We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight Stay - Fantastic Homecooked Food”
Review of Fox & Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fox & Goose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brent Knoll B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked for one of our engineers working in the area and his comments were - fantastic find, lovely accommodation, staff and fantastic home cooked food. Highly recommended and will definately book again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I treated our friends to a break for their 50th Wedding anniversary. My wife and I
however added an extra night for ourselves before our friends arrived. In all we stayed for 3 nights in the disabled room.
If you REALLY ARE disabled and book the disabled room, there are 2 main problems. 1/ The disabled bedroom is on the ground floor with the disabled parking bay right outside the entrance door.The bedrooms are numbered from 107 first room from the entrance door down the corridor down to 101 right at the end of the corridor 101 being the disabled room. Mine and my wife's mobility is really bad, I use a CPAP machine to help me breath, we both had to stop 3 times each way every time we needed to go in or out of our hotel room. 2/ The only other downside was in the bathroom which was a wet room the floor was TILED with shiny granite like tiles which when wet was very very slippy for a disabled room it was a no no. All this aside we really enjoyed our break the bedroom was really large, clean, and comfortable with a massive bed. There was a table and 2 chairs in the room where you could sit and have a drink. I don't think the 2 above faults would stop us going again.
One other thing that was of no fault of the hotel was on the Tuesday & Wednesday nights we were woken up early morning ie: Wednesday morning 1.10am by water repair men fixing a burst main outside the hotel. The Thursday morning 2.15am the same thing. The lady from The Fox & Goose went down to have a word with the workmen and was subjected to a load of
swearing and abuse from the workmen. Had this been a Premier Inn we would have asked for our money back, but as a private hotel under the circumstances we thought we might have been offered a discount for the 2 bad nights lack of sleep but it didn't happen.
On the food side of things the pub provides excellent meals whatever your choice of food is and is reasonably priced. The staff in both the hotel and the pub are very friendly and helpful at all times. The Labrador dog that belongs to the hotel owner is not a problem as one reviewer says. It is friendly QUIET and is not allowed where the food is. We chose to have the continental breakfast each morning. I was a little disappointed there were no croissants but very nice Danish Pastries. I think we will be back at some time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for one night on way around UK. The rooms were much better than expected, lots of space and a huge bed. Very clean and tidy. The food in the pub area was very tasty, especially the ribs. The staff were lovely and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious too. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception were refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pondy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed here for one night me the wife and our little westie gizmo had a great time bar staff as friendly as always food great beds lovely and comfy . its nice to find a hotel that takes dogs . would def stay again stayed march31st for one nite

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Date 22nd March 2013. ROOM 106 PRICE £70
1.This Hotel uses zip together single beds to make a double bed,resulting in a hard ridge down the center of the bed VERY UNCOMFORTABLE.
2. The toilet seat was not fastened to the toilet properly.DANGEROUS.
3. Used sanitary towel left in bathroom bin. DISGUSTING
4.Large dog pestered us at dining table,later found out it belonged to the hotel.DISGUSTING.
5.Greeted by barking dog from room 107 after returning from my daughters house,then awoken by the same noisy dog at 5.45am.NOT ACCEPTABLE

Room Tip: Do Not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Whilst staying with friends in the area we visited the restaurant at this hotel for lunch. We were not disappointed, an extensive menu, piping hot food, very reasonably priced and all served with a smile. We would definately to again. Thank you,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped for two nights and had a wonderful time (05/10 - 07/10)

We ended up in a family room which gave us a lot of space, and a massive king size bed (three could have slept in there no problem

We had trouble with the heating on arrival, but the was sorted out very quickly and was check ed on

The breakfast was every thing you could want, we did not eat again until our eveing meal which we had in the restaurant - the food was of a very good quality and very generous portions

As used by the locals you do need to book to ensure you eat at a time it suit you, otherwise you need to be prepared to wait a while. the staff are very friendly and helpful

You can also see local artist work on the wall's and purchase is you want which we did

We would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brent Knoll
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
661 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.3 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Dunstan House Inn
Dunstan House Inn
#9 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Goose Inn

Address: Bristol Road, Brent Knoll TA9 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Brent Knoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brent Knoll
Price Range: $103 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox & Goose Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox & Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Goose Inn Brent Knoll, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing