We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mediterranean & Somerset - a good combination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olive Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Mediterranean & Somerset - a good combination!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here on a weekend break in Somerset. We love the mediterranean and therefore chose this hotel on the name only! And what a great choice that was!

We arrived early evening and was greeted by a friendly helpful receptionist/barmaid. We knew instantly that customer service was going to be good here and we were not wrong.

We were shown our room - a double room with a balcony and beautiful views across the countryside. The room was of adequate size - we were only sleeping here after all! The bathroom was almost perfect - good size and large shower. The only defect was the missing mirror above the sink. There were tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, alarm clock, mini-fridge (which did make a bit of a noise but you got used to it)

We ate in the restaurant that evening - and wow, what a delight! Beautifully served, great quality, great service, great atmosphere.

We slept well, beds very comfortable. The room did get a bit hot - maybe because it was above the kitchen. The kitchen ventilation thing did make a noise too, but you got used to it pretty quickly and they do turn if off once they're finished in the kitchen.

Breakfast was included with our room - that was a little bit of a disappointment after such a great start - maybe my expectations were too high. The full english breakfast consists of fried egg, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and toast. I don't eat bacon which made my plate look a little small. It's served on hotplates which you help yourself to, so could have been fresher. Baked beans, sausages (including vegetarian) would have been nice additions. The continental breakfast is toast and cereal. Again, some nice additions would have been croissants, muffins, cheese and meats.

The attention from the staff was first class and far outweighed any niggles we may have had.

When we checked out, we were given some water to take on our journey - a nice touch I thought.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to ask if there's something you're not happy with - the staff are keen t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMoonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    52
    18
    20
    20
See reviews for
60
67
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We decided to book a family meal to celebrate a birthday after eating as a couple a few weeks ago, how the service has changed! As our party consisted of 10 people we were asked to pre book our meals, which was not a problem and done the day before our meal. On arrival( 20 mins prior to our table booking), we ordered drinks in the top bar area. We waited over 20 mins after our 8 o'clock table booking before asking the waitress when our table would be ready, only to be told, 'oh i thought you weren't ready!!' We went to our table with no assistance from any waitress. We waited a further 15 mins before approaching the bar to order wine, surely that's what waitresses do?!We waited a further 10 mins before asking a waitress how long our starters would be , eventually we were served our starters. After finishing our starters we then waited, what seamed a life time and again had to approach a member of staff to ask how much longer it would be. By this time we had been in the olive mill two hours. We then asked to speak to the owner who was very unapologetic, arrogant and in his words sad he does not run a fast food restaurant. Would you wait two hours for your meal if you went out to a restaurant ? Will not be returning

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanner59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Our friends and my wife and I recommends the lovely dinner we had, the staff were superb especially Kyriucos. We will go again and again in the near future.

Carole & Gerry

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I came here for lunch with my mother on our way to a shopping trip at Clarkes Village. We were greeted by a friendly blonde lady on arrival who showed us to the restaurant, she was very helpful and efficient. We were the only ones there but then it was early (only 12 noon), a couple of other people arrived during our viisit. The decor was lovely, the views across the Mendips amazing, I can imagine this would be a fantastic place for lunch on a sunny day as they had an outdoor terrace. The food was very very good, we had salmon fish cakes, which although were a little heavy on the breadcrumbs were lovely once you broke through the hardshell . Lovely freshly cooked handcut chips and a green salad with dressing accompanied this so cannot fault food. My only crticisim would be that the table had not been wiped and considering we were the first customers for lunch of that day is not acceptable, there were crumbs everywhere. Also the waitress that served us (didnt catch her name, but long dark hair) had no personality or charisma (a must in the hospitality industry!) she just did her job and looked as if she couldnt wait for the day to end. Also the stereo system had a problem and the volume which kept going from silent to ear burstingly loud which was extremely irritating.. why didnt they switch it off!!!! In summary great food, great decor, great views, shame about one member of staff and lack of customer care re stereo and table cleanliness.. Would return and hope for a different waitress !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakaway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

absoulutly gorgeous food, with a range from italian to steak and not over priced.The views from the rooms are fantastic and it has a relaxing atmosphere. The staff are really welcoming nothing to much trouble and very polite, lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey2009Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have just had a terrific time staying at this Hotel.Room was great with breathtaking views and our own balcony !The food was wonderful and the staff were so friendly. We would most definitely stay here again,and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Convenient location just off M5 but close to historic nearby towns i.e. Wells etc
Best rooms are in the rear with balcony and lovely views of Mendips. Although just off main road rear accomodation very peaceful and quiet. Owners/staff very welcoming. Restaurant excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
9.1 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.9 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Mill Hotel

Property: The Olive Mill Hotel
Address: Chilton Polden Hill | Bath Road, Bridgwater TA7 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Mill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Mill is a Small and friendly, family Run hotel with a bar and restaurant, set in the heart of beautiful Somerset. Enjoy modern ensuite accommodation featuring outstanding views of the Mendips, Cheddar and surrounding countryside. Some of the hotel rooms boast a balcony with an outdoor seating area and outstanding views. The bar is a warm and welcoming space to relax serving local beers and ciders as well as freshly ground coffees and an extensive wine list. A full A La Carte menu is available for lunch and dinner in the Restaurant and outside dining areas, serving modern british cuisine featuring the best quality fresh local produce somerset has to offer. The Olive Mill is located within easy reach of Bridgwater, Glastonbury and Street on the A39 and provides a superb location for dining out for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Olive Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Mill Hotel Bridgwater, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing