We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Glorious Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Olive Mill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Glorious Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you really like good food, if you want to choose from a really interesting menu, if you want good service, if you want comfortable surroundings, then go to The Olive Mill. Easy parking and the sea food soup is to die for, my absolute favourite. Hurray for a family run business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    18
    20
    21
See reviews for
61
68
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stopped for a lunch and opted for the lunch deal. Good value at £10.00 for two courses, Pate was tasty but the lumps and i mean brickettes of bread where almost impossible to enjoy without hurting my lips. My friend had the garlic mushrooms which are just that no breads etc. I had the cauliflower cheese with chips, it was ok but full of leeks far to many and it was microwave hot which helped with fighting off the cold. My friend had the steak pie which he enjoyed.
We were the only diners and not a real suprise as the venue was very cold.
I would not return here for lunch unless thry are willing to heat the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for lunch on our way to a holiday weekend and were quite late for lunch. We received a very warm welcome nevertheless and ordered from the lunch menu. Both starters and both mains were absolutely wonderful we can certainly highly recommend it. I ordered the fish and chips and surprisingly the haddock arrived un-battered but was so tasty and well cooked I much preferred it to the usual greasy battered fish you normally get. Hope to return some day. Lovely staff were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine1Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Looking at the website, the billed as luxury accommodation seemed perfect for an overnight stay. When we arrived the girl at reception was very friendly and took us to our room, but as we walked up the stairs it smelt musty already and a bit dingy. The door to our room was thin plywood and didn't shut easily; inside can only be described as basic with not even a picture on the wall. The heating was on and the room was warm, but by the time we had come back from supper the radiator was off and wouldn't come on again and there was a cold draft from the windows. The pillows were stained yellow and at this point we decided we couldn't stay and settled our bill and left and moved on to somewhere clean and warm. The restaurant was better than the accommodation for sure - the meal we had was very salty but quite good and the waitresses eager to please. Would I go back? -sadly no.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I arrived at the Olive Mill at 16.10 in the afternoon and the place was closed. After telephoning the reservation number I was told that they did not open until 17.00 but that someone would come and let me in.
The reception I received from the lady who opened the door was frosty and most unwelcoming. I had obviously disturbed her break and her manner was off hand and bordering on rude.
This rather spoiled what otherwise would have been a pleasant stay. The evening staff were lovely and the food was very good.
In the morning I met the owner who was a nice man and interested to make sure that everything was alright with the stay. It is a shame that the initial lack of customer service had coloured my view of this otherwise satisfactory visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyFigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited this lovely venue with my mum and our two very small dogs, owner allowed us to sit in bar area with them and enjoy a Sunday carvery which was delicious, just like home cooking.
would recommend any one in the area to pay a visit. I also visited in the week with a friend and we enjoyed the special "two course for £10.00", lovely home made soup.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 507Amanda507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went for the Sunday carvery yesterday in a party of 16 - the food was excellent - good selection - well prepared - locally sourced and great value!
All the staff we met were very friendly and the service was excellent too!
George H

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
3.9 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
244 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
24 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgwater
354 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Boat & Anchor inn
The Boat & Anchor inn
#10 of 28 in Bridgwater
180 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polden Vale Bed & Breakfast
Polden Vale Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 28 in Bridgwater
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Mill Hotel

Property: The Olive Mill Hotel
Address: Chilton Polden Hill | Bath Road, Bridgwater TA7 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Mill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Mill is a Small and friendly, family Run hotel with a bar and restaurant, set in the heart of beautiful Somerset. Enjoy modern ensuite accommodation featuring outstanding views of the Mendips, Cheddar and surrounding countryside. Some of the hotel rooms boast a balcony with an outdoor seating area and outstanding views. The bar is a warm and welcoming space to relax serving local beers and ciders as well as freshly ground coffees and an extensive wine list. A full A La Carte menu is available for lunch and dinner in the Restaurant and outside dining areas, serving modern british cuisine featuring the best quality fresh local produce somerset has to offer. The Olive Mill is located within easy reach of Bridgwater, Glastonbury and Street on the A39 and provides a superb location for dining out for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Olive Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Mill Hotel Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing