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first visit and yet it felt som familiar and welcoming.

We had visited on a Sat afternoon for lunch and everyone we encountered were friendly and attentive especially the leading lady.

Food was perfect and of a good standard, even more so as it is locally sourced and freshly cooked to order.

This place is well worth a visit and a great place to stop and relax, for sure we will be back soon.

Also nice touch that the staff are genuinely interested in looking after the younger guests and also made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Positive feed back is always appreciated. Really hope you can get to visit us another time. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was recommended to try The Bower Inn when I couldn't get into the no1 ranked hotel in Bridgewater and I was lucky to get the last room. The location was ideal for my visit to Bridgewater but initial impressions of a building located on a back lane between a modern housing estate and the M5 were deceptive.
My room was simply but tastefully furnished and decorated. The en suite had a shower and was bright and well appointed. Everything in the room was clean and crisp. The rest of the hotel was similarly welcoming.
The staff team was friendly and helpful. Nick earns full marks for energy and attentiveness.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the review and really pleased it was such a success. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were booked in by family as we had a birthday bash nearby
The bar/lounge was very comfortable ,Butcombe bitter excellent
Nothing was too much trouble for staff and management
Superb cooked breakfast
Great room
Very pleasant short stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisunlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Our location is a bit misleading when viewed on a map. The reality is an easily accessible location, (M5 4 mins) with a unique country feel. Really glad you found us and enjoyed the visit. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here twice on our way to and back from holiday. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished, the bed very comfortable and the gardens were lovely. Breakfast was fine and the staff polite, friendly, and anxious to please. We were not aware that any of the people we saw were the owners so it had the somewhat impersonal feel of a larger hotel. Dinner on day one was good but on our return visit I was extremely disappointed by my steak which arrived lukewarm as were the tomatoes and mushrooms. The chips were hot ( and very tasty).The waiter was apologetic and suggested that I ate it and he would not charge me. I said I would prefer a steak that was hot. By the time the replacement arrived my husband had finished his meal and I had lost my appetite. The restaurant was very busy as it was a Friday evening but there should be sufficient staff on to cope with that. It was therefore a disappointing end to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at The Bower Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So sorry your return visit was less of a success. I'd like to say that things never go wrong here, but that wouldn't be true. Candy and I try to meet all our guests, but it's not always possible unfortunately, so apologies if we missed you. Hoping you might one day give us another chance. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
6.1 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
178 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
4.1 mi away
Huntstile Organic Farm
Huntstile Organic Farm
#1 of 1 in Goathurst
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bower Inn

Property: The Bower Inn
Address: Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bower Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18thc country inn with a warm and relaxed feel. We have delicious food, comfy bedrooms and luxury bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bower Inn Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing