We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in central Bridgwater”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #27 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Darlington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little gem in central Bridgwater”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for one night only but found that the old vicarage was comfortable, clean and perfectly located. Friendly staff and excellent evening meal and breakfast. Parking is limited to 6 to 7 spaces but can be booked at the time of booking which was an extra £7.50. My room was clean and comfortable. This is an old building and so creaky floorboards and outside noise did interrupt my sleep. However I would rather stay in a hotel with character and avoid the common hotel brands. I will stay at the old vicarage when next in Bridgwater.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    32
    28
    21
See reviews for
23
82
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Old Vicarage from the 28th september for two nights. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 4, which was ideal for us due to individual access, however the noise level from the above floor began at 5am. (We acknowledge that this is an old building and that this is a minor gripe.)
The location of the hotel is fantastic for the town centre, however parking was very tight due to the hotel entrance (again due to the age of the building, a minor problem)
Breakfast was delicious, hot and plentiful. Customer service was very good and staff were attentive and helpful.
Would we stay again? Probably not. Double rooms average at £75 per night + optional parking at £7.50 reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2004ajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Husband & I spent our Anniversary in the four poster room,it was absolutely stunning,the pictures do not do it justice.Everything was perfect we couldn't fault it. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurent the chef has the magic touch,plus a complimentary glass of bubbly(thanks again)nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff,they made you feel very welcome with their friendliness.The Breakfast was as good as the evening meal.Lastly there is a lovely private courtyard garden for guests I would imagine sitting out on a summer evening would be a joy,we will return for that next year,although we will go before anyway. Thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: Best room is the four poster not just for the interior,as you also have a perfect view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchDumplingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in double room. I can not fault anything about our stay. The room was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was fantastic. People have complained about the car park and uneven floors, well this is a 700 year old building with a lot of history and character so if you want boring flat floors and multi storey carparks then stay at a Premier Inn! I definitely recommend eating in the hotels' restaurant, even if it's just once. The food is absolutely amazing and you can tell that the chef loves what he does. Bridgwater is a great "base" to visit the surrounding areas and this lovely little hotel is definitely somewhere I would recommend.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have a bath as well as a shower so if you really must have a bath in your room then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June whilst visiting friends. The room was clean and tidy if a little tired looking and rather haphazardly furnished, though the bed was comfortable. The ensuite was compact, clean and warm but stepping up into the shower cubicle might be an issue for some people. Our room was at the back of one of the annexes so overlooked the, slightly overrun, garden. I was a bit concerned to see that the windows had no security locks on them, especially since this was a ground floor room.

Full English breakfast was excellent, but the service was a little underwhelming. Could do with a little more explanation of how the breakfast room operates, such as where to find things and what you need to help yourself to versus what is brought to your table. The breakfast room itself was appealing, but it would have been nice if our table had been cleaned after the previous guests had finished - when we arrived the table still had crumbs spread over it, and half used butter and jam packs placed back in the dishes.

All in all, it was perfectly acceptable accommodation for our needs and the price, but don't stay here expecting outstanding service or luxurious accommodation. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stannors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend a night in this lovely hotel and would happily have spent more. Our family room (we were 2 adults and 2 children of 7 & 9) was in the old part of the hotel and had more room than we have ever encountered before! We had a double room, twin room, lounge, bathroom and an anteroom with dressing table too. None of it was modern but it was clean, had everything we needed and was full of character.
The hostess/manager was very welcoming esp since we had booked it via bookings.com 15 mins before and she even let me use her computer to order a takeaway delivery and gave me crockery, cutlery and napkins so we could eat it in our lounge.
Their car park was full but there was plenty of parking outside free after 6pm and all day Sunday.
I've seen complaints about breakfast but it seemed fine to us. Plenty of coffee, juices etc on tap, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereal (bowl fitted cereal perfectly so I suspect the previous reviewer used the fruit bowls which were smaller). The freshly cooked breakfast and toast was also to a good standard.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and visit there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

With daughter and grandchildren it is always a concern as to where to stay. This was perfect accommodation for a family and such good value. Reasonable size rooms which included a lounge area and dressing room. Tea and coffee facilities and a good supply of tea,coffee, chocolate drink and biscuits. Breakfast was excellent - a quaint, very English and lovely setting. Excellent parking facilities too. We stayed her en route home from Devon - it was perfect. Much better than a travel lodge, or premier inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangepepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgwater
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
BBs Letting Rooms
#8 of 11 in Bridgwater
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: 45-51 St. Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing