We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Admirals Table

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admirals Table
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have used as an overnight stop on various occasions these last few years,. because in comparison, it is great value for both room and meal prices. Our last stay however was a disappointment.The evening meal was good value but the veg were inedible. Breakfast was very poor with only one very pleasant waitress having to rush round apologizing for delays and lack of breakfast items. The help yourself table was empty of orange juice, milk, cereal bowls and no cereals for children ( only three on offer) No attempt was made by other staff to refill anything who walked past and ignored the fact people were stood waiting, once again it fell to the one busy waitress. As for breakfast itself all requests were ignored when it finally arrived with it all items very poorly cooked, altogether not a meal that would make you return again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 427Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the Admirals table whilst on a visit to my daughter last week.
What a great room for the money ( I normally stay at the Premier Inn,not any more).
Fantastic breakfast. Good service, and at this price you could not ask for more.
Tip Book on line and you get a 20% discount on your food.
Recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as Bristol road is very an noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay overnight on 10 July 2013 on our way to North Devon. The price of £40 for bed and breakfast was exceptional value particularly as Travel Lodge and Premier Inn charge almost double that for just a bed.

We had a light snack in the evening which was very good. The rest of the menu was typical pub fare. The bedroom was large and clean with a comfortable bed and the breakfast was very good. The only gripe was that the day we arrived it was very hot and our bedroom overlooked the main road. We had to leave the windows open to let some cool air into the room, but were kept wake virtually the whole night by the continuing traffic noise.

Room Tip: As mentioned by previous travellers avoid the rooms overlooking the main road if the weather is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here last Thursday after getting off the ferry from Santander to Plymouth. As the ferry didn't arrive back until 4.30 pm we decided to book a room here for the night to break the journey home. When we arrived the place was busy but we had no problem parking. Our bike was parked here overnight without any problems.
Checking in was very quick and easy at the bar and the lady who checked us in was very helpful.
The room was very large and very clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was spotless.
The only problem was, we arrived on a very hot night and as our room was on the front. We couldn't leave the windows open due to the noise of the A38 traffic. Maybe a fan in the room would be nice? We could of gone and asked for a fan but we didn't so we don't know if fans were available.
Because we booked the room through Marstons we also received a 20% discount off the food. That along with the 2 for 1 made the meal very cheap and very good value for money. I had the sirloin steak which was very nice and cooked just how i like it and my partner had the hearty meat pie which he said was great. To follow we went for the giant carrot cake but sadly failed to eat it all. It was very nice and 1 of the best carrot cakes i have had in ages.
The service here was great and we didn't go to the bar once all night as the staff was very quick at bringing more drinks over to us. The food we had did not come straight out of a microwave and was well worth the money we paid. The pub had loads of atmosphere and we got chatting to other people staying here and some of the locals.
Breakfast was also really good and for what we paid for bed, breakfast, evening meal and all our drinks it was very good value for money.
We would stay here again but ask for a room not on the front next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked on-line and at short notice to break a trip from Yorkshire to Cornwall...location was good and the price was fair...the food was typical pub grub, either out of a packet or a microwave...in fairness no worse than we expected.
The pub emptied of diners about 9 o clock and any atmosphere disappeared...in fact we felt like spare parts.
We decided to take a bottle of wine to our room..watch a spot of TV and have an early night so we could leave early next day.
We opened the wine in our room...guess what was in there...NOT WINE...IT WAS WATER...UNBELIEVABLE !!! The barmaid offered some lame excuse as to how it might have happened...No matter how...it's UNBELIEVABLE..but TRUE !! .Come on Marstons..How about an official apology ? I await your response !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorsport3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed the night before Glastonbury festival and after previous bad experiences at other places, all we wanted was a good bed and a quiet night. The hotel is on what appears to be an industrial park just off the motorway, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. We checked in and went straight to our room, which was quite big, with a decent sized bed, very quiet, tea and coffee, and a powerful shower. Perfect for a stopover, excellent price, nothing special, a little worn in places, but just what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was our first stay at Marston's Inn, we stayed for one night at the end of May to break our journey back from Cornwall. Our room was upstairs, no lift access to carry heavy bags. Room 3 was a nice, spacious room, with 2 single beds, a widescreen TV, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The bathroom provided a large bath and shower. Good selection of complimentary refreshments provided in the bedroom.

The beds were good quality, very comfortable, and even through near the main road, it was very quiet, and not distributed by traffic noise.

The next morning, we had breakfast downstairs in the main restaurant area. There was a wide selection of food and drinks available for breakfast. However, only 1 gentlemen serving and did lead to considerable delays in service. The food we ate was of a good standard, and good portion size.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the pub, will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
194 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
120 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
255 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
10.2 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Table

Address: Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range: $90 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Admirals Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Table Hotel Bridgwater
Admirals Table Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing